petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix

Formulated to provide the nutrients and minerals necessary for healthy marine fish and coral environmentsEasy to use formula with measuring scoop includedFast dissolving, premium formula
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
13 out of 16(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Review 1 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Salt, Great Value

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
dr3404
from maine
I bought a 25g box of the Petco brand salt mix at my LFS. price point was right, and the product was great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good value

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
fishshoppingfamily
from usa
Petco salt mixture works well; my fish are thriving; have used for a couple years
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I was impressed.

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
BCSAquatics
from College Station, TX
I have had marine aquaria for over a decade, and have used multiple brands of salt mixes. I normally go with another name brand, but as marine options are limited here, I chose Petco's brand. The salt dissolves well (it's still in a loose grain form in the box 6 months later!), and my nano reef loves it! It is an excellent product, especially for the price. Thank you, Petco, for having an affordable option that proved to be a great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

You get what u pay for

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sluggo
from Ma
This was the biggest mistake to buy for a new saltwater aquarium!!!!!! I bought the box of salt to start a 65 gal saltwater reef tank. The instructions say scoop salt with the scooper included, well I ended up using a hammer and chisel to break up the solid chunk of salt that came in the sealed box!! I appreciate petco coming up with a cheaper product to compete with instant ocean but I will never buy this again
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have used with clownfish and seahorses....WORKS GREAT!

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
clownfishlover123
from Uknown
This salt mix is great, I've gone through three boxes already. It has a handy scoop and it dissolves pretty quickly (you do need to stir it though). I've even used it with seahorses, which are extremely sensitive and require daily feedings of live baby brine shrimp.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for Rift Lake mixes

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
bassetman
from Walla Walla, WA
I raise Frontosa and Mbuna African cichlids. I have always used this salt for making my Rift Lake water in combination with epsom salt and bicarbonate of soda. It mixes well with warm water and stays in solution after mixing. I have never had a problem with this salt.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price!

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
flappyfish
Really good salt. Once cycled, no cloudiness
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Marine Salt

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
sixerjones
from St.Joe, MO.
I set up a 90 gall tank a year ago and 75% of the time have used this Salt. I've had only one fish in there(Clown Trigger) and have grown him from 3 inches to nearly six in that time(9 months)The + for this salt is that it maintains and has a PH at 8.2. The Instant Ocean I've used for the other %25 can't do that. I have to use buffer after my water change. Our tap water is from an under ground source and is over 7.0. I use a poly Filter all of the time too. Which will remove any excess
metals etc. found regularly in marine salts. My only concern is that you can't find any real info on the salt from independent sources on the web. I'm proof(IT DOES HAVE HIGH CALCIUM)and fish do well..but inverts..good luck..corals probably will be fine. Petco would sell more of this if they put a small sticker on it saying made by the makers of THIS salt etc....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple but Good

PostedJuly 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
desire4firez
from Framingham, MA
I had to add more than the instructions said, but as long as you have a hydrometer in the water and you are patient; waiting 6 hours before an accurate reading, then you will have no problem getting it to where you want it. Good deal online -especially on big orders with free shipping!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Will be purchasing this again

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
lemurluver
from Wichita, KS
I got this for my first marine aqaurium. Dissovles quickly when used in warm water. I wouldn't suggest mixing it in cooler water but i'd say that is common sense. The ph has slowly increased in my first batch to where it should be and the price is good. I would recommend purchasing online since it is much cheaper than in store. I plane to buy the 150 gal bucket with free shipping attached when i run out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's O.K.

PostedDecember 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeff123
this is my fist salt water aquarium and i started using this product. when i would mix the salt into my water for a water change, i realized that there was an accumilation of white powder like stuff on the bottom. And every time after, the same white powder not mixing into the water. I even let it sit for like 30 min and it would never dissolve. Its not sand cause i use 2 different buckets, one to take the water out and one for the new water. So safe to say, im switching salt water mixes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

salt mix

PostedDecember 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
molson
salt is good quality for marine aquariums
mixes up well and is in individual bags when you buy the big bucket which keeps the mess down
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
nweezer101
from omaha, nebraska
i love this salt! it dissolves fast, has proper ph, and much much more it is so simple to use and i have never had a problem with it! i can see there are alot of good reviews and im glad i chose this salt first and now i am using it on a reef tank but the tank is cycling and i have another tank that ive had for a year and it has anemones and other fish i really hope it works out for my reef tank my review will be here soon! see ya!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not as expected

PostedJune 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
007john
baught a large lot of 50 gal + 25 gal packs since it was on sale for buy 1-50 gal get 1-25 gal free. I usually do a 25% or 60 gal water change on 2x30 gal containers every month since my tank is very large, 240 gal. for the past few months I have to use 2-50 gal packs just to make 60 gals of salt water at 1.023 sg. had my reef tank for about 6 years and never had this problem with other salts I used before. the only thing I like about this item is that it dissolves fast.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Marine Salt

PostedNovember 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
pircs
from New Hampshire
I bought this at a PETCO store recently based on a salesperson's recommendation. Since then I've been checking for it online and I'm glad to see it! This stuff is great! The salt is a great price and is the best quality salt I've used. LOVE the Zip-lock-package!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Premium Marine Salt Mix
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use and good test results

PostedNovember 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
fishhead
from Omaha, Ne
I spent a month slowly converting one of my tanks to Aquatic Garden Salt Mix and have good results on all the element testing I typically conduct. My fish seem indifferent to the brand change and AG costs a lot less than what I used before. The salt also mixes faster than other brands I have used. I just bought my first 42 lb bucket and found that it actually has 6 indivisual sealed bags inside which is great because the salt won't cake before I get a chance to use it all up. I am going to try it on a small coral tank next...that review will be forthcomming.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.