petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder

PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder

You no longer have to worry about rushing home to feed your petThe 2 Meal Pet Feeder allows you to feed two meals within 48 hoursThe convenient timer opens up the lid's bowl, which holds up to 1.5 cups of foodModel PFD11-13706
Average Customer Rating:
2.875 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
8
1 star
24
32 out of 64(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Review 1 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not functional

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
Poorly made product. My small cat gave the closed food compartment a tap with his paw and it opened up immediately. I will be returning this item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so great after all

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I've been using this feeder for about two years. I thought it was great for my cat. It worked beautifully; if I was out of town for a weekend it was great peace of mind that I didn't have to worry about feeding my cat.
Unfortunately, I discovered this weekend that my cat can open this feeder on his own. I suspect he eats the food immediately after I leave, which it certainly not the intent of the product. I can't give it a favorable rating if my smart cat can outsmart it, and I'm disappointed I'm feeder shopping again. Hopefully someone else has made a feeder my cat can't open!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product give me fex time to feed Rocky.

PostedJune 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Leage City Texas
This product works great, will help me feed Rocky when I need to go. Also will help keep the right amount of food for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple, but effective

PostedJune 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kailua, HI
This automatic feeder is simple, but works for our needs. I needed a way to feed our dog at his regular dinner time when I won't be home until late. The timer on this is in 2 hour increments; you set it for the number of hours until it is to open for feeding. If you need something highly accurate, this may not work for you as you have to judge exactly where to set the timer. For us, we just need to make sure the dog is fed at a rough time, so it is fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If only it were sturdier...

PostedApril 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from West Virginia
The concept is great... but why after all the reviews hasn't the company come up with a larger sturdier version better suited to dogs than to cats? Seems like they would make a killing. I'm just one more reviewer here to say that if your dog is "food oriented" this just won't work for you. Worked okay a couple of weeks (I'd come home and wasn't sure if he had waited for the doors to open or if he had opened them before the timer went off) then one day came home and found he had taken it out through the doggie door and obliterated it. It's too bad because I can't fid anything else in any price range to accomplish this task!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PETSAFE 2 MEAL FEEDER OUTSMARTED

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from ALBUQUERQUE, NM
I WAS HAPPY WHEN MY PETSAFE 2 MEAL FEEDER FIRST ARRIVED. TRIED IT AND IT SEEMED TO WORK. I WAS CONTENT KNOWING THAT MY CATS COULD EAT THE RIGHT PORTIONS AT THE RIGHT TIME. UNTIL ONE DAY WHEN I LEFT FOR WORK AND REALIZED THAT I LEFT MY GLASSES AT HOME. WENT BACK TO GET THEM AND SAW THAT ONE OF MY CATS HAD FIGURED OUT HOW TO OPEN IT AND WAS EATING HER MEAL WAY TOO EARLY! I HAD EVEN ORDERED 3 MORE EARLIER THINKING THAT THEY WOULD BE HELPFUL WHILE I'M ON A WEEKEND TRIP. NOW MY SHIPMENT, WHICH JUST ARRIVED A COUPLE OF DAYS AGO, IS STILL UNOPENED. CONSIDERING SENDING THEM BACK TO YOU. IT'S A GREAT CONCEPT, BUT THEY HAVE TO FIND A WAY TO KEEP IT REALLY "SAFE."
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as great as I expected

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wareham,Ma
Trialed feeder first to see if it would open. Was disappointed you coud only set timer in 2hr increments. Feeders did open eventually so next I put food in them and set timer again. Placed on floor and next thing I know cat is clawing at feeder because they can smell food and opens it and eats food. So had to return as it defeated purpose of why I was getting it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These Feeders worked!

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hammond, LA
Bought these feeders for a quick trip. My cats loved them. They opened as promised and the kitties ate their kibble on time. Good product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pets IQ high enough to outwit

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from anson,me
Very disappointed. Only used a couple of times before my cats figured out how to break into it. I got this for my diabetic cat who needs to eat at scheduled times throughout the day. If I leave food out when I leave for the day, the cats start eating as soon as I put the food down. The whole point of this purchase was to avoid that so they could eat lunch at lunch time, not right after breakfast.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good for Ravenous dogs

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
First off, I must say my Beagle is EXTREMELY food oriented and will stop at NOTHING to get to food.
My very smart Beagle figured out how to open the doors covering the food. It took her a couple weeks after I purchased this feeder, but she figured it out. She actually BROKE BOTH doors off and obliterated the feeder. I had to throw the entire thing away.
I also have a Daschund who is not as food oriented and has NOT yet managed to break his feeder.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pet feeder no no

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from chandler
Don't spend the money...my food obsessed dog (yorkie/poo) can drag this around and pop open the doors and get all the food in about 1hr. I think the plastic is too cheap. needs to be harder for a 10lb dog to move and open. Don't buy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS PRODUCT IS A LIFE SAVER

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NAHSVILLE TN
THESE TIME RELEASE CONTAINERS ARE TRULY A LIFE SAVER. THEY ARE NOT RECOMMENDED FOR OUTDOOR USE, BUT I WAS DESPERATE TO KEEP A STRAY CAT FED WHILE I WAS ON VACATION.
I PUT THEM IN FEED STATION CONTAINERS I MADE FOR OUTSIDE, ANT TRAY PROTECTED THEM AND THE CAT SITTER FILLS THEM UP AND SETS THE TIME EACH EVENING.
I HAVE BEEN FEEDING THIS CAT FOR CLOSE TO A YEAR. I ONLY SEE HIM BETWEEN 3-4 AM IN THE MORNING WHEN I'M GETTING READY TO GO TO WORK. HE WAS HURT AND VERY AFRAID. I COULD NOT GO OFF AND LEAVE HIM WITH NO FOOD. TIME FEEDERS TO THE RESCUE!!!
THESE FEEDERS HAVE GIVEN ME PEACE OF MIND KNOWING THAT MY FURRY FRIEND WILL BE OK AND HAVE FOOD WHILE I'M GONE. I WILL CONTINUE TO USE THEM UNTIL I GAIN HIS TOTAL CONFIDENCE AND HOPEFULLY TAKE HIM IN ONE DAY.
FURRY CAT MOM
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

2 meal automatic pet feeder

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Traveling pet owner.
I first looked at one in store. when I opened the box it had been returned as you could see food in the bowl! Against my better judgment I ordered one online. We placed the battery and set the timer and the door opened the first time. IT NEVER WORKED AGAIN! The timer would rotate but the doors would not pop up to feed your pet. As all of you animal owners know, this is unacceptable. I don't want my dog hungry and missing a meal because the door won't open for the food. Save yourself the grief of returning this product. Don't buy it in the first place.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

works slow then fast

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from delaware
I have put 2 different time settings on each side and the1st opens slow but the second timmer seems to skip time - still trying to see if its me or the product incase I need to retuurn it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This feeder is a "sleep saver"

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This feeder worked great for a few months then stopped working. It allowed our cat to eat in early A.M. without disturbing us.Yay! PetSafe replaced it without issue because of 1 year warranty. He told me to only set it EXACTLY on the number for 2 hr increments or the dot for one hour, or the timer WILL get messed up. I wish they would emphasize this in the operating instructions. It may have been what happened to us. Nice feature is that there is space under trays which allows for a small freezer pack to keep wet food cool. This is a great product for our needs. Kitty is happy again too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
This was perfect for feeding our dog while at work, she has a sensitive stomach to begin with so this extra food during the day has helped out. She hasn't been sick since we've starting using it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Opens too easily

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ventura, ca
My ever hungry chubby cat popped this open in about 15 seconds. Won't work for cats on a diet!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not great

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
This did not work for long, and did not work well. I will need to invest in a more expensive model.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Glendale, CA
I am trying to cut back the amount of food my cats eat (to lose a little weight) and being able to separate it into two feedings is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe 2 Meal Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My cats outsmarted this product!

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Washington, DC
My hungry cat was able to figure out how to pop open the container....don't bother with this product! We ended up having to purchase a different feeder that is more sturdy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>