petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FURminator deShedding Tool

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

FURminator deShedding Tool

The patented FURminator deShedding Tool quickly and easily removes (it doesn't cut, it removes) the loose, dead, undercoat hair that's the underlying source of a pet owner's major complaint - shedding and the allergies and cleanliness problems associated with itThe FURminator Cat & Dog Grooming Brush's uniquely designed stainless steel edge grabs loose undercoat hair and harmlessly removes it without damaging the topcoat to stop shedding problems
Average Customer Rating:
4.859 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(256 Reviews) 256
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 256 reviews
5 stars
233
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
250 out of 256(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for FURminator deShedding Tool
Review 1 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fablous Furminator

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
possum
Golden Ret. are known for their thick coat that sheds constantly. I bought a furminator and the dog hair has decreased by at least one half. This is a great comb and the results are better than I expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommend

PostedJanuary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
MbHaz
from PA
I would highly recommend this product to any pet owner...it is spectacular at removing hair and reducing shedding...plus the animals enjoy the brushing process very much!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST ever!

PostedJuly 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pugger
I own 3 double coat pugs and boy do they shed! I have tried everything to control this and until a friend recommened the FURmimator, I had given up. This tool is amazing and my dogs love when I use it on them! Now when I sweep my house I no longer sweep up excessive amounts of hair. Bravo, this is an excellent shedding control tool and I strongly recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't Rave Enough

PostedMarch 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
JDC1027
I paid $40 plus tip to have my dog "deFurminated" at a grooming shop.
When I saw the product available at the store, I hesitated buying it, thinking the groomers went through some offical training program through the "Furminator" company--but eventually purchased this tool to save money and time.
Well, I couldn't be more surprised at the amount of undercoat hair that I raked out of my short haired chihuahua. Clumps!
I spent at least 20 minutes raking away the first batch (which she LOVED BTW). She looked like she lost weight so much came out.
When I Furminate her at the first signs of hair loosening, I can pretty much clean her out to the point where we find NO loose hairs until the next time (easily a month plus).
My dog is also VERY happy since she isn't so itchy all the time and her top coat is healthy and soft.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded my Expectations

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
KTshopper
I could not have imagined the amount of fur that the FURminator would remove from my cat! As a result, there's less hair floating around my home and the cat loves being "brushed" with the product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Let the fur fly!

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
dogsmom2
Our vet recommended this - it works great! Gets so much undercoat. Not sure how the dogs feel about it but...they hold still for it so it must not hurt.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

furminator

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
jzlsf8
Good product. Our dog is very skittish, and while she still doesn't love getting de-furred - she is better with the gentleness but effectiveness of this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Absolute Best Grooming Tool

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
spenceh1
This really gets the undercoat. I love this. It is worth the money. I have used it on several hair lengths. If you go at it for a couple of days, you will not have to groom your dog for a month. It really works great. You can either take a long strong and clean the comb after each stroke or take the dog outside and just use fast shorter strokes and just keep going. Love it, love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
JackPuppy
This brush is the greatest invention since the napkin.It removes hair before it becomes tumble weeds on your floor. My dog felt better and I didn't need to vacuum as much!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Canisfamiliaris
This is a very effective tool that removes deep down fur from any breed. In just a few minutes you can prevent a lot of shedding. So worth the money because it lasts forever. Be careful not to use it excessively in one spot, will cause pain eventually based on your pet's skin sensitivity.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

furminator-WOW

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
sweetsue10
furminator, where have you been all of my life!!
Jasmine [my cat] & I , love the furminator. excellent product! I can't praise it enough!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great brush

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
shortysmom
from Roseville, MI
I love this brush. It works great on dogs, cats, and rabbits that shed alot. Great at getting the undercoat out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
ata2
from massachusetts
The FURminator is terrific! No brush I bought removed my Lab's fur...it preferred to fall out instead. I went with the large model and glad I did. This item is worth every penny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great De-shedding Tool!

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leigne
from Ann Arbor, MI
I use this on both of my cats. One of them sheds a LOT. The other doesn't shed as much. This tool gets all the loose fur. I haven't used it long enough to see if it prevents more shedding, but I have noticed the decrease of cat fur around my apartment. My cats like it when I groom them with this, even though it looks kind of scary (it being metal and all).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Rabbits/Blade Style Matters

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary4882
from Federal Way, WA
My friends and I have several FURminators between us. We highly recommend the FURminator for removing loose fur from rabbits. Rabbit fur is very fine and silky. Regular combs and brushes don't grab it well, although the rubber-bristled tools do attract a bit electrostatically.
--- BUT, we find we have varied lengths of teeth in our FURminator blades. The short-tooth models we have work great. The long-tooth model hardly works and sometimes makes bald patches. (Probably designed for deeper coats.) Our FURminators were bought over several years, so we don't know if this represents a mfr design change over time. Until we figure that out, we recommend buying FURminators in the store, checking the blade style before purchasing.
-- Please note: this review does not apply to rabbits with very long fur (angoras, woolies.) I do not recommend FURminator for those breeds. De-tangling brushes and combs work better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lillalu
from Chicago, IL
I borrowed a friend's FURminator deshedder to comb out a Golden Retriever that I was dog sitting. I was literally stunned at the amount of hair that kept flowing out of her. The picture on the package of the tumbleweeds of hair that the tool gets out is not an exaggeration. I could have kept combing her, but I was tired! The dog loves it, too. It's gentle and probably invigorating to be freed of all the loose hair. I had to buy one for my own Labrador. I compared the amount of strokes per FURminator to a standard pet brush. The FURmiinator is the best. 4 paws up up and tails wagging all around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must-Have

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
tray219
WOW this thing is great!!! Definitely use outside. Takes so much hair off the dog. Use it on a puggle 2x a week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
phyto
from Lewis Center, OH
This is an awesome product and actually lives up to the hype! Every dog and cat owner should have one. We have a Piebald Siberian Husky who ALWAYS has a major shed, along with the twice-a-year shedding explosion. This tool is indispensable when it comes to undercoat removal. It amazes me how much hair comes off my dog when I use the Furminator, which is at least once a week; I'm surprised she is not bald yet! And she doesn't seemed bothered by the Furminator, which allows me to give her a good thorough brushing. With other deshedding tools, I was only able to brush her for a few minutes at a time before she would get up and walk away. Also well made, we have had ours for a couple of years now and it still looks and works like new!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money!

PostedJuly 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
rjmmom
from Shepherdstown, WV
This product is great and works just like it claims. My giant german shepherd filled four canisters in my vaccum and we still are not done and my small blue heeler looks like she lost ten pounds. I would definitely fuminate outside or some where the hair will be easy to clean up, because the shedding hair will brush out. I made the mistake of "just trying out" in my kitchen, with the ceiling fan on it has been several days and I am still finding hair. I didn't want to spend that much on a dog brush (Cat loves it too), but is definitely worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for FURminator deShedding Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the price

PostedJune 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Southernsnow
from Louisiana
I was a skeptic but using this brush has me convinced, so much so I bought a smaller one to use on my cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>