petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand

Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand

Showcase your rectangular aquarium using this durable standState-of-the-art fish tank stand has a powder-coated finish for added moisture resistanceSturdy aquarium furniture features metal-to-metal locking cam assemblySolid top to fully support various types of aquariumsContemporary and versatile style
Average Customer Rating:
4.551 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
45 out of 49(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Review 1 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High quality at a budget price

PostedApril 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
nyyterp
I tend to be a klutz when it comes to assembling furniture like this, since 1) I never can think three-dimensionally the way the diagrams are shown in the instructions and 2) I'm clumsy with tools, never getting things in straight. I previously had very bad luck trying to assemble Top Fin furniture purchased at a competing B&M pet shop. There were so many parts to put together, but that was besides the problem. The materials were cheap and fragile. The nails wouldn't hammer in straight, causing the "wood" to crack. Some pieces didn't look like their illustration counterpart. And there seemed to be too many parts to keep track of what went where. After several frustrating hours, I sent it back the next day for refund.
Aquatic Fundamentals takes the guesswork out of all that, making it fairly intuitive with its short and simple digram and easy to keep track of parts. While all you need is a Phillips screwdriver to put the whole thing together, I recommend having some extra screws and perhaps pliers or a power tool as backup. I found the black screws to be rather "soft." It was pretty hard to screw in (I was doing it manually). Eventually, the screw stopped halfway and wouldn't go any further. The screwdriver wore out the top of the screw from the wear and tear, so I had to remove it with pliers and use a separate (i.e., not from this kit) set of screws. That worked just fine.
Although it is rather easy to assemble, I would recommend having a second person to help you keep everything perfectly aligned as you put in each piece. When you're done, you get a rather good, sturdy piece of furniture does your aquarium proud. It's very easy to move around once assembled, so you can decide where it will look best before you commit your tank to it.
Petco seems to have this on sale for around $95 on a semi-regular basis. That was what I paid for the inferior Top Fin stand. It's great deal for great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a good all around deal

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
tennisbum
from Port St. Lucie, FL
Great attention to detail has been expressed by the manufacturer getting the product to customer without damage. Carton within a carton and separation of pieces with foam resulted in no observed scratches or deformities. All hardware was accounted for.
Assembly by instruction was easy.
Note; the base and top are each two piece units attached by brackets. Assembly on a floor presents no problems with the base, transferring the top into position is best suited for assistance so as not to compromise the bracket attachments.
Mounting the door was left for a time when observation for tank leakage and no stress factures of the stand were observed which would call for an immediate drain of the full (50g) tank.
This stand is lower in height than most leaving all owners, irrespective of stature, easy access to the tank interior for maintenance and results in the contents viewed at seated eye height. The lack of shelves leaves a cavernous storage space.
I’m a happy camper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good for the price

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
jspike
from New Orleans, LA
The stand came neatly packed in a box followed by another box. The instructions were very simple and easy to follow. It took me about 45 minutes. It could have been built twice as fast with another person. The stand fits exactly on my 55 gallon Aqueon tank that I picked up for 1$/g deal. It has an okay coat for water. If you drip water, you should wipe it up asap. The wood won't soak up the water, but if you leave it there long enough it may absorb. The stand has two doors that are secured by a magnet type lock (you push the door in to secure the metal from the door to the magnet on the stand). There are no shelves, and the stand has an "open" back (the stand isn't a fully connected rectangle, but enough to support the weight of you tank, so the back has two open parts where you can feed wires or anything else, the open parts are pretty nice size). The manual states it supports 550 lbs of weight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK Stand, nothing special.

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
somethingisfishy
from Chicago
Decent stand. Basic black appearance. Shipping was very fast and it was well packed. Doesn't seem seem nearly as sturdy as some reviews would suggest, but probably enough for 55 gallons. Would have liked to have seen the top surface be a single piece and to have a couple more inches in width for added stability. Assembly was not difficult but took 45 mins or so. As others have mentioned in this product and on the other size stands of the same type, the finish is NOT water resistant. If you drip even a small drip during cleaning or fills or from fish splashing, it will bubble up. Small areas seem to dry back to normal, but be careful not to let large splashes stay wet for long. If you have kids, consider anchoring it to the wall, as it can be rocked much more easily than our previous stand, especially on carpet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but be warned

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
krutt
This stand is decent and supports my 55 Gal tank well, but there are some things to note before buying it.
-If you want to have a sump under your tank, do not get this stand; the sump will not fit inside.
-The powder coating is worthless and does not protect against bubbling.
-This stand is not as solid as shown in the picture. There are gaps at the corners and there are no back corners, just one back part that is in the middle of the stand.
Personally, if I knew how this was built, and for the price I paid, I would have just built my own.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont Get Wet

PostedMarch 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
LeesNemos
from Pompano Beach, Fl
I purchased this stand for my 55gal salt water tank and much to my surprise I loved it. BUT after one single drop of water(which is what fish live in, and they are the sole purpose for buying the aqurium stand) well the stand bubbled up, now thats all I see, A BUBBLE, and because you have to clean your aquarium and it can become a little wet when your doing this, I have more bubbles. Had I known that this stand was going to turn from a fish stand to a rotten pumpkin in less then a week I would have saved my money and built one myself.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't use near water!!

PostedMarch 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
While this is described as an 'Aquarium Stand', if it gets a little wet, the thin powder finish is not enough to keep the particle board from swelling up. I have yet to figure out how mine got wet, but the right end has swelled up enough that it has lifted the center of the tank off the platform and I can see clear through underneath.
The stand looked great for 5 days. Now I'm off looking for a differend stand as the tank is no longer properly supported.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great value!!!

PostedJune 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
howiedfan
I had limited space and limited money. This stand solved both of those problems for me. It doesn't extend way beyond the tank size and it was very affordable. It is extremely well made. There are no areas of the wood exposed. It is completely encased in the powder coat with helps keep water out. I wasn't sure if it had doors on the front, the photo doesn't do it justice. IT HAS DOORS!!! A place to store fish stuff. I LOVE it!!!! Thank you Petco!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent stand, fast assembly!

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
mgadams
from Chesterfield, MO
This is an excellent stand for the price. I love the way it looks and is very sturdy. The product arrived in two working days. PETCO emailed a UPS tracking number the very next day I purchased this item. I was able to assemble it in 22 minutes flat, let me know if anyone beets that!
I would give it 5 paws if it came with shelves' but for the price I can't complain. Would highly recommend to buy this stand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

55 Gallon Aquarium Stand Purchase

PostedFebruary 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Trigger
from Podunk, VA
I purchased this stand for my 55 Gallon aquarium, also purchased a petco. It came quickly via UPS, in a small 70 lb. package. It was very easy to open, all the pieces were their, and instructions easy to read and use.I guess the hardest part was actually using muscle to screw it all together. Not exactly how I thought it would feel.....kind of rough grain finish. Has no back but magnetic doors are great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy set-up using a phillips screwdriver

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
xcore
I found the stand to be durable, the metal clamps that hold wood together are great. 55 gallon fits perfectly on the stand. assembly was very easy for a person with a mobility impairment. anyone can build this using a phillips screwdriver.The only concern is that it has no back panel or any shelves for storage of supplies everything is on the bottom floor of cabinet,otherwise good product for the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Decision

PostedFebruary 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
anniezhu
from Elmhurst, NY
I was looking for a stand for a 55 gallon tank. All the stands I found were really ugly. The doors protuded out. They even had ugly wood panels or the doors. This stand is great. The picture doesn't do the stand justice. The doors are flush against the front panels of the stand using magnets to open and close doors. The finish is wonderful. Very expensive looking stand. Clean is Simple.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dustincnj79
from Hillsborough, NJ
This stand is very stable and actually looks better than what the picture portrays. It was very easy to put together and all parts fit exactly how they should have. The only recommendation I would have to improve this product would be a middle shelf for extra storage room. This is a great product and after a friend of mine saw it they bought one of their own to replace a stand they had.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for a 55 gallon

PostedMay 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mandi29221
from Seaford, Delaware
i bought my about 2 months ago and i love it it matchs everything. I have a spotted Green puffer. So i had to upgrade to a bigger tank for it. It loves the tank. It's black, smooth. and is sturdy. My Whole family loves how it looks and comments on it all the time. Advice i won't turn my head against this one its just perfect. I HIGHLY SUGGEST THIS PRODUCT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product at a great price

PostedJanuary 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
ChefEvans
from Charleston, SC
I was impressed with the quality of this item considering the price I paid. Assembly was a breeze, and the assembled product genuinely looks better than the picture on the website. I like the powder coated surface, now I don't have to worry if I spill a little water while doing water changes. Now I have to see how much the 20 gallon stands cost...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice stand but not for aquariums

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Viktoria
from Brooklyn, NY
This stand looking nice from the first sign. But when we put aquarium on it first of all it shakes. Second when it got wet accidentally the surface bubble up, finish is NOT water resistant. Now I don't know if it will dry back to normal or stay like that looks swelled. I would spend a little more and buy better quality stand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good deal

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Haymarket
from Haymarket, VA
I love the stand that we just purchased for our daughter for Christmas. We were looking for a tank that was say 20 gallons, but saw this stand and ended up getting it. We love the look of it and the fact that it is real WOOD.
Everyone that sees it asks us where we purchased it.
Great buy and classy look.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exellent product

PostedMarch 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
lenchik
Thank you for a great product. The whole process from purchasing to delivering was fast and prompt. As to the product itself I don't have the words to describe how great it is!!! Very easy to assemble. And the quality is so good!!! If only it had a shelf. But its definately worth every penny!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy and Functional

PostedDecember 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
JaHartz
from Hillsborough, NJ
Put it together myself in @40 minutes. Very easy to assemble. The stand feels very sturdy with and without water in the tank. The doors swing open for storage below the unit. The finish of the product looks great. The stand looks better in person then its picture on the website. Recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aquatic Fundamentals 55 Gallon Upright Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stand

PostedApril 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Zannalov
from Indianapolis, IN
The stand was shipped in a short amount of time. With Petco's periodic free shipping discounts it is an excellent price. Construction was incredibly easy, and can be done by a single person without assistance. The stand is a little wobbly on carpet, but that is to be expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>