petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage

Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage

Showcase your aquarium atop this durable standState-of-the-art aquarium stand features a powder finish for extra moisture resistanceStorage compartment has doors to keep supplies convenient, but out of sight
Average Customer Rating:
3.688 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
2
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Review 1 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great and hold the tank securely

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
This stand was fairly easy to put together. I had no problems. It holds my 29gallon tank with ease and seems very secure. I am happy with the price and this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Quality and Easy Build

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Northern VA
The title says it all. The laminated boards seem much more sturdy with this stand than in most similarly constructed furniture that I've seen.
Storage compartment is great.
Highly recommend
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
Well I was very excited when I ordered this item, but it stops there. First of all it was very hard to put together & the doors still do not work properly. The screws on top are not flush so that made it extremely hard to place my fish tank on top. Also within the first few days I noticed the wood bubbling up (water damage), Now only a few drops fell on the counter tops from a normal water change & were wiped up immediately. Very poorly made product. DO NOT BUY!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice stand for the price

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma City, OK
Easily put together with instructions that are relatively easy to understand. Took me about an hour. I have not tested it out yet to see if the coating helps waterproof this or not, but it seems to be good enough to withstand water absorption.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice, but has flaws

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
The stand is sturdy and attractive. There are two main problems, though. First, the storage compartment doesn't have any backing at all--it has two doors in the front and is completely open in the back. I'm going to have to put something back there to keep my cat from getting in. Also, the bottom shelf, even though it's handy, really isn't practical for holding another tank. I put a 20gal on top and a 5.5 quarantine tank on bottom. However, there's so little clearance for the 5.5gal, I can't sufficiently lift the lid. As soon as my fish is done in quarantine, the small tank is going to go into a closet because there's simply no point in keeping it on the stand. The shelf is still great for things like the air pump and supplies, but I know a lot of people, including me, saw this stand and thought, o good a shelf for more than one tank! Not so much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good material

PostedApril 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from ox california
I bought this stand about a week ago it shpped right away so that was good. After assembling the stan (took me 25min) I was suprised on how sturdy it was and it looks nice... the only negative I have is don't get it wet cuz paint bubles up.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I like it but...

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
The stand was very easy to assemble and it looks nice. I haven't set the tank up yet so I cannot comment on the durability of the stand. The one problem I have is the doors only open about half way before the outside edges are stopped by the side boards of the stand. Was it designed that way? I tried making adjustments but I see no way to make them open fully.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could have been better

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
from California
This stand is easy to setup and is very sturdy. However, as someone else mentioned, any little drop of water on the surface will make the finish rise. I mean, the finish on this stand is supposed to be water resistant. It sounds like the finish gets tiny cracks that can't be seen with a human eye. These cracks allow the water under the finish, causing it to rise/bubble. This would have been a perfect stand if it wasn't for the cheap finish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Good Stand

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Urbdandale, Iowa
I just received this today after ordering this past Tuesday so it was shipped and delivered quickly.
I was impressed with the packaging as there was an outer box with an inner box separated by styrofoam spacers. This would help protect the product should the outer box experience any impact. Fortunately there were no signs of impact or dropping with my order.
As for the product itself, it is well designed and simple to put together. It took me under 45 minutes to assemble after un-boxing all the pieces and hardware. The instructions were decent but could have been better. Even still, it was pretty easy to figure out what pieces went where once it was all laid out.
It seems to be solid and very sturdy but I don't know how well it would hold up to an aquarium. We'll actually be using it for a chameleon cage which is considerably lighter. I've had aquariums in the past and I'd probably feel comfortable putting up to a 25 gallon tank on it but I don't know if I'd go to 29 as that would be over 300 lbs and it would probably make me nervous but if that's what it's rated up to then it should be able to hold it.
The stand is aesthetically nice enough and looks exactly like the picture online but it is what it is in terms of overall looks – a compressed wood furniture piece. There are some pre-drilled holes in each of the two bottom shelves that aren’t used for anything and these are called out and identified in the instructions so they didn’t cause any concern. They don’t go all the way through, only about half the depth, and I assume they may be used for different models of furniture and are predrilled by the manufacturer. The issue is that the wood is unpainted where these holes are and there are no plastic or rubber caps provided to conceal them. They are in relatively discreet locations such as inside the cupboard on the bottom shelf so they aren’t highly visible but I plan to paint them black.
The quality of the hardware and the wood pieces seem to be of decent quality and there were no noticeable nicks, dings or scratches on the finish. Being that it is compressed wood I imagine what others have said about water damaging it is highly likely. I’m planning to spray a coat or two of spray lacquer or some other kind of clear sealant on the surfaces to help prevent this from happening which should be a small but worthwhile investment.
In summary -
1. It’s exactly as described and pictured.
2. It was easy to assemble.
3. The quality of the materials is what I'd expect for the price and being a compressed wood furniture piece.
4. I'm confident it will function as I expect and will serve the purpose I purchased it for.
Overall I’m happy with the product and have no complaints so I give it five paws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average quality

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
For the price I'd say its a little bit poor quality. It goes together easy and looks great with a aquarium on top of it. But be careful about getting it wet during water changes because the wood will swell if water stands on it for too long. Not to mention that the two doors in the bottom don't open or close properly and have scratched deep groves into the base of the stand, though my slightly uneven floor might be to blame on that one. Overall its plenty strong to hold a 29 gallon aquarium, however don't expect top quality.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stand!

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
from So. California
Reading some reviews I expected lots of work with mediocre results, but I was able to put the stand rather quickly and it looks great under my 29 gallon tank. Very sturdy and compliments the tank well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Skeptical

PostedJune 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
We finally set up the fish stand over the weekend. I have a 20 gallon so it's resting in between the four pillars. I'm still very skeptical about this stand as the magnetic doors are not opening easily. At first they were when we first put the full tank on it. Now that the weight is settling in, the magnetic doors are not working as they should. There are already drag marks from our efforts to open and close the doors.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality for Price

PostedMarch 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
I purchased this stand on a gamble that it would be enough to support my 29 gallon. There were very few positive reviews but only 1 negative review at the time. Fortunately I decided on this stand out of others. It is very sturdy & I have not had a problem with it. Setup was fairly easy & it took only an hour or so to piece it together. If ever I do have a problem, I will be sure to post!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT A FISH STAND!!

PostedOctober 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn,New York
TERRIBLE EXCUSE FOR A FISH TANK STAND.NOT STABLE ENOUGH TO HOLD THAT WEIGHT FOR A 20 OR 29 GALLON TANK.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Choice for Small Apartments

PostedJuly 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Orange, NJ
I put this together in under a hour. Great for small apartments like mines.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aquatic Fundamentals 20 and 29 Gallon Aquarium Stand with Storage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great stand for the price

PostedJune 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
from texas
This stand came looking exactly like the picture and was easy to assemble. The quality is very good for the price. Fits our 29 perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.