petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding

Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding

Pet substrate made from reclaimed resourcesSafe to flushMakes excellent compost or mulch after useSoft pet bedding creates a healthy and comfortable environment for your small petGreat material for nest boxes and baby bird nurseriesFragrance free – no pine or cedar aromatic oilsHelps control odorsSanitized to aid in bacteria control
Average Customer Rating:
4.38 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
5 stars
74
4 stars
14
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
4
93 out of 108(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Review 1 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bedding I've ever bought

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
laanimal
I have a variety of pets and have tried a large variety of bedding and this one wins. It's not as dense as it looks, while it is granular is has a soft touch. It is unlike carefresh which is papery. It's good for litter boxes for guinea pigs (I use fleece as a main) because all waste stays on top, you can scoop out the top soiled layer and top it off with fresh bedding. It is light enough for gerbils to burrow, but still keeps messy cardboard and paper scraps from getting burried. It's also EXTREMELY absorbent. This is the perfect natural looking bedding if you're going for that look.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is great

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
janeyb42
from Vermont
my hampster likes bedding with it and hiding her food in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
ValueBuyer
My rabbit loves this product.
The product works perfectly for the litter boxes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Specific needs

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
guineamomma46
from HI
This product is great for baby guineas. Not so much for bigger ones. The bigger ones will fly this material all out of the habitat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite bedding

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
NancieD
from Rancho Mirage CA
With 3 pigs, I've tried them all over the years. This one is superb, even though they can kick it out of the cage when excited. It controls the odor better than any other bedding and doesn't get "packed down" like Carefresh. The wetness is absorbed better so the pigs are more comfortable. It may cost more but it's worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is great!

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rabbitfancier
from Hartsdale, NY
I have been using this product for years and it is a great product. My rabbits love t!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft and Safe

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
BlindedPanda
from Normal, IL
I really enjoy using this bedding because it is natural. Meaning that if your animal eats it, it will not be harmed as easily. It is easy to clean up. You can tell tell difference between bedding and the animals fecal matter. The price isn't horrible either. I just buy it in bulk!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's good stuff but...

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
ive4g10how2fly
from Beverly Hills, CA
My rabbit makes a mess of it. I used to have chinchillas before I became asthmatic (because of their dust) and had Carefresh bedding with them. I liked that a lot more because it didn't get EVERYWHERE. This stuff is really absorbent and odorless. Aside from the mess, it's great.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

affordable but a great product

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
thinkmaker
from Scarborough, ME
This soft granule bedding is really a good product, it's surprisingly absorbant and keeps odors down plus the price is excellent. It's also safer for small animals because it doesn't generate the dust that gets into their lungs, causing respiratory problems. I've used a lot of different types of bedding and this is one of my favorites.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product - worth the price

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
JARL
from Vermont
This product is fantastically absorbant and keeps the space from smelling like a small animal lives there. It's easy on the guinea pigs feet and easy on their systems. I've been using for the last 3 yrs. and I'll never go back to wood shavings again! Definatly worth the price per bag!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great odor absorber

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
alisanew
from miami
A Petco staff member recommended this bedding to me for my guinea pigs. It is much cheaper than Carefresh, lighter and just as good at absorbing odors. The only problem I have with it is that my guinea pigs don't seem to like the hard, nubbly surface. I still sprinkle Carefresh on the top, but at least it saves me money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

My experience with this product

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
AmBack
from NY, NY
I am a first time guinea pig owner. We purchased this product and the one with lavender. I think it's great for odor control that's why i gave it the rating i did. I put this in the home for my 4 to 6 week old guinea pig. He started chewing on it.
I read the back of the package and found this and i quote: "Caution
Animal consumption of any bedding product should be avoided. I immediately removed the baby and put cardboard over the bedding so he can't eat it.
Now I'm wondering What can i use on the floor of my baby's cage? :(
Sincerely, AmBack
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
LighthouseBeach
from FL
Product is soft and it works well for odor control, but it is very overpriced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for my Guinea Pig

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
megabyter
from Bowling Green, OH
My guinea pig seems to like this bedding. The odor control is actually pretty amazing as well. My only complaint is that the product is very inconsistent. Sometimes you get a bag full of quarter sized granules and sometimes it's so fine-grained that it's the consistency of sand. Every single purchase varies. Make sure you look through the clear part of the bag when you pick one out and see how fine it is!!! When the grain is too big, my poor baby can't walk without tripping but when it's too fine, it makes both of us sneeze and also makes a mess.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bunny litter.

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
rnr52
from Rochester, NY
This is great in the bunny's litter box. My bunny seems to like it and does not kick it to the sides like other things I have tried to use in his litter box. It had good absorbency and odor control but I also line my bunny's litter box with absorbent pads which make clean up a breeze.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

•WARNING• DO . NOT . GET!!!!!

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
CocoThePiggie
Whenenever coco popcorns the bedding goes everywhere& it gets in her food & she consumes it .. it gets in her hole & i have to remove it and judging by her squirming its very uncomftable. it stinks after a few days then you have to change the WHOLE bedding.. DO NOT?GET YOUVE BEEN WARNED !
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I would not buy this product again

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
formypiggies2
from Springfield, VA
I have 2 rather large guinea pigs and I tried this bedding. It comes in really small pieces that get all over the place when you take them out of their cage. It also gets in to their food and they can't tell it apart from their real food. it also gets into their hair and sticks to their bellies so once they are out we find it everywhere. I have returned all of the unused bags back to petco.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best odor control / uses less / Great cost

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
GuineaPigCaregiver
from Dallas,TX
My guinea pig has been in the family for 2 years now and we have tried several types of bedding. We began using the soft paper bedding (expensive) then tried wood bedding (messy/ no odor control) went back to the expensive bedding but was disappointed in the odor control. I just recently decided to try the soft granules because they claim great odor control; we have been using it for over a month now. Not only does it have superior odor control but we use less of it AND it is lower in cost!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite Bedding So Far

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
JJ26
Out of everything I've tried, this is the best at guinea pig odor control and has really low dust levels. It's so absorbent the corners of the cage don't even feel wet when I refresh them every two days. A thin layer goes a long long way, and it doesn't get compacted after the pigs have been running on it for a day, unlike paper bedding or shavings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaytee Soft Granule Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT!

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
AnimalLuvin
from Pittsburgh,PA
My Hamster loves this bedding! I love it too! Its so much easier to clean and it doesn't stick to the cage where she urinates at. I love it! <3
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>