petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp

Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp

The Tri-Fold Pet Gear Pet Ramp is the most portable and compact rampIt is the widest ramp in its class, opening to 70" long by 20" wideIt folds quickly and easilyCarries like a briefcaseHolds up to 200 lbs
Average Customer Rating:
3.133 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
10 out of 15(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Review 1 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Would really like this better if.....

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Griffin Ga
Would really love it if there was some form of strap or clasp to keep the ramp from swinging open as it's being carried. Unfortunately I do not always have time or pay attention with the direction the ramp is when I grab the handle to use. If I do not realize how I'm carrying the ramp, a portion will swing open. Otherwise it works and assists with getting our Boxer and Basset in our vehicles.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Overpriced and very abrasive non skid surface

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Montana
The non slip area is very abrasive sand paper type substance. I bought this for our older 140 lb St Bernard and it scraped the pad of one of his paws, badly enough that I noticed the blood prints on the blanket lining the cargo area after he climbed up the ramp. Then on the ramp and the driveway when he walked back down the ramp. He is okay with dog booties, so I'll put them on next time we use the ramp. This was not my first choice in a ramp, but I needed it quick to get him to a vet appt. Since my options were limited at the Petco store, broke down and bought it for 129.99. Because it is so abrasive, I'm also careful not to place it on the back seat uphostery without covering it with a blanket. Maybe it depends on the dogs paws, but not great for our big pawed saint. Our smaller dog did not have a problem.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flimsy and not for large dogs

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Butler pa
Just bought this today....the box stated that it would hold up to 200 lbs, it bowed when we put a little pressure on it. My dog would not put more than one paw on it and back off. So I will be returning in to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't purchase for large dogs

PostedJune 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Easton MA
We purchased this for a 130 lb dog- it is rated to 200 lbs. After pulling it out of the box, and looking at it, I had my doubts! We set it up, and brought the dog out. We laid it on the ground, had him walk over it, then re-set it up again. He made it to the middle of the ramp and it began to fold in and buckle.
It made the incline too steep for the dog to walk up, let alone keep me feeling comfortable with him on it.
If you have a large breed dog- this is NOT the ramp for you!!! It wouldn't hold 120+ lbs! I don't think I would put more than 80 lbs on this ramp!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+47points
47of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sturdy but too heavy

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
This ramp would work for a man who can lift the ramp but for an older woman with arthritic hands, this product is too heavy and bulky.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Right!

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Short, stocky dogs like Corgis are hard to lift into a vehicle after a certain age (mine, not theirs). This ramp is lightweight and easy to use, and the trifold storage position takes less space than bifold.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tri-fold pet ramp

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
the ramp is great. if you have an older dog like mine it will take them awhile to get use to it. lay the ramp on the ground first and use treats to get them use to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too flexible

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
We found this ramp to be way too flexible - it bounces like a diving board. Plus our 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee has no center latch or hook to attach the ramp's safety strap. We sent it back. I would not recommend this ramp for heavy dogs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Quality

PostedJune 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
We needed a sturdy and wider ramp to help our 14 year old Golden Retriever feel secure getting in and out of our Toyota Highlander. This ramp suited our needs. It's solidly made, folds compactly, has a slip-proof surface, and provides the width that's helpful to a larger dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good purchase

PostedJune 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
We bought the Tri Fold Pet Gear ramp and is very helpful for our dogs to get into our trailer. We have 3 steps getting in and our older dog was having trouble and this makes it so much eaiser for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good purchase

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
the ramp is saving my back. it took my dog sometime too get used to it. i think the ramp will save my dogs back legs from hurting so much when he jumps out of my truck.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedFebruary 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
I purchased this item for our 9 month old Newfie. Unfortunately it will not work. We need a longer one as this will not work for a dodge ram truck. The angle was to steep. The surface was rather slippery and easily scratched. It felt like it was going to break down the middle when wallking on it but held our 100lb puppy. I gave to my mom and she is using for her 2 newfie's with her Tahoe. If you are looking for a ramp for a truck I do not recommend this product. If using for a suv it will work just fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not so good-too heavy

PostedAugust 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
This is very heavy and bulky. Yes it does fold for easy carrying and storage, but I have a bad back and it is very heavy to maneuver around and hook up to tailgate.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great!

PostedJune 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
from connecticut
this is really great. I bought this for our 13 year old Akita starting to have trouble with his back legs, so jumping into a car was impossible. It is heavy, that's the only reason it didn't get 5 paws, but that is a good thing for stability, not for carrying though, but I have figured out a way to position it perfectly so I can unfold it easily. I love the little strap that hooks perfectly onto the back of the SUV, so that the ramp can be brought right to the edge of the bumper to make it longer. It is long enough so the ramp is not steep, and the grips are great for my old doggie who has a very hard time with his back legs, he has plenty of traction. I would recommend this to anyone who needs to occassionally take their best friend to the vet, etc, or even as a permanent way to get up and down a couple of stairs for old doggies who can't do stairs the way they used to! A+ :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tri-Fold Pet Gear Ramp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works pretty good.

PostedApril 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Orange, CA
Heavy, bulky, awkward. Maybe they're all like that to hold the weight. It works just fine. The non-slip is great. The dog took to it right away. Her poor old bones just ain't like what used to be.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.