petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters

Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters

Designed to virtually disappear when mounted in your tank Mounts vertically or horizontally Shatter-resistant quartz tubeEasy-set, variable-temperature thermostat Features a safety shut-off
Average Customer Rating:
3.423 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
18 out of 26(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Review 1 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Check the box...

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kinz
from Montana
The heater is working well so far but I wanted to warn you my box did not come with suction cups. I am hoping this is out of the norm since it doesn't warn you anywhere on the box and the first step on the instructions is to 'attach suction cups'.
Has anyone else encountered this? Other brands I've gotten have included them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Noisy!!!

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
ReptaTank
from Brookfield,WI
Got this for my 30 gal turtle tank. Keeps the water a consistent 80 degrees, BUT the noise it makes is awful. Goes from a pinging, bubbling noise to a squealing sound. It is set up properly, not touching anything and fully submerged. I will be returning.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but not Great

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
shellieca
from California
I bought this heater for a 2.5g tank I have. Temp wise its great, I needed the temp at 86 to treat ich which it got to & stayed there with no problem. The problem is that after a few days I did a 100% water change, put everything back together & saw these black specks on the bottom of the tank. After doing another 100% water change to get them out I realized the decal on the glass part of the heater was flaking off ? ? So I scratched/picked off all the loose stuff I could. Once the new fish was done with Ich I added her to the community tank & broke down the 2.5g. A couple weeks later I needed the 2.5g set back up with the heater, this time I kept hearing this noise coming from the tank, kind of a knocking noise, I think its the heater. Its not constant so its not too bad for me but it is annoying when it happens. Not sure I'd buy another Petco brand heater.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sounds like your fish are knocking on the glass or a metronome after 2 weeks

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
TommyBoyPoseidon
from Riverton, UT
I bought this heater because I was in a pinch. My clownfish had just laid eggs the day before so I ‘stole’ the quarantine heater I had for the baby tank. Then the next day someone gave me a nice Wrasse that I wanted to quarantine from my display tank and it was maybe an hour before the local Petco was going to close. I thought I’d go out on a limb and try the Petco brand heater since they were a bit cheaper and also had a PALS discount. Some people have described a clicking. Oh No – the noise I hear is an audible, loud and very distinctive knock - sort of like a metronome would make. This has me concerned. I bought the 100W version and it does heat the water of my 29 gallon quarantine tank up to 80 degrees and hold it, but I had only been using it two weeks when it started making this obnoxious noise. I couldn’t stand this thing if it were near my bedroom. I will probably contact the store or return it. For what it’s worth – I would splurge on non-glass heaters. You get what you pay for. I wouldn’t be caught dead using a heater like this on a display tank and risk frying the livestock or having it give out and freeze them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Plastic flaking off

PostedJune 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
ottlaw2
from Wenatchee, WA
Have had this for about a year and the black coating on the glass is flaking/peeling off. The black plastic is turning white in places.
It's in a freshwater tank with cichlids and the water is frequently checked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it's alright

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
fish123456789
from washington
very good. keeps it at a good temp. on the one i have theres no way of telling what temp you want to set it to, so you have to use the thermometer, which takes time. i dont really like the starfish design, either, but that isn't really worth a star.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Failed after the 1st week

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
LesS
I purchased the heater and it worked initially however after a week I noticed the tempurature was way too low in my tank. After looking at the heater, you could see where the internal wires were burnt in 2 and water inside. Now I'll find out about the ease of returning a defective product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
kcartwright856
from Hanover, PA
This is a good heater for the price. The knob to adjust the temperature doesn't turn incredibly smoothly, but the consistent temperature that the heater delivers keeps you from having to mess with the knob too often.
Only 4/5 paws because I took one paw away for looks. It is a very bright blue that can be unsightly in your tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
wenchett
After much research, I decided to purchase this heater. It has been 3 weeks and so far so good. It has maintained water temp consistently. I purchased the 200 watt for my 36 gallon aquarium as the 150 and the 200 watt were the same sale price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs Better Design

PostedDecember 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
ApistoLove
from New York, NY
I've had this heater or about a year. The temperature is consistent which is great but the heater could have been designed better.
The temperature adjustment knob can be a bit too tight and not responsive to fine tuning. The blue paint flakes off in the tank. Water now condenses inside the tube.
This heater has worked well but now has to be replaced with something a bit more durable. I was hoping at would last longer but I guess not.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

value & works good

PostedNovember 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
vineyardtechie
value priced!
Works good, with just one adjustment to temp setting.
I had a smaller more expensive heater for a smaller tank that needed many adjustments to finally stabilize.
I use this heater for a 45 gal. tank.
Looks great too, with a deep blue color.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty Fish

PostedNovember 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Twiffy
This works like a charm on my 72gallon bowfront. The blue coloring is a nice touch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Fantastic Design

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dogblessed89
from Trevose, Pa
This product is easy to install and the instructions are not rocket science by any means. I can't wait until my tank is fully setup so that I can test out the heating ability of this product. I have no doubt that I'll be thrilled.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty good heater

PostedAugust 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
fishlover55
from Memphis, TN
I bought the 50 watt heater for my 10 gallon aquarium. this is a good heater so far and and it keeps the water at the same temperature all the time unless i move the litte notch on the top, but a little hard to set up when you put the suction cups in the holders, Be careful i had to force them in, but the sucttion is very good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Heater ever!

PostedJune 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
underthesea420
from Wilmington, NC
I've had my share with heaters. By far this kind of heater keeps my tank at a warm constant temperature. I have had this one heater for over a year and it still works beautifully. It also has a knob at the top, that you can turn to adjust the temperature. This is the best heater I have ever had. I definitely recommend this heater to all fish lovers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

PostedApril 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cobaltcat
from Hyde Park, NY
I got the 50 watt for my 2.5 gallon betta tank.. so far so good. I wish it came with more instructions- such as about the light on it (does it mean it's heating up?) but it seems to do the job!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good heater

PostedMarch 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gabriella76
from Goldendale,WA
this is a very nice heater, it sits quietly & does a great job at keeping the water warm.
the con of putting it at the bottom of the tank is that you have to stick your arm all the way thru the water to adjust the temp.
but 1ce you get it the temp you want, it does a great job maintaining it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok but not the greatest

PostedFebruary 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
jjay
I bought this heater over a month ago, and it was great for the first couple of weeks. But now it does not keep the temperature consistant. The temperature varies now between 8 to 10 degrees with in a day making the fish more Susceptible to diseases.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

200 W Heater

PostedJanuary 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
C1911A1
from Aurora, Co
I have a new 55 gal Salt Water tank. This heater seems to be keeping the temp OK but the blue pattern on the outside of the tube is flaking off. - anyone else having this problem, don't want to exchange for more problems as I like the design of the heater but I also don't want the fish eating the pattern flakes floating around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Submersible Aquarium Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It WAS ok...

PostedJanuary 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
brittsaqtpie
I've had the 50 watt for my 10 gallon tank for just over a month and it was keeping it at a perfect 80 and I was really happy... but now it keeps fluctuating the temperature between 12 degrees over the course of a few hours and that is not good for my fish. I'm going to return this one and buy the same model again. I liked it, the one I have just doesn't want to work well right now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>