petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder

PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder

You no longer have to worry about rushing home to feed your petThe 2 Meal Pet Feeder allows you to feed two meals within 48 hoursThe convenient timer opens up the lid's bowl, which holds up to 1.5 cups of foodModel PFD11-13706
Average Customer Rating:
3.038 / 5
3
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
17
29 out of 53(55%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Review 1 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS PRODUCT IS A LIFE SAVER

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
FURRYCHILDRENMOM
from NAHSVILLE TN
THESE TIME RELEASE CONTAINERS ARE TRULY A LIFE SAVER. THEY ARE NOT RECOMMENDED FOR OUTDOOR USE, BUT I WAS DESPERATE TO KEEP A STRAY CAT FED WHILE I WAS ON VACATION.
I PUT THEM IN FEED STATION CONTAINERS I MADE FOR OUTSIDE, ANT TRAY PROTECTED THEM AND THE CAT SITTER FILLS THEM UP AND SETS THE TIME EACH EVENING.
I HAVE BEEN FEEDING THIS CAT FOR CLOSE TO A YEAR. I ONLY SEE HIM BETWEEN 3-4 AM IN THE MORNING WHEN I'M GETTING READY TO GO TO WORK. HE WAS HURT AND VERY AFRAID. I COULD NOT GO OFF AND LEAVE HIM WITH NO FOOD. TIME FEEDERS TO THE RESCUE!!!
THESE FEEDERS HAVE GIVEN ME PEACE OF MIND KNOWING THAT MY FURRY FRIEND WILL BE OK AND HAVE FOOD WHILE I'M GONE. I WILL CONTINUE TO USE THEM UNTIL I GAIN HIS TOTAL CONFIDENCE AND HOPEFULLY TAKE HIM IN ONE DAY.
FURRY CAT MOM
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

2 meal automatic pet feeder

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
PetOwner52
from Traveling pet owner.
I first looked at one in store. when I opened the box it had been returned as you could see food in the bowl! Against my better judgment I ordered one online. We placed the battery and set the timer and the door opened the first time. IT NEVER WORKED AGAIN! The timer would rotate but the doors would not pop up to feed your pet. As all of you animal owners know, this is unacceptable. I don't want my dog hungry and missing a meal because the door won't open for the food. Save yourself the grief of returning this product. Don't buy it in the first place.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

works slow then fast

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
feedme
from delaware
I have put 2 different time settings on each side and the1st opens slow but the second timmer seems to skip time - still trying to see if its me or the product incase I need to retuurn it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This feeder is a "sleep saver"

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
PKay
from Florida
This feeder worked great for a few months then stopped working. It allowed our cat to eat in early A.M. without disturbing us.Yay! PetSafe replaced it without issue because of 1 year warranty. He told me to only set it EXACTLY on the number for 2 hr increments or the dot for one hour, or the timer WILL get messed up. I wish they would emphasize this in the operating instructions. It may have been what happened to us. Nice feature is that there is space under trays which allows for a small freezer pack to keep wet food cool. This is a great product for our needs. Kitty is happy again too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
cmr1968
from Richmond, VA
This was perfect for feeding our dog while at work, she has a sensitive stomach to begin with so this extra food during the day has helped out. She hasn't been sick since we've starting using it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Opens too easily

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
TreeHugger64
from Ventura, ca
My ever hungry chubby cat popped this open in about 15 seconds. Won't work for cats on a diet!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not great

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
schmoosue
from Nebraska
This did not work for long, and did not work well. I will need to invest in a more expensive model.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
RonC
from Glendale, CA
I am trying to cut back the amount of food my cats eat (to lose a little weight) and being able to separate it into two feedings is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My cats outsmarted this product!

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
DCpetlover
from Washington, DC
My hungry cat was able to figure out how to pop open the container....don't bother with this product! We ended up having to purchase a different feeder that is more sturdy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful piece of plastic junk

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
DogLoverNew2Cats
While I'n usually not one to write a review, this product has pushed all of my buttons. It is cheaply made, poorly designed, and worthless.
The lid can easily be opened by an hungry pet...no matter what the hour is. It simply pops open with a bit of pressure.
Even if the lid is not popped open, any cat worth its salt can pry it open and pull out the tray.
Worthless! I would return, but I was to be away over night and needed to feed my cat, so after the trial run failed I glued the trays into place. That helped for a bit...then he figured out he could just apply pressure.
I found this in the dog section of the store. Cannot imagine what a dog could do to this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

popup

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Friend222
Showed dog first bowl. second bowl was opened by dog in 3 seconds. Did not work at all. Glad I tested before I needed it overnight.
Took it back the next day. Store was good about taking it back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work; cheap product

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
MissGato
from Albany, NY
I'd give this a zero if I could. The feeder never worked. I put in new batteries, set the timer, and could hear it ticking for a moment or two, then it would go silent. I tested it many times, but the lids never opened, ever. I tried rearranging batteries, setting it for different times, but always I could hear the ticking for a few seconds, then it'd stop working, stop counting down, and the lids would never open. Had I not tested it first and just trusted it to work, it could have been detrimental. While my feeder probably had a defect that others wouldn't, it's still a cheap product. Instead, spend the extra money on the PetSafe 5-Meal Pet Feeder,which works wonderfully!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good for a short time

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
ZoeandOscarsMommy
from Weschester County, NY
I bought two of these feeders for my furbabies, Oscar and Zoe.
PROS: They are extremely easy to set up and set the timers, and can easily be cleaned.
CONS: Only after a few months of having this did I notice that once I placed the feeder on the floor Oscar was able to get his claw between the lid and the lip of the white dish and promptly pull at it until the lid popped open so he could eat the food (moving your cat away to another room doesnt work)
If your cat is smart enough to paw at things to open them, I would not suggest this because between him and his sisters bowls, Im sure he learned how to pop open all of them and ate her food too. Im going to try and get one of the feeders that rotates so he cannot open the lid.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lucky Lulu

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lulus2parents
from Torrington, CT
Our cat was a stray, who lives to eat. She's happy in her new home, but gained a little too much weight. We've cut back on her food but her mornings are too early for us too feed her. Her new dishes help give her an early meal so we can sleep a little later. We are looking forward to using it when we're gone over night. It was an affordable option to solve a persistent, growing problem.
The only thing we'd improve is the timer that opens each dish. It could be more precise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only works if cats are not persistent

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
vsmith999
from Vienna, VA
I have a 16 pound cat who is on a diet (16 pounds is his target weight) who thinks he is hungry all the time and works hard if he thinks there is food involved. This feeder worked great the first couple of times I used it, but the cat kept working on it. Somehow he has warped the lid on one of the dishes so that it doesn't latch correctly. He can open up that side by just banging a paw on it. Once one side is open, he can slide a claw under the other side to open it. Takes him five minutes at most to open it up.
Someplace I read a review the recommended taping the dishes in place. That did help for a time, but once the lid was warped it was finished. The plastic on the lids is fairly thin and cheap.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Idea

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Spencer51
from Rockville Centre, NY
This feeder is well made and works most of the time.
Initially it worked great. Then my cat discovered that if he hits it enough the feeder will open before its scheduled time. He cannot open it all the time, but he can do occasionally which is annoying.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work!

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
activegrandma
from Philadelphia PA
The quality control on these feeders must be extremely low. Mine stopped functioning after 4 weeks--nothing happens, The dial doesn't turn, lids don't open. I've replaced the battery and checked both batteries in other appliances, so I know they were both good. I know someone who has one of these, purchased some years ago, and it works. The one I bought clearly does not.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly Made

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
AnimalLUV5
I purchased this product for my cat as I work irregular hours and didn't want my cat to have to wait around to eat. Right as I opened the box, I realized the poor quality of the feeder. The lids to each compartment were not closing properly and a large space was present. Knowing my cat, he would smell the food though the gap and spend his day trying to open the top up potentially hurting himself. Although the product was on the cheaper side, I will not settle for a non fully functioning device.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

meh...

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
lovemysiameseboys
from Racine, WI
the idea behind this product is great, but the product itself, not so much. i didn't really like the timers. i'd like to be able to set a time for the feeder to open, not how long i'd like them closed. also, bits of food get in through the space where the hinge is and don't come out. the food's loose in the back and it rattles around and doesn't come out. the removable bowls are easy to clean, but the unit itself, it's not necessarily difficult to clean, but it's certainly a pain in the butt. it has very tight corners and since you can't submerge it, it's never fully clean.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
noway1
from Sewell nj
can not judge exact time ,but good for what I need it for.I read another review that said freeze the food.It's a good idea the food stays fresher longer til it's eaten
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>