petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel

Veterinarian and trainer recommended fresh flowing pet water drinking fountain adds oxygen, filters water, cools naturally, reduces bacteria, and encourages your pet to drinkFeatures silent pump, flow control lever, and replaceable charcoal filter
Average Customer Rating:
3.461 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
17 out of 26(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Review 1 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Kinda Worked

PostedSeptember 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Fort Riley, KS
My husband and I got this for our 3 cats about 9 months ago. Less than a month after we got it, the fountain went from very quiet to super loud. It quieted down after 2 weeks of being loud, then about 3 months ago I noticed that the fountain no longer flowed. I tried moving the lever all the way up, down, in the middle. It would trickle water a bit then stop. Finally I got tired of it and got a new fountain for the munchkins. I hope the new one lasts longer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really love it

PostedSeptember 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Denver, Colorado
I have had this watering fountain for a number of years for two cats & as one is long haired there is sometimes hair in the pump. I have replaced the pump once. With two cats I only have to fill it every 3 days & both cats love it. I had it on the counter until my Son-In-Law pit in a outlet where I could put it on the floor. It is easy to clean out the pump & change the filter following the directions.
Would recommend it very highly
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product! My cat loves it

PostedAugust 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
from North Kingstown, RI
My cat had a bad habit of wanting to drink from the sink faucet (yuck!) so I thought this would satisfy her love of "flowing" water. It's a great product! It makes a little bit of noise when you first start it, but is perfectly quiet as long as you keep it filled. Definitely recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shelf Life for Petmate Fresh Flow

PostedJune 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
My vet insists that this product has improved my cats' health, and I agree judging by their appearances and check-up results, but anyone buying it should know that this today is the third one I am buying because it seems to have a shelf-life of only two years even if it is treated properly. For me, it's worth it, but it is expensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long-time owner--Love the fountain even the pump

PostedMay 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
We have had a Petmate Fountain for a few years now. We had the same problem with the pump. If you go to Petmate's website there are instructions on how to get the pump going again. Whenever I clean the fountain I take the pump apart as per instructions and clean it also. Our last fountain and pump have been going strong and our 2 cats love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good choice

PostedApril 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
The cats like it. But the pump did go out after a year or so. A replacement pump would be nice to have. Replaced with a Drinkwell fountain -- horribly noisy. Will go back to the Petmate
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

PostedApril 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
The cats loved it, but the pump no longer allows the water to circulate.
I wonder if he company will allow me to send it back. I bet thre is a warranty period.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Leaks

PostedNovember 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
I had this running for about a year with no problems, but this fountain started to leak all around the silver piece where the water flows down the fountain. My cat loved it and misses it now that it's gone. I think I'm going to try a Drinkwell next time. This was a pain in the butt to clean thoroughly and I actually purchased Drinkwell brushes to clean it. I wish they made a dishwasher safe version!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not good quality

PostedNovember 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
I purchased this fountain in May 2008, and it worked great up until about a month ago when the water stopped circulating and the pump died. Too bad it wasn't made better, since it wasn't inexpensive. Prior to the pump going out, my cats loved it, especially my old gal with kidney failure. I am going to buy another, but a different brand. Hopefully I can find one which is better built. Maybe the Drinkwell Platinum next!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Loud

PostedAugust 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
My cats will only drink from a sink or fountain. I previously owned a Drinkwell fountain, which died after many years. I would have purchased another Drinkwell, but Petco only had Petmates in stock. The Petmate fountain functions well and the cats like it, but from day 1, the pump was horrendously loud. I've read the troubleshooting tips and tried everything to make the pump more quiet, but nothing works. I do not recommend this product to anyone who lives in an apartment or small house.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy Good Product

PostedApril 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I've had this fountain for about 5 years and am replacing it with the new stainless steel type because it's time for a change. My cat is 17 yrs old, acts like a kitten and just loves her fountain. I like the idea of filtering her running water. Great product. Can't wait to receive the new one. May donate the old one to a cat friend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love it..

PostedFebruary 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
from boston, ma
i love this product. my kitten is very attracted to it also- he is constantly drinking from it and loves to watch it! He actually sleeps next to it, maybe the trickling water soothes him?! Very quiet, nicest looking out of all the water fountains i've seen. the ONE thing is, he noticed that the top can come off, which covers the filter. it wasnt a problem, I just put on attachable Velcro so I can remove top but my cat cannot. LOVE THIS!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it and so does my cat!

PostedFebruary 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
My husband and I joke that if we ever need to find the cat, just look at the fountain. She usually sits and watches it or guards it! She loves it so much that I've made sure she has one for the last 5 years. I've never had any factory defects. The only problem I've ever had is my forgetfulness to change the filter. My cat's UTIs have decreased in number. I now have the luxury of filling her water once a week and forgetting about it. I'd never be without one!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

depends on you cat

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
One of my cats doesn't get bother by much so this new water purifying fountain didn't make a difference to him. My other cat however wasn't quite sure about the noise and the flowing water so she didn't really drink out of it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

LEAK >?

PostedJanuary 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
from orange, ca
I have owned this fountain for about 7 months and clean it regularly. The last time i went to clean it i noted some water outside of the fountain; assumed it was related to my cat and her water beard. After the last clean it was leaking a good amount from the back of it an unknown place. I disassembled it and reassembled it and it still leaked but a little bit less. I owned this fountain brand in the past and had problems with the motor and thought it was a decent enough product that i would rather buy a new one then buy a new a motor. So, with two problems with this companies product i would not advise this to be a long term investment. I used Drinkwell's similar product years ago and had a similar motor problem which is why i switched.... i think i will switch again because i do like the idea and do think the water from the filtration, good for my cat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

too bad...it could've been nice.

PostedDecember 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, Minnesota
If the manufacturor could have kept the motor free from any water tainting substance such as the rubber 'feet' used to silence the running noises inside the water tank... after the first couple of hours my cats refused to drink from this machine any further, investigating why i found it may have been that the rubber feet used as a sound baffel mounting seems to have befouled the taste and healthiness of the water being circulated around it. I actually rinsed off the rubber feet and dropped it into a glass of water for myself to drink in order to investigate if this was the actual cause of them not continuing to drink freely from the waterfeeder..... -sure enuf, it totally horribly ruined the tase of my glass of water via a foul rubber stenchlike tase after only sitting inside the glass for about hour.... i tried to further remove the stubs of rubber from the motor and it was unsucessful. so i had to duct tape over them in hopes of being able to preserve the tase of fresh water for my cats....i am now going to look at the motor situation of the Drinkwell brand cat waterfeeders. I hope they fare better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but has its flaws

PostedNovember 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
This was a good investment until my little man got old enough to wonder as to what causes the bubbles to come up from the reservor. The only flaw i can see in this whole unit is that it is easy for cats to pick up and move and spill water everywhere. It is very easy to keep water in and clean if done properly. Just be careful if you have a cerious kitten in the house, he/she can easily knock it around and you will end up with water everywhere and possibly the unit cracked.
I also agree with a previous listing that the shut off switch and dissconnector place is too close to the wall, it should be closer to the unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pump gave out after 2 months

PostedSeptember 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
I only gave this a 1 PAW rating because the pump died so quickly. Other than that, I loved the whole idea and my 3 cats loved the fresh water. I hated them drinking out the toilet, and I couldn't imagine what they thought we were doing in their "water dish" - LOL.
I started with my first one 2 months ago. 2 days ago, the pump stopped working.
Yes, the pump is silent (when it's working, I mean). I added water every few days and cleaned it one or two times a week - a HUGE change from doing it a minimum of once a day.
I think the cord needs to have the disconnect and the on/off switch much closer to the unit than to the wall socket. That was short sighted thinking in the engineering.
My cats took to it immediately, especially as we began leaving the toilet lids down and took away their old water bowl.
I'm very disappointed in this product, that the pump would give out so quickly. Even with the disconnect and the on/off switch being so awkwardly located, I was very pleased with its performance and that my cats were getting good fresh water.
I hope someone at PetCo forwards these comments to the manufacturer. Paying $40 for a water bowl is a hard leap when the product stops working in 2 months.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Short lived

PostedSeptember 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
I liked this product compared to other cat fountain i had because I could clean it easier and the cats got it immediately.
The problem is you have to frequently refill it and the motor gets clogged with cat hair. Now it died within 6 months of purchasing it. Will try different different brand now.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Purifying Pet Fountain with Stainless Steel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beware!

PostedSeptember 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
I bought two of these and after 6 months, they will leak from the bottom and there's absolutely nothing you can do. I bought a second one because I thought I broke the first one somehow after cleaning it. Same thing with the second one. Beware...they work great at first, then the slow leak starts. I just bought a Drinkwell to replace the two Fresh Flows. The Drinkwell costs a little more but it appears to be constructed better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>