petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass

The all new Drinkwell Aqua Garden is a Hydroponic Cat Grass Garden designed to work specifically with the 50 oz. Original Drinkwell Fountain (sold separately)The constant circulation of water causes the grass seeds to germinate and begin to grow within a few days, with full growth at around seven or eight daysThe grass treat becomes available to the pet as soon as it begins to grow out of the seed podReplaceable seed pods are also available to grow again and again!
Average Customer Rating:
2.87 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
6
10 out of 23(43%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Review 1 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

pet grass watered by the fountian

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
imps
from VA
Great idea if it grows. I have 2 fountains both with this set up now. I have had the seed pods in them for almost a week with no growth yet
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Grass

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
CatManD0
from Salt Lake City
This is a great addition to the drinking fountain. The only problem I have with it, is that my cats don't wait for the grass to grow in completely before they start to eat it. The clip doesn't give a perfect snap fit and if the cat wants the grass out of the fountain, it will come out, but I think it's a great addition
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat loves it

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
StepMag
from Davenport, IA
Easy to install. Simple to use. Doesn't interfere with my cat using the fountain. The grass grew quickly and tall. My cat loves having the greens to eat and I don't have to forget to water... again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love the grass

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
hdlady
from Broadway, VA
My cats have stopped vomiting since they have started eating the grass. It only takes a few days to start growing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

grass

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shara
from Clarksville Ar
I bought this product to help with my cats desire to eat grass. the grass grew fine however, my cat kept pulling it out before it was ready for her to eat. It would be nice if there was a way to let it grow first then give it to her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
laughingeyes
The grass grows slowly, but fits nicely on side of tthe fountain. Doesn't interfere with cats drinking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It bred mosquitoes!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedApril 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
KittyMamaOf2
Our kitties love to eat grass, which we buy from the local petstore in the little pots. This looked like a good idea since we have the fountain and the babies like to drink from it. BUT.. the grass didn't really grow, the water became cloudy, and when I removed the grass container, there were MOSQUITO LARVAE!!!! This thing created a very bad mosquito problem in the room and the house! We had to buy a bug zapper for that room to get rid of the mosquitoes! TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+31points
35of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
chimaera
At first my one cat was scared of it, and the cat that is usually scared was very curious and walked over to it then drank...a lot...of water. It seems ok so far, have only had it a short time. Don't really notice the cats drinking more, but the younger one isn't so eager to harass the toilet lately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money!

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Galya
from Alaskan in Russia
Doesn't fit Drinkwell 360 fountain at all. Had to tape containers to fountain. Seeds get slimy and moldy in container which contaminates water with a scummy film unless totally cleaned and water changed daily. Grass just pulls out when cats try to chew it and winds up clogging the pump when they don't eat every little bit or take it away from the fountain. I bought several and plan to break open remaining ones and planting the seeds in soil! Clever idea that doesn't work well as designed. Needs to go back to the drawing board!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
22of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your time

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
MDB0922
This product was terrible. Grass barely grew 10-15 sprouts, and it turned the water cloudy and slimy. Definitely don't think this is healthy for any pet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't work out

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
ChillaMom
Unfortunately, the grass didn't work out, I don't think it was sunny enough for it. Only a few strands grew and my cat tasted one and after that wouldn't touch the stuff. The grass also made the Drinkwell fountain super slimy and green after a week. I had to throw the grass & cartridge away and clean the fountain out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

50/50 Chance

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
veritasargent
from Portland, ME
Good Points First:
The cats love the grass and eat it down to the waterline every day, which is good to see for indoor kitties. The color is nice, and the grass looks healthy even in medium sunlight. I would highly recommend it for indoor cats.
Bad Points:
The roots can get a little annoying, but when I clean the fountain weekly I simply take some scissors and trim the roots to a manageable length and haven't had a problem. There is definitely not as much grass as shown in the picture, but there are a number of stalks that last quite a while. It took about four days for the first stalks to grow, and a week for the rest of them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good growth - but no interest!

PostedJanuary 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
lokimonkey
from Gloucester VA
Unlike the other reviewers my grass has grown very well and does make the not so attractive fountain look much nicer! (as you can see from the picture, even after Rufus pulled his food off the top of the fridge to land on the grass!)
I have the drink fountain near my french doors so it gets quite a lot of light. The roots are quite long but don't seem to be a problem.
The main problem for me as that Rufus is just not interested, despite being an indoor cat. We feed him Nataral Choice indoor catfood and perhaps that is balancing his diet so that he does not need the grass...maybe he just doesn't like eating greens??
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedJuly 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Yaz66
from Beaverton
I bought the aqua garden expecting to have grass near by for my cats.
I took over 1 week before anything started to grow (5 blades of grass, if you can call it grass, were the only thing to sprout). The roots were the only thing that kept growing
My cats wont go near it.
It made the water cloudy.
I will not buy this again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the time or money

PostedMarch 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
4kittysand1chi
from Memphis, TN
I had high hopes for this as well. I purchased the pet grass with my fountain and was excited to see it start growing in a couple days. However, the roots are a problem and the grass isn't as green or thick as the package indicates it should be. Maybe I've not got mine in a sunny spot, but... I think I won't be buying any replacement pods as my cats aren't really interested in it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works with any drink fountain

PostedJuly 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
catsread
I like this product. The grass grows within 2 days and my cats love it. I don't know how long it lives for yet, but so far it has been a week. It works for any drink fountain, the only problem is that you have to make sure it is secure or the tape the strap down so that when your pets pull on the grass it doesn't lift up or out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

total dud

PostedMay 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
myownunicorn
from West Simsbury, Ct
I thought it would be great to grow grass for my cats without having to use soil, worry about it drying out, etc. however only a few little grasses grow out of it, the picture is very deceiving, and I'm very surprised because I couldn't be happier with the fountain itself.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good grass

PostedMarch 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
mariana
the grass grows within 5 days or so...my cat took a while to get used to it but he seems to like it. The roots are long and they grow underwater, so I had to cut them a few times. Other than that, it's pretty good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok

PostedJanuary 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
saramae
from Burbank, CA
Grew well, but roots were a problem in the bowl.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Aqua Garden Pet Grass
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what I hoped for

PostedJune 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
ambercatlover
I've been wanting the Drinkwell fountain for quite some time and I finally decided to buy it after purchasing cat grass for my many kitties. They loved the grass so much I wanted to go buy more. I remembered that the fountain came with this cool grass accessory so I took the pricey plunge and bought the fountain and all the accessories. I and my cats absolutely love the fountain.
The grass grew in about a week and I thought, well maybe it'll get thicker. But no... I now have a bowl full of roots and about 10 leaves of grass. They still chew on it a little, so it's not a complete loss and I am still hoping it will improve. Great concept though, I'll definately purchase it again if they make some improvements.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>