petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Hamster Cube Home

Petco Hamster Cube Home

Give your hamster a fun and secure place to rest and nest with our Hamster CubeThis colorful nylon cube hangs from the wire of your pet's cage to create extra space to explore and play
Average Customer Rating:
3.781 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
25 out of 32(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Review 1 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This thing is FANTASTIC!

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mice are naturally curious and playful, so mine absolutely loves climbing in, out, over and around this thing!
He quickly made it his bed and sleeps in it now. His antics climbing and swinging from it are too funny to watch! I definitely recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
29of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hamster Cube

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I love this cute item, I bought it for my Short Tailed Brazilian Opossum.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Okay but not exactly as pictured

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
It was okay and my hamsters go in it every so often but there were a couple problems. First, the strings were sewn into the cube (which this is actually a cylinder, NOT a cube) and were not attached to loops like the picture shows. Second, the strings were too way to long and caused the cube to just sit in the cage so there was no point in hanging it up. When I tried to shorten the strings to make it shorter they just shredded. Which is to be expected from the material and since it is a cheap product. So I decided to just cut the strings off and set the cube in my hamsters cage. They don't go in it much but I suppose it's a good addition.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun 4 Mice, Too

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Mesa, AZ
My four fancy mice absolutely LOVE this Hamster Cube! I set it up as a hanging hammock on their jungle gym and it's one of the most popular items in their tank. The multiple access holes provide a great deal of "peek-a-boo" activity. Very sturdy and easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

How does it fit in there?

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
My hamster, Dopy, won't fit in there! I am very dissapointed!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hamsters and Gerbils Chew!!!

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Vancouver, WA
Am I the only one who has gerbils that chew everything in sight? I brought this cube home, thinking it was very cute and would be a fun addition to their cage. In about five minutes flat, all four cords that hold up the cube were chewed in half! I'm not kidding. It was unusable after that.
I returned it to Petco and they were very nice about refunding my money. Sorry, I would have liked to give this a thumbs-up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Hamster Loves It!

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ky
When I was looking for new things to add to my new dwarf hamsters cage, I saw this product and felt that it was worth a try. My hamster lives in a 20 gallon aquarium and even though I was unable to attach the cube to the mesh topper with the clips, I simply removed the clips from the loops and attached using bread ties instead. Once the cube was in place, my hamster immediately took a liking to the cube and now sleeps in it on a regular basis. The product is well made, easy to clean, colorful and a great cage addition.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

my hamster really likes it!!

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from homer glen, illinois
I read the other reviews and was scared to buy it worried if my hamster would like it or not. My cousin got it for me so i hung it in his cage (he has shelves in his cage so i hung it over one of the shelves) and he just went around it. Then i started putting his treats in there and he would stick his front half in there to eat the treats. Then eventually he would cllimb more and more in until his whole body was in it. Then yesterday about ten minutes after he finished his treats and went to do something else, he came back in and was just sitting in there looking out! So now at random times he will just go in there.
By the way he is a teddy bear hamstr and yes he fits.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not For Me

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, Texas
I bought one of these for my long-haired hamster Kanon and hung it up in her cage. She never really took a liking to it though. I'm sure it's a good product, but it just wasn't my ham ham's preference. All she wanted it for was to chew up (which can be expected) and use for bedding material.
I ended up using it as a hanging treat holder though, which was kind of cute. I think it all depends on your furry friend and what they prefer. Since it is fairly inexpensive, you could always try it out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, but too small for my rats

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Cute, but too small for my Dumbo Ear Rats. Better for a hamster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
The cube turned out to be the perfect size for my rattie, Alice! She sleeps in it, chews on it, hides treats in it, pokes at it...well worth the price!! =D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good!! :D

PostedOctober 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Apple Valley, MN
This product is pretty good. It has different holes so your hamster, mouse, or gerbil, will have a good time playing with it! My brother's hamster, Bert, sleeps in this thing if we put bedding inside!! :D Only problem is that Bert chews on it. :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too bad he barely goes in it

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
from CA
This turned out to be bigger than I thought but its still great. My hamster barely ever goes in it unless hes just trying to pass through to get to the other side. He also started going in it more when I lowered the height so that its barely off the ground.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

cute idea, but...

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
The concept of this product is super cute. I saw it in store when I was getting supplies for my fiancee's hamster and my cat (no, they don't live in the same house), so I decided to get it for the hamster. It's been about 4 days since we put it in her cage, and had to throw it out this morning because even with multiple chew sticks, etc, she kept gnawing and chewing the cube. By this morning, she had already undone nearly 1/3 of the bottom seam. For safety, it's been discarded. If your hamster is NOT a chewer, go for it! If it gnaws to it's heart content, look for something more solid.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My hammies like this!

PostedApril 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
I think it is a great product and as soon as i put it in my hammies houses they both loved them (2 of everything for 1 each) and they seemed to have fun going in and out of it. Glad they are getting use out of it and I am sure will continue to use!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very fun to watch.

PostedMarch 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
The delivery was very fast. I just got the cube and it's so fun to watch Theodore [Hamster] relax in there.
The only flaw it has is the inside of it has some knitting stuck out. I added some ripped toilet paper and put it inside so the bottom would be more comfortable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for climbing fun!

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Burlington,VT
My hamster's name is Pluto and he is adoreble. He is my first ever hamster and I wicked spoiled him. I got him this Hamster Cube Hide-out and thought he would like to sleep in it, but he doesn't. Instead he climbs on it and sticks his head out the little holes, it is adoreble. He likes to go in it and just peek out his little head threw the holes. He doesn't like sleeping in it but as long as he uses it and likes it, its fine by me. I also like the colors and it is a cute hide-out and fun for my little hamster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hamster165

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Best thing ever. My Syrian hamster loves it. He climbs on top of it and goes in to the hole and just sleeps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Its Ok

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
I bought this for my dwarf hamster. He has a lot of fun sitting in it and realxing. The only thing is he does chew it so the material is kind of messed up but he loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Hamster Cube Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not lke the old one

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
I originally bought this cube a few months ago and it worked well for my Syrian hamster where she could climb in and out even when her cheeks were fully loaded. So I bought another cube for her other cage. The new cube is not made to the same specifications and the openings to the cube are too small. My hamster got quite frustrated as she could not get in even when she had no food in her pouches. Nice concept but needs some QC on the manufacturing of the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>