petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding

Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding

Pet substrate made from reclaimed resourcesSafe to flushMakes excellent compost or mulch after useSoft pet bedding creates a healthy and comfortable environment for your small petGreat material for nest boxes and baby bird nurseriesFragrance free – no pine or cedar aromatic oilsHelps control odorsSanitized to aid in bacteria control
Average Customer Rating:
4.365 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(115 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 115 reviews
5 stars
78
4 stars
16
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
5
99 out of 115(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Review 1 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is terrible

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
This is by far the worst bedding I've tried. Sure it has good odor control, but it is a huge mess. Also, when the guinea pigs run around their feet scratch the bottom and it's very loud, as I am writing this at 5 in the morning because I cannot sleep with the noise.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I mix it in with paper cat litter

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lehighton,Pa
Good for additional absorption with paper cat litter but does not have odor control so that is why it is good additive with cat litter, it is also much lighter than cat litter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Colbert, OK
Out of all the bedding that I've tried in my ferret cage, this has proven to be the best by far. I use it all along the bottom of their cage and it does great at controlling odors and soaking up any little bits that don't make it into the little box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has good qualities.

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Amarillo, TX
This product has a good absorbancy rate & is very easy to clean. We love that this product is availale in many different scents, although they are hard to find sometimes:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

By Far the Best

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from OKC, OK
It wouldn't let me click the 5th paw for some reason, but I would give this bedding a 5/5. We have tried several other brands of bedding and this one is by far the best! It stays drier, smells fresher, and is easier to clean than any other kind we've tried (even other bedding a of the same brand). I highly recommend it! And PetCo is the cheapest place I've found to buy it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ny
Our guinea pig loves the soft grannules. Have tried other varieties of bedding and will only use this one. Order online since Petco runs out frequently!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bedding

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fort Wayne, IN
I have tried many different types of bedding, but now this is the only type I buy for my guinea pig. It's perfect because I can use a scooper with holes in it to sift the bedding between changes to keep my guinea pig extra clean :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bedding I've ever bought

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
I have a variety of pets and have tried a large variety of bedding and this one wins. It's not as dense as it looks, while it is granular is has a soft touch. It is unlike carefresh which is papery. It's good for litter boxes for guinea pigs (I use fleece as a main) because all waste stays on top, you can scoop out the top soiled layer and top it off with fresh bedding. It is light enough for gerbils to burrow, but still keeps messy cardboard and paper scraps from getting burried. It's also EXTREMELY absorbent. This is the perfect natural looking bedding if you're going for that look.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is great

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Vermont
my hampster likes bedding with it and hiding her food in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
My rabbit loves this product.
The product works perfectly for the litter boxes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Specific needs

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from HI
This product is great for baby guineas. Not so much for bigger ones. The bigger ones will fly this material all out of the habitat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite bedding

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rancho Mirage CA
With 3 pigs, I've tried them all over the years. This one is superb, even though they can kick it out of the cage when excited. It controls the odor better than any other bedding and doesn't get "packed down" like Carefresh. The wetness is absorbed better so the pigs are more comfortable. It may cost more but it's worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is great!

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hartsdale, NY
I have been using this product for years and it is a great product. My rabbits love t!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft and Safe

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Normal, IL
I really enjoy using this bedding because it is natural. Meaning that if your animal eats it, it will not be harmed as easily. It is easy to clean up. You can tell tell difference between bedding and the animals fecal matter. The price isn't horrible either. I just buy it in bulk!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's good stuff but...

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Beverly Hills, CA
My rabbit makes a mess of it. I used to have chinchillas before I became asthmatic (because of their dust) and had Carefresh bedding with them. I liked that a lot more because it didn't get EVERYWHERE. This stuff is really absorbent and odorless. Aside from the mess, it's great.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

affordable but a great product

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Scarborough, ME
This soft granule bedding is really a good product, it's surprisingly absorbant and keeps odors down plus the price is excellent. It's also safer for small animals because it doesn't generate the dust that gets into their lungs, causing respiratory problems. I've used a lot of different types of bedding and this is one of my favorites.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product - worth the price

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Vermont
This product is fantastically absorbant and keeps the space from smelling like a small animal lives there. It's easy on the guinea pigs feet and easy on their systems. I've been using for the last 3 yrs. and I'll never go back to wood shavings again! Definatly worth the price per bag!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great odor absorber

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from miami
A Petco staff member recommended this bedding to me for my guinea pigs. It is much cheaper than Carefresh, lighter and just as good at absorbing odors. The only problem I have with it is that my guinea pigs don't seem to like the hard, nubbly surface. I still sprinkle Carefresh on the top, but at least it saves me money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

My experience with this product

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NY, NY
I am a first time guinea pig owner. We purchased this product and the one with lavender. I think it's great for odor control that's why i gave it the rating i did. I put this in the home for my 4 to 6 week old guinea pig. He started chewing on it.
I read the back of the package and found this and i quote: "Caution
Animal consumption of any bedding product should be avoided. I immediately removed the baby and put cardboard over the bedding so he can't eat it.
Now I'm wondering What can i use on the floor of my baby's cage? :(
Sincerely, AmBack
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from FL
Product is soft and it works well for odor control, but it is very overpriced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>