petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food

Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food

High protein Solid Gold dog food formula for performance dogsGluten-free and grain free dog foodLow carbohydrate dry dog foodPremium maintenance diet for adult dogsHolistic nutrition with balanced, high quality ingredientsContains no by-products, added animal fat or preservatives
Average Customer Rating:
4.905 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
62 out of 63(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
schweeetheart15
from Tracy, CA
I have been feeding this to my three dogs for the past 5 years and have never wavered. Great food, worth the price...especially for the livelihood of my pups!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps him in top form

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
greythound55
from Peoria, IL
Greyhounds can have all kinds of sensitivities so finding a food that works for our 5 year old male can be a challenge. When we adopted Neo 18 months ago we started with Barking at the Moon (Solid Gold) after reading several reviews from independent sources. We knew that he tolerated it well initially but only knew how good it was for him when we switched dog food. The store was out of Barking at the Moon so we tried another brand we had read about. He had an immediate reaction that required a trip to the vet to sort out. The vet told us to never feed him anything else and we haven't. He loves it and can hardly wait until I fill his bowl each day. The small kibble size is perfect for a big dog with a narrow mouth, too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kinlin
from Boynton Beach, FL
This is a great product, The ingredients are just what I was looking for, a fish product without adding a lot of stuff which other products had that upset my dogs stomach. I mix the Solid Gold Green Tripe canned food with this dry food.. She seems to enjoy the food, and has maintained a good healthy coat and energy level.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent food

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
MyDoggiesrule
from Cape Cod, MA
this product is by far the best!!! my dogs love the taste and it is the lowest product with carbohydrates and a good price too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

High Quality

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maskedreality
from Idaho
I was feeding blue buffalo to my Siberian Husky, but he was losing weight and did not seem to like the food. However, this new food seems to be appealing to him AND he is starting to get to a more normal weight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome food

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
cLaw
from spring, tx
My dogs love this food and none of my friend's dogs have ever turned it down. It's very high quality, grain free, and has very high protein from the beef and fish. My dog's recovery from a double cut tplo surgery was going slow on her old food and she had an ear infection and slight allergy. She was on Purina pro plan and when I switched her to this, her allergy vanished, her ear got better and within several days started using her leg so much more. I think the high protein really helped her recovery. I'm sticking with this food
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Service

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvMyFriends
from Madison, Wi
I ordered Solid Gold Barkin at the Moon. It was received quickly and is a product my dog loves.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Food Out There!

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
andysgagirl
from Fort Valley, Georgia
I have tried many high-end dog foods for my five year old jack russel mix who has severe food allergies (including quality ingredients like lamb, sweet potatoes, alfalfa, and barley) and this is by far my favorite. My dog absolutely loves this food, although I have to admit she will eat just about anything she can get her mouth on. Her allergies have been much better with this food and I love the high protein/meat content. I did have to cut down on the amount of food I was feeding her when I switched to this food. I am really happy with Solid Gold as a company, where they source their ingredients, how they make the food, etc. This is the only flavor of solid gold my dog can eat, but I would recommend any of their products to anyone! My cat eats the Indigo Moon and now she refuses to eat any other food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT food!

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
RangerHuntin
from Bend, WV
I have been feeding my 11 month old hound mix the best of every food for a while now from the best of grain free brands.. i have kept my dog trying them all because shes a picky eater - shes had many different premium brands - from raw to raw blends to dry and wet and different meats, etc.... but shes such a picky eater.. she'll eat a little bit or only the entire bowl if its mixed with a wet food... but she loves the Barking at the Moon she eats it instantly...and empties the entire bowl!!!!!! I would greatly recommend this food!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Holistic Food

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
3Weims
from Casper, WY
My dogs love the taste. All ingredients are from the USA except for Taurine which is from China.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Dog Loves It

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
PlinyTheElder
from San Diego
I was a little hesitant getting this brand as I thought it would be "too natural" for my dogs tastes. But he loved it from day one and eats it all everytime. I switched from a Purina brand as my dog was suffering from dry and itchy skin. After two weeks on this food, my dogs skin has cleared up and he itches A LOT less.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick, easy, great price!

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
granliday
from Huntsville, Al
Barking at the Moon dog food is hard to find but the best food I've found for my dog who has allergies. She loves the food and we don't see the redness on her belly when we feed her this.. Delivery was quick and the price was right.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product,but dogs would not eat it

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lovemypets5
from Illinois
In trying to find a grain free food for our dogs, I gave this a try since it had such positive reviews and a glowing recommendation from a friend. It is nutritionally great, but neither of the dogs would touch it. They both sniffed and walked away. They prefer a different product. I believe this is a great dog food if your dog likes it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great dog food

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lemonlily
from new mexico
This is wonderful dog food especially if you have very active dogs. It is a high calorie food, but living in a cold area my dogs do well. They sleep inside, but their coats are heavy, and stomach upsets have become a thing of the past. I would recommend this food for any dog, just adjust the amount fed so a dog does not gain too much weight. I have to say it is expensive, but petco has the best price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a grain free dog food

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherylws
from Phila., Pa
My vet recommended using grain free food for both my cat and dog. I tried several different brands and found that they both liked the Solid Gold brand. If they like it and it is grain free that is what I am going to buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding for performance

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
InTheField
from San Diego, CA
This food was selected for its grain-free, high quality ingredients as well as high protein level. My working field dogs do excellent on it with nary a bad bowel movement and outstanding energy and stamina in the field. As a bonus, they are not "hyper" from filler ingredients. This is a local company that I love to support for their outstanding product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

German Shepherd with a sensitive tummy

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hopper65
from Columbus, OH
I have a six month old German Shepherd that has had chronic diarhea. After multiple visits to the vet, I took the advice of my dog trainer and started feeding him Barking at the Moon food. He is doing so much better and has so much energy! I think this is one of the best foods on the market.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Food

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
RSMom
from IL
He loves it and it has really helped with his shedding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food!

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
K9CO
from Colorado
Both my large breed dogs have had digestive problems with other foods, and my lab had very dry skin. They have had completely normal (and less smelly) stools and my lab has not been itchy since we switched.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Solid Gold Barking at the Moon Grain Free Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food!

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
mickschl3
from Seattle, WA
I have 4 dogs with one very allergeric/ picky eater. All my dogs LOVE this food and the picky eater/allergy dog did wonderful with this. I would highly recommend this high quality dog food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>