petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box

ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box

You don’t have to see, touch, or smell messy wasteScoopFree offers new & improved features - quieter motor, new anti-leak guard & upgraded components & recyclable packagingScoopFree(R) is the self-cleaning litter box you can leave alone for weeks at a timeIt is the only self-cleaning litter box that uses disposable litter trays to provide hands-off convenience and unbeatable odor controlYou don't have to see, touch, or smell messy wasteSimply replace the disposable tray every few weeks, and the litter box is just like newScoopFree is so reliable that it comes with a 90-day money-back guarantee and a one-year replacement warrantyIncludes 1 disposable litter tray pre-filled with Premium Blue(TM) crystal litter
Average Customer Rating:
3.798 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(183 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 183 reviews
5 stars
92
4 stars
38
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
33
136 out of 183(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Review 21 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Kitty!

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Branford, CT
This is our second self cleaning litter box. I'll never be without one again. Our cat is not a long hair, but she is fluffy and a dirty box can cause litter to stick to her hair. She hates a dirty box - and I hate the smell. With the self cleaning, she is so happy. And there is a lot less smell, even on day two or three.
This box is even better than the first one. We are thinking of getting my mom, a recent widow, a kitty companion. If we do, we'll be getting one of these boxes for their house, too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Litter box works; but don't like the purple cover!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Marcos, CA
We have two cats and I was so happy to find that this litter box doesn't need changing at least once a day as our other one did. With the Scoop Free I have been able to wait about four or five days before putting in a fresh box; that's pretty good. I love that the room where the litter box is doesn't need lots of air freshner all day either. Sure wish the company would have made the hood over the box in a more neutral color though. Why purple? Who has a room that purple looks good in?
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

happy cat and happy cat owner

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MI
I own one cat (my baby) he weighs around 13 poundsI bought this litter box because I'm pregnant and unable to clean the old box I had. My husband wasn't doing a good job at it.I was kind of skeptical at first because saw a couple bad reviews. Glad I didn't let them change my mind because I have owned the box for12 days and LOVE it. Had planed to go back to old box when had baby but threw old box in trash because this box never looks dirty or smells , I took a picture of box the first day I got it & it still looks just as good. I had thought cat wasn't useing it but he has since first got it but the box scoops clean as soon as he gets out so would never know was used if hadn't seen him use it.I used to scoop old box every morning & any time was dirty but it was never as clean as this. Have no dusty smelly mess. Some people complained about crystals sticking to cats feet and being tracked through house, dont understand that complaint cause I have a long haired cat and haven't seen one crystal out of place!!! I am a very happy customer and would recamend this box to anyone with a cat . The night I bought it my cat was following me everyplace and purring , kept loven on me for the next few days"saying thanks mom" . He loves it. Well worth the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I hate this box!

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
My mom bought this box and I clean it for her when I stop by. First of all, it still smells... like any other box if not worse because the movement of the "scooper thing" breaks up all of the urine clumps releasing ammonia. Second, feces will get stuck to the "scooper thing" so now you have to pry them off. Third, you still have to handle their mess and haul this big, stupid cardboard box that contains everything to the trash. This box is just another fancy thing to make someone money. I personally have 3 cats... just buy a regular box and a litter genie.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ford, WA
I bought this because I was tired of all the dust and mess of a traditional litter box. I wasn't sure if my cat would use the new box( she is a bit afraid of new things). I followed the recommendation that I put the old box next to the new one and not clean it. Within 3 days my girl was using the new box! We both LOVE it! She likes a clean box every time, and I love the fact that I don't have to touch it! She will even run in to watch when the box starts cleaning itself. It's been almost a month now so I expect I will have to change the tray out soon. P.S. NO smell at all!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy with it

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Philly
I love that you don't have to worry about the litter pan for 2 weeks with 2 cats. It does still have a slight odor but not nearly like a regular pan. Wish I would have gotten the hood because the crystals get all over the floor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love it!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
I love this product! My cats do too! Would recommend to anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent product

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from glen burnie md
I love this product. I absolutely hated changing the litter box every single day. This allows me to go for weeks without having to deal with it. And with the litter tray, I can change it and get it out of the house quickly. The only problem I've had with it is that I can't go the full time it promises with one cat. I usually have to change it after 2 weeks, but I still find it worth it. Probably will stick with this brand indefinitely.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mechanical Success, Odor Failure

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Annapolis, MD
The box works as described and this is the success of the automatic litter box. However, I have one cat and in no less than 10 days, I had to replace the disposable tray. The oder was horrible and I even tried the baking soda thing to try to eliminate it, but that didn't work. Only replacing the tray did that. The trays are expensive and you can get a permanent one. Just search for permanent litter tray for this item and you can buy the crystals also separately. I almost sent it back, but I like how it works, but you do have to do a little raking yourself to distribute peepee around because it settles at the bottom and also remove the poo periodically to control the oder. No way will it last 4 weeks, just 10 days and it was ripe and that equals 3 trays a month and thats why I purchased the permanent litter tray made for this (the crystals are sold separately). Thank goodness they have that and with the ocassional, necessary upkeep to control oder, this is still pretty cool. Also the hood is great too because it makes your cat exit in one direction where the ScoopFree carpet is and this does help control any crystals that on their little paws.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORST LITTER BOX EVER!!

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Evans, Ga
This is the absolute worst litter box I have ever bought and I have never been without at least 1 cat at any time of my life.! My new cat is 10 weeks old (I know it says to use it at 6 months and up)! The bottom is cardboard that you have to replace with the litter (about $20.00 each time!) The litter they give you does no odor blocking whatsoever!! After 3 days I had to take it back. If anyone says you can leave it for your cat for a week or so while on vacation you wouldn't be able to step foot in the room when you got back!!!!! For that kind of money I expected a much better quality product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Assessment of the Litter Box

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
First off, let me say that this isn't a magic litterbox that you don't have to maintain or monitor at least a bit. But if you want something where you're not having to constantly worry about cleaning daily, then this is what you are looking for.
I've had the box for 3 1/2 yrs & til now, it has worked well. Before, I had the LitterMaid, which I hated. The motor gave out in less than a year and overall it was messier.I gave the litter box 4 stars, because for the most part, it does exactly what it says and I have been satisfied. Now, my three 'complaints':
1st, the rake has completely erroded & now part of it is missing.This is due to my cat (who is a big boy at 17lbs) being quite large for the box & urinating on the rake in the same spot. That said, I have just purchased a new box to replace the old one because I DO believe that despite this, I got my money's worth for those years it worked. Also, the motor is still completely fine.
2nd: The litter tray/litter does not last long for my cat -MAYBE two weeks. Because he is on a perscription food that causes him to drink more water than the average cat, he urinates more often, which in turn decreases the tray's 'usable' time. My suggestion is to observe how often your cat urinates to see if the money for the trays are worthwhile. In the end, not having to clean my cat's box 1-2 times daily is worth it.
3rd: The box is hard to clean - you cannot remove the rake & it DOES get dirty & have buildup over time from fecal waste. You should make a point to clean it once a month to help prevent this as well as reduce odor.
On a side note, when I first brought this box home, my cat was a bit wary of the rake moving and the sound of the motor. He got over it though and ended up thinking that the rake moving was the coolest thing. It took alot of convincing him on my part that the box wasn't a toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product-Does what it claims!

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from South St Paul
Love this! and can't imagine a better litter solution. Truly, set it up and forget about it for three weeks. As a cost savings, I don't replace the cartridge each time but empty it and refill with Fresh Step Crystals. Do not use off brand (Petco) crystals as they are too large.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great Idea--Poorly designed

PostedApril 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NYC
This product was a great idea but poorly designed. My cat's feces got stuck in between the rake & automatic rake also left some feces residue behind.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My husband can't thank me enough!

PostedApril 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from North Dakota
I'm 5 months pregnant, and my husband can't stand to clean litter boxes (smell gets to him). Finally, I gifted him with this litter box, after reviewing all the reviews of many more expensive (and supposedly awful) litter boxes. We've had it for 3 weeks, for our 2 cats, and it is glorious! No smell, hardly any tracking (when we have the mat in place), and it waits a full 20 minutes before cleaning the box, thus it doesn't scare my cats out of using the box. It's low maintenance, thus not easily broken in my mind. For 2 cats, the litter box tray lasted us about 2 weeks (like they said). We love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Buy Overall

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
I bought this product based on a referral from a trusted friend who has had this model out automatic box for about 5 years with zero issues. Despite the reviews, I was pleasantly surprised after about of a month of use. My cat is a 12 year old, 20lb grey tabby, with horribly stinky urine and solid matter, requiring at least 2 traditional box cleanings per day. This unit captures just about all the odor from the sold matter, and all the urine odor. My base cartridge lasted just over 3 weeks. Overall, this machine is seemingly reliable, and does eliminate about 90% of odor with a possible outlying smelly event now and again. It's not perfect, but it will make your life better and unless your cat goes outside, none of these machines will completely solve the litter box issue. Pleasantly surprised with this little unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
17of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best one I've used

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Burnsville, MN
I have had this litter box for about 3-4 years and it has never had a problem! It is amazing, one of the litter cartridges can easily last 3-4 weeks with one cat and 2-3 weeks with two cats. It is so easy to change, pull it out and throw it away and put a new one in. The only time it ever even comes close to smelling is when I let it go too long without changing it. But my cat has never had a problem with using it, and the motor has survived this long. Has totally been worth the investment because I HATE scooping litter!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
14of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm so glad I bought this product

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
At first I was skeptical. I loved the idea of an automatic litter box, but my cat kept playing with it every time the box would start the self cleaning process. That all stopped when I bought the hood that should go with the litter box. I had also read the other comments from other people saying it didn't keep the odor away for 3 weeks or didn't clean well. I have not found those two issues to be a problem. I only have one cat and it works great for her!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST PURCHASE EVER!

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
I just purchased this 2 weeks ago. This is the best investment one can make! I used to scoop the litter box every few days when it started to stink up the house. 2 weeks later and there is no smell and it looks brand new. Trust me, if you are considering this, go for it! You will NOT regret it. It is super quiet too you never even hear it scoop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-48points
14of 76voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best liter box

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
I highly recommend this liter box. My cats love it as do I. Tried a few and returned all when we came across scroopfree automatic we decide to give a try and are very happy with it. I recommend this to all. I even let the cashiers know if folks ask about automated liter boxes to recommend scoopfree automatic to there costumers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for ScoopFree Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nice but not amazing

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
So I purchased this product because I have 2 kittens around 8 months old, and I was having to scoop their litter box every other day and I just didn't have time for it. Along with it being smelly constantly. I thought this product would save me a lot of time, keep the smell down, and eventually cut down on how often I have to purchase litter, It does keep the smell down a lot, you can only smell the urine if you get right down next to you and when its pretty much at the end of the trays life. It says that for 2 cats if can like 10-15 days for 1 tray. It only last about 5 maybe 6 if I'm lucky. Granted I do have kittens, and not adult cats but I was still expecting it to last closer to ten days instead of 5. Plus the litter is harder to find in store and more expensive in stores. It's a great concept and a nice product but I wish it lasted as long as people said.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>