petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown

Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown

Tall indoor dog gate safely contains pets but not pet parentsLatched gate door opens both inwards and outwards, enabling easy room-to-room movement for you but not your petOne-touch latch easily locks or unlocks the gate doorQuick and easy assembly can be completed in minutesWooden dog gate made with sustainable Rubberwood as well as metal hardware and rubber accessories
Average Customer Rating:
4.48 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
45 out of 50(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Review 1 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stylish, easy to use, set up a bit cumbersome

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Overall a good product. Looks nice in the kitchen. Easy to use. The wood finish is very nice. The set up was a bit cumbersome; took about an hour or so. We purchased this gate because it is higher than our previous one, and our 22lb spitz mix was jumping it. Unfortunately, he can still jump this gate. It is slightly lower on the right and left sides - the highest part is the middle, the swinging part itself. We are guessing he is jumping the slightly lower parts. However if your dog is smaller or not as athletic as ours I think you won't have to worry!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nope!

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
I do not like this gate. I think it looks pretty cheesy for 90 dollars. And I'm not cheap. I just don't think that this is a great quality gate. The door handle is annoying too.
My gate did not fit, so I will be sending it back. It's too small. The instructions to put it together aren't super clear. There's just basically a small image in a big pile o' papers of the gate in tact and your supposed to replicate it. (not good for someone with poor eyesight). I didn't have that hard of a time, but screwing in the pieces to the flimsy gate that doesn't hold unless secured to the wall and matching up the skinny bits was more irritating than daunting.
Perhaps, it's a good buy for someone with a 35 inch wall space or less to really make sure it secures to the wall..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate is very effective and tasteful

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oceanside, CA
We wanted a gate to keep the dogs out of the living room but we wanted something that was both sturdy and nice looking. This was it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
This gate was a good, solid product.
It was difficult for me to put together because the instructions weren't very instructive -- mostly pictures, with few words where I really needed them -- but once I figured out what it was telling me to do I hit cruise control and assembled the gate no problem. I went through a few configurations to fit two openings in my house and had to rig it so it was a little bigger at the bottom than at the top because apparently my doorways aren't completely square, but it was very secure and sturdy, and my dogs (2 adult doxles with lots of energy) didn't even attempt to squeeze through the gaps in the gate or knock it down.
The one-touch feature was very easy to operate, but the opening is pretty narrow, so if your hips are wide like mine you might have to turn sideways to avoid knocking into the gate. Also be sure to step over the bottom piece -- my husband tripped over it once!
We ended up having to return it because I didn't account for an oddly shaped opening in my kitchen, and we're buying another gate to fit our needs instead. But I would definitely recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful pet gate

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
This gate functions exactly as indicated. It is very attractive and easy for one-handed walk through. We were really tired of our cheap plastic gates that we had to move or step over. Very nice wood.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Richell One-Touch Pet Gate

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sun City West, AZ
The gate is well made and relatively easy to install. My sister had installed the gate, and I liked the ease with which it could be opened. I replaced another Richell step-over gate with this gate and have been very satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Richell One Touch Pet Gate

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
I am very pleased with the distance between the rails on the gate. The distance between them is small enough to keep even my little puppy from sticking his head through, yet wide enough for him to see me through the gate. I found the gate very easy to put together and put into place. With the various extra extenders I was able to get the exact size I needed for my doorway. The gate fits very nicely and tightly so that even my exhuberant Aussies can't knock it down. I love that the gate latch also locks at the bottom. The gate handle is very easy to use and I love that the gate swings in both directions. I would highly recommend this gate to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SUPERBLY ENGINEERED!

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City
This Richell product is extremely handsome and thoughtfully designed. The rubberwood looks rich, warm, and expensive, and the one-touch handle works like a charm. I can not think of a single way to improve this gate. I own several other Richell products, and feel the same way about all of them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy this Gate!

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
I LOVE this gate! I use this gate to keep my 3 foster kittens upstairs. The slats are only 1 1/2" apart and the cats can't get through. It is extremely sturdy. It isn't the easiest pressure mount gate to put up but if you follow the directions you shouldn't have a problem. I am thinking about replacing the gate I have downstairs with this one. It is very sturdy and I think could withstand my large dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This gate is simple yet well made

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Very easy to assemble. One touch opening is very easy. I use it in my laundry room off my kitchen and it fits right in with my decor. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all Purpose Gate

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
We purchased this gate for our lab puppy to block off the laundry room. Great deal with the no shipping cost, gate looks great. Super easy to install, just follow your opening size diagram. It really is pretty self explanatory. We got the brown gate and it looks good with our decor. We ended up just using the double attachment on one side, although you can use the 2 single ones, depends on your doorway. We had to install it the opposite way as we couldn't close our door, the door handle was in the way. The latch is a little awkward, but we'll get used to it. So far seems pretty sturdy. I would agree with one reviewer wouldn't hurt to spray it with some no chew spray to prevent the pup chewing, as the bars are not metal. Overall though I really like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solved the problem

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
Introducing the stray kitten to the resident terrier is going to take some time and this gate is a big help! The kitten is safe in her room and the dog can see her and they can get used to each other without doing harm. We left out the extra rungs so that kitty will eventually be able to come and go, but dog won't be able to squeeze through. (It's blocked right now.) The gate is very solid and strong and I'm delighted with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great looking, miserable to install

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
I consider myself a fairly handy person & can usually manage to assemble most products, when required - but this was a nightmare. The instructions are so poor as to be essentially useless. Although I managed to get the gate kind of installed, I'll need a engineer w/ a PhD to help me install it properly.
If it didn't fit in w/ my decor so well, I'd seriously consider returning it for something easier to install.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this door!

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
We had been climbing over a very old baby gate for years. This is much safer. It goes nicely with our decor. No more taking the gate up and down many times a day - just open the door. If you're large, the opening may be a bit slim, but you can get through by turning a bit sideways. The directions could be a bit more clear, they rely on busy pictures (be sure to stick with the pictures related to your desired width) more than written direction, but take your time, it's not hard. Very sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Gate

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
This is a nice looking gate. The instructions are lacking. It keeps most dogs where you want them. When you install it make sure it is positioned correctly so the door clicks in place. One of my border collies did learn to open it before I adjusted it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1 touch

PostedNovember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from midwest
i've seen these gates for awhile and didn't need to replace my old gates until i got a new puppy. they are pricey, but with the free shipping and sale price i replaced my old gates.
the instructions weren't so simple, but, being determined to get these up i forged ahead, then felt really stupid because once i had figured it out, it was really simple.
i love these gates, they are very sturdy and attractive, along with the 1 touch use.
if you are on the fence go ahead and jump in you won't be sorry.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate!

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
After my husband read the instructions enclosed it just took a few minutes to put the gate up. Love it so far! Opens easily. I would definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent deal

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Great quality. Love the look! Directions are not that easy to follow but the outcome is beautiful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

NIce gate

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
The gate is very sturdy and looks nice once installed. The diirections are almost none existent. A couple vague diagrams is all they give you to put it together and get it installed. I got the natural wood finish and it blends well with my decor. Keeps my 5lb weiner dog contained and is easy to open and close. Not sure if it is worth $100.00, but it is nice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Richell One-Touch Pet Gate in Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One-Touch Pet Gate

PostedApril 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
from New Baltimore, MI
Very nice product and perfect for our needs. Got tired of removing our old gate every tme I needed to get into my pantry. Only criticism would be that the opening is a little narrow. Otherwise this is a very nice gate that blends well with the house decor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>