petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats

Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats

100% natural shed control nutritional supplementBlend of vitamins and essential fatty acids works to improve your cat’s coat and reduce sheddingGreat-tasting supplement can be added directly to your cat’s foodGuaranteed difference within 3-4 weeksRich in omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids
Average Customer Rating:
3.562 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
11 out of 16(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Review 1 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Erie, PA
My cat sheds like crazy, so I decided to give this a try. He really likes the taste and I noticed a lot less shedding. I am also pleased with its nutritional benefits. Was skeptical, but glad I did it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shed X for cats

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
This product has been the answer for me, Living in a tiny studio with a long haired cat was getting hairy but Shed X has almost stopped the shedding completely and made my cat's coat even softer and prettier! I was worried she would refuse her food too, but she seems to love it. Very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Fast

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CT
I have a rescue cat who came to us with a very dry coat that seemed to shed constantly. I've been giving her one teaspoon of ShedX for only a week now and already I can see the improvement. She is a tortoiseshell and her coat now has a shine to it and the black and orange colors appear richer and more vivid. And, her coat feels nice and soft! She had no problem with the taste and ate it immediately when mixed into canned salmon pate catfood. Recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If I could only get him to take it...

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
I first tried mixing Shed-X into his food but he refused it completely. This morning, I put a small amount on his back near the base of his tail and - after he took one lick - he looked at me as if I was the meanest person in the world and took off running through the house. He wouldn't even let me near him to wipe it off. Now, I have a greasy spot on an overstuffed chair where he attempted to wipe it off on his own. Sigh.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is amazing

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco
I live in a very small apartment in downtown with three cats. It's been really tough to deal with hair shedding. I have been using this product for about a month, still on the first bottle. It took about two weeks to see the result. There is almost low to none hair shedding. The hair is very silky and nice too.
I read some of the reviews and I was kind of prepared that my cats are not gonna like the taste. I gave up first when they refused to eat the food. One morning I mixed it in the food and left for work. When I came back, the food was gone. I just had to be more persistent and they started eating now. I am definitely gonna buy the next bottle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have three cats and I wanted something to help with their shedding. I decided to try this to see if it would help, and it has been a great success. My cats have had no problems with eating it. I find that they prefer it in their wet food instead of the dry food. I give the three cats one can of wet food each day and I just add the shed x to it. I don't even give as much as the directions call for. A wonderful alternative to struggling to brush them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedFebruary 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
My cat has been an excessive shedder his entire life. I thought it was something that we would just have to live with until I tried Shed-X. His shedding was drastically reduced, as were hairballs. He did not want to eat his food with Shed-x on it at first, but got used to it once he realized he wasn't getting any other options. Now he likes his Shed-Xed food just fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOt my cat

PostedMarch 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Unfortunately, this product might work, but my cat won't eat her food this this on it. She just walks away. I tried mixing it in everything.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not to bad.

PostedSeptember 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
I'm new to the cat world. I was adopted by a very loving cat and am now trying to tolerate cat hair to save our new found relationship. My greatest pet pieve is cat hair so I tried this product. I first mixed it with the dry food and he refused to eat it. Tried mixing it with caned, he would not eat it. Tried putty it on his paws but was messy and lot of work. Finally as a last resort, I put a thin layer of dry food in his bowl, took an eye dropper and put one drop here and there, starting with about 1/2 a tsp. then covered it up with more dry food. He now eats his food and I have upped his dosage to 1 1/2 tsp. For his weight he's suppose to get 2 tsp. per day. His coat has improved drasticly. It's smooth, soft and shines beautifully. He seems to have less hair ball problems. And the shedding has decreased slightly. He has been on it for about two weeks now. I have to add, that since he was a stray his coat and diet was probably not in the greatest of shape to begin with, and I he has not been on the recommended dose for two weeks straight yet which is when they say you will notcie the difference. Hope this helps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stuff is amazing!

PostedJuly 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
I have been giving this to my finicky long haired former feral for two months now and his coat is positively luxuriant. He's so soft and silky that I can't stop petting him. There is definitely less shedding and fewer hairballs. We squirt it on his food every morning and he loves it. It would be a good purchase at twice the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I am sorry, but no

PostedJune 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
My cat will pretty much each anything, and not just cat food. (The Christmas tree will never be the same...you know how they can be.) But this she absolutely refused. I tried everything, to putting just a few drops, to mixing it in with wet cat food. Nothing. This product makes the food sticky and then the bowl is that much harder to wash. I am sorry, I am not a big fan of writing negative reviews, but I don't think there was a trick that I tried with this product that worked. Take a pass on this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SHED-X is the BEST thing I've FOUND!

PostedMay 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
My 14 yr old med hair calico didn't ever really shed THAT much..but she started throwing up hairballs about 3 yrs ago..we changed diets, tried all the malt flavored grease/lubes, herbal pills, and everything but starving the poor baby including twice and thrice daily brushings ...all to no avail.
Since trying this product, we have had two incidents of vomit in two months...we were having probems almost EVERY DAY...I also mix in one pill of "Veterenarian's Choice Cat Lube" it's an all natural herbal product...I've tried experimenting with using different things, from Salmon oil to all the others...this is the best combo I've found!
HOPE THIS HELPS YOUR FAMILY!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedDecember 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
My cats wouldn't touch this stuff. I mixed it in with their food and they wouldn't touch the food. I would not recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked better then I thought it would.

PostedOctober 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I was rather skeptical of this product when I purchased it and since I've always fed my cat Iams dry food I knew I would have to start giving her a bit of canned food every day. She is very sensitive to food changes. I mix in 3/4 tbsp Shed-X with half a can of Fancy Feast each evening. I purposely avoided using her shedding tool or hair brush for the first two weeks I used this. After the 2 weeks I used it and noticed a drastic reduction in how much hair it pulled off of her. Shake the bottle well before use and really mix it in well with the canned food. It's harder to mix in with chunky or shredded canned food.
I use this as a add-on to her total shedding control regimen. Which involves trimming her hair very short with a grooming electric shaver about every 4-6 weeks. Using a shedding tool at least once a week (use to need to use it 2-3 times per week) and occasionally hairball stuff so she doesn't get sick. I also use various products to pick up hair that gets on the carpet etc., but I don't have to do that as much now. Preventative care is often the best.
My only complaint is that the stuff smells horrible, the texture of it makes it just cling to dishes and measuring spoons. So after the first two days I started measuring the stuff out into a plastic throw-away spoon and put the canned food mixed with it on a tiny paper plate. No matter how careful I am I always get it on my hands and it usually takes dishwashing soap to get it off the fastest. But if it has to be like that in order to work then I don't mind so much. I would recommend this to others.
Just remember it works well in addition to other tools to reduce shedding, it is not a magic potion that will rid your cat(s) of all shedding forever. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Results seen

PostedApril 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
from GR, MI
My cat hated the flavor, wouldnt touch his food for a few days. Finally he did gain a taist for it, but not a fan. there was no difference in the shedding for my cat. I used the complete bottle as recommended.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shed-X Dermaplex Liquid Supplement for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

reduces shedding and shines coat

PostedFebruary 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
My cats are hairballs with legs, and keeping up was a chore. This product has reduced the hair by about half (My vaccum has a measure) The smooth coat cat has gotten very shiny from this supplement. They don't seem to need hairball meds now, and I suspect that is also attributable to Shed-X.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.