petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food

Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food

Kaytee Fiesta MAX food helps ferrets thrivePacked with a fortified mix of wholesome high quality protein and fats, Fiesta contains essential nutrients for healthy ferrets
Average Customer Rating:
2.308 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
8
4 out of 13(31%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food
Review 1 for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Stonington, CT
If you love and want your ferrets to be healthy do not feed them this food
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not good for ferrets' GI tract.

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lake Jackson, TX
The food has high amounts of food coloring and will appear bright red in the stool, like the color of fresh blood. That made me panic when I first saw it. It makes messes even harder to clean as it stains bad.
This also does not digest well. A healthy stool is smooth and consistent. Any food, like this one, that comes out grainy like rice is a good indication that it is irritating the bowels and is not digesting.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Really?

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from MN
This food has a guide that says that ferrets should given a single cup of food a day- I really hope this food never finds in way into the hands of anyone who doesn't know better!
Honestly I am a very loving and responsible pet owner and I know a good amount to know that I only feed my ferrets a grain free food that has the required level of specialized nutrition a ferret needs- but the reality is these cute faces get bought by many who don't know the requirements and this food is very deceptive and not a good solid food for a ferret.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Thing you Could do for Your Ferret

PostedApril 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
This is the most healthy food you could possibly feed your ferret. After 45 years of ferret breeding and as a zoologist I can say definitively say that this is exactly the diet a ferret needs. Way to go, Kaytee.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-18points
4of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
while ferrets may love this, they will literally starve to death on this food.
children love candy , they will starve to death if that is all they eat. do not skimp on fgood for your ferret. They need 40% protein, minimum and 20% fat.
More protein is better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE ! One of the WORST !

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ferrets need HIGH amount protein (from meat no meat by product), LOW carbs (as they do NOt digest fruits and vegetables) and GRAIN FREE food. This is one of the WORST FOOD you can give to your ferrets. Horrible ! Its like Friskies for cats or Beneful for dogs, you think your pets might survive on these foods but you will pay a huge vet bill as they will suffer of malnutrition just like someone who is fed on fast food is entire life ! ITS NO GOOD !
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't do it!

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Please don't feed this to your ferrets. It's like a person eating nothing but cheese poofs. You might think it's tastier, and it'll keep you alive, but it's really not even close to healthy.
Ferrets need a lot more protein than this provides, and less fiber. Higher quality foods cost more, but the ferrets get more nutrition per kibble on higher-quality foods, which means they eat less (the bag lasts longer), and produce less waste. Most importantly, they'll be so much healthier and fluffier~
Try 8-in-1 Ultimate Crunchy (not Ultra!).. 10% protein doesn't sound like much, but it makes a world of difference.
(When switching food, start by mixing a bit of the new food into what they're used to.. switching over slowly is important).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedJuly 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
This food is one of the worst, if not the worst, food on the market for ferrets. Please do not buy this food! Ferrets need more protein and fat. Also this food has WAY too much fiber! This food is in no way "Gourmet" and does NOT help your ferrets "thrive". If you are looking for a healthy food that wont break your wallet, I sugest ZuPreem Premium Ferret Diet.
Nutritional analysis for ZuPreem Premium Ferret Diet:
Crude protein (min.) 40%, crude fat (min.) 20%, crude fiber (max.) 2%, moisture (max.) 10%.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst food ever

PostedMay 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
from PA
Please do not buy this food for your ferret; it is not very good for them. It does not contain the required amounts of protein and fat and it has way too much fiber in it. Not to mention it contains a lot of fish which makes their poo stink.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my babies love it!

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
from nj
One of the few things my picky eaters will indulge in :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ferret food

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
I feed fiesta to my little girl and she loves it. Plus it is cheep and often discounted with a pals card.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Food

PostedJanuary 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Maine
Just a glance at the ingredient list is enough to tell you that this is a poor quality food. Corn is just a filler that ferret's can't even digest (ferrets are obligate carnivores). And fish is the third ingredient which will make your ferret STINK. The protein and fat levels are also not adequate. Ferrets will have to eat more of this low quality food in order to get what they need as opposed to a better food that provides more for less.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee Fiesta Ferret Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lucy

PostedJanuary 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
The only food my ferret absolutely loves rather than eating cause it's what I bought!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.