petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit

Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit

Includes everything you need to turn your hermit crab's terrarium into a safe and healthy environmentIncludes: Sand, water dish, sponge, food, soil, shell, thermometer, hermit crab care guide, salt and drinking water conditioners, and antiseptic hand gel.Made in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit
Review 1 for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not everything you need

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
hermitcrabnewbie
from Mankato, MN
This starter kit claims everything you need, but the book that comes along with it says you NEED twice as much sand and soil, a second water dish, a second sponge, and a food dish. Plus it recommends you get a hiding spot and climbing things for your crabs to be happy and healthy. The kit is definitely not complete.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great starter kit.

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
BgTmGiantsFan
from Livingston, TN
This is the most complete starter kit I have seen. While more items are needed, this kit has all the basics to get you started raising your hermit crab. I would purchase it again if my grandkids were starting out raising hermit crabs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Shells

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Spiralbound
This needs more shells, there has to be a variety of unpainted large, medium, and small shells.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product has great features

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hermee104
i did not like the product there wasnt enough stuff. and my hermee wouldnt touch it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-9points
6of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great!

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shopper101
from New Jersey
Very useful and good quality. Most of them are worth it, but you need to get more sand, climbing toys, more shells, and a dish for food. The food wasnt too good so you might wanna buy another brand of food. Overall, very useful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just needs 1 or 2 more things. Good!

PostedMay 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Animals96
from California, CA
I personally like this product. All you need besides this is a few climbing toys, one or two more bowls, and a shell. But this saved me tons of money. Buy this product please!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ummm...

PostedApril 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Meag
I loved it exept the shell isnt a great one for hermit crabs.I would recomend it to my friends
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST

PostedJuly 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
hermieluva10
I totally ADORE this product. It is all you need for your amazing pals. All you have to buy is a cage!
:-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shows you the basic needs

PostedMay 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
SDevs
from Pgh.,Pa.
The zoomed Starter kit is actually great because it does come with all the basic requirements.
My only problem with it ,is the actual size of the kit.I think Zoo Med needs to make this available in different sizes so people will have the correct amounts needed to decorate their tank size.
I am also a fan of "The more room ,the better",and this may also encourage buying too small of setups to properly house Hermit crabs.
Over all,Zoo Med sells great products so I'm not knocking them at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy it

PostedMay 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
gomarky
from Arizona chandler
I say buy it because it is good for a 5 gallon tank perfectly just buy more sand it has actually coupons in it so buy the stuff the get more from coupons.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedMay 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Erika
from NY
This is a good "starter" kit. i wouldnt use it all the time though. Because it only comes with a small amount of hermit soil and sand its not a good idea to use just whats in the box. hermies need to be able to dig around and they cant do that in less than an inch of dirt.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works fine for a new set up...

PostedApril 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lauren91
from IL
I purchased this today and it is exactly as it says it is.. A Starter Kit. I have a 10 gallon tank set up for my hermit crab and the bag of sand in there is nice but it most definitely doesn't fill it up enough for him to burrow. I bought 2 more bags of sand. The dish is nice..a small once but it comes with good quality food and soil. Zoo Med is definitely a trust worthy brand and if you're looking for something to get you started purchase this. The only other items you need to buy are really another bowl or two for food and water. A gauge for humidity and if you don't have it already is a mister to keep your crabitat wet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Starter Hermit Crab Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedDecember 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
dude
from NY
It has everything except water! It's AWESOME. If you want to buy the best for your hermie, buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.