petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar

PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar

Automatically deters annoying barking with static correctionEasy-to-use electronic bark collar - no manual settings 10 levels of light-touch correctionNot to be confused with a shock collar -- this collar uses gradual static correctionWaterproof and durableTwo-color LED for good/low batteryModel: PBC00-12726
Average Customer Rating:
3.716 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
17
49 out of 74(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Review 1 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Thing Ever!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
After just a couple of days, the collar corrected my yorkie's high pitched hysterical barking. He no longer goes crazy when he sees the gardener or other dogs. So great to be able to walk him without being publicly humiliated. Initially I just let him watch other dogs from a distance. Over a couple of weeks, I let him walk a little closer to other dogs. He now walks right up to other dogs without making a peep and softly growls at the gardener.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product worked great!

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
This product has great features. After only 2 weeks my 2 year old Lhasa Apso stopped her incessant barking. My neighbors are thrilled!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Worth the $$$

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
My fiancé and I have two dogs: a 12 lb., 4 year old Havanese and an 8 lb., 9 month old Chihuahua/Rat Terrier/Jack Russell rescue mix. The Havanese was the main barking problem (anytime we left, took out the trash, made a noise that could sound like knocking, you name it) and would get our mix excited to bark as well. I tried a traditional shock collar a few years ago on the Havanese, but he became so upset after one use that I never wanted to use it again. In fact, I refused to try any other kind of bark correction collar after that experience. However, we live in an apartment with thin walls and our dogs' barking put us on 30 days lease probation. We hired a trainer and used bitter apple spray to deter the barking, but it wasn't foolproof, especially when they would run out of range and keep barking. After reading the reviews, we decided to give this collar a try. It is truly the best money we have spent on our dogs. Although my Havanese yelped the first couple of corrections, it was mostly because he didn't know what it was. Now if he receives a correction he shakes his head in annoyance and quiets down very quickly. Since using the collar, the difference is night and day - none of his former triggers cause him to bark. He is much more mellow when it comes to sounds and is still his normal, perky, loving self (although he tried to play the "pathetic" card for the first day of use). We still had some trouble with our rescue mix barking when we left the apartment, so we bought him a collar as well. Like the Havanese, he yelped the first few corrections but quickly learned what caused the sensation and adjusted his behavior. Two main features set this collar apart and make it worth the money:
1. Static correction vs. traditional shock collar - after trying a traditional collar I vowed to never use one again. The static correction is more gentle, especially for sensitive dogs like mine.
2. 10 different levels of correction - the collar is not so harsh on the first bark and will adjust the correction based on the amount of consecutive barking. For our dogs, it usually didn't take more than 2 corrections to get the point across, but either way we know that the collar is using the minimum correction possible to get the desired result.
The only thing I would say negatively about the collar is that the fit can be a little tricky, but this is true of any bark correction collar. You have to make sure the fit is snug but not suffocating. Also, if the collar is not placed directly over the voice box, the bark might not register and the correction won't be administered. You might have to play around a little bit with the fit, but once you get it down, this is an excellent collar. Highly recommended!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

petsafe elite little dog bark collar

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
not all that excited about doesnt seem to do much to curb the barking, thinking my money wouldve been much better spent on something else. rather disappointed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lancaster, Pa
We just moved into an apartment. I had to make the collar as small as possible to fit my terrier, but found it worked immediately.. So far, we have heard only two barks, one each of two times. One was followed by one yelp, the other by silence.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Does Its Job

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
I have a miniature dachshund who thinks she's a "big, bad watch dog," so she barks alllll the time. And I have to say that I was so reluctant to get a bark collar. I tried a million other methods and nothing worked, so I finally gave in and bought one. This collar definitely stopped the barking! The first time she barked with the collar on was really hard to watch. She just really did not understand. But after she barked a couple times, she soon calmed down. Now she knows that when the collar is on, she needs to be quiet. I still am not a fan of the concept of bark collars....but this collar does its job, and has really taught my girl the difference between "watch dog time" and quiet time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life-saver!t

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from minneapolis, MN
Our puppy started to bark at strangers around 5 months. It got so bad that we couldn't take our puppy for a walk without him making a scene. We tried for months going to dog training classes for dogs who are fearful/aggressive with people and he was not getting any better. We decided to get the bark control collar and the first night we used it, we could have a stranger come into our home. It was a miracle! He has now had the collar for 3 months and he is doing awesome! He is even friendly with strangers and will let them pet him. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Petsafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vacaville, CA
I was sad when I first put the collar on my dog because she didn't understand at first and it scared her so bad. But once she learned that she couldn't bark, she stopped. We have roommates and I have to kennel her when I leave the house so she howls until I come home. The first 20 minutes were the hardest because it shocked her pretty good, but like the manual says they really do learn. I wouldn't leave this on her a lot, only when I run errands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from charleston, sc
Bought this product for adopted 1-year-old dachshund/corgi mix.
first time trying to crate train a dog. We live in a condo, otherwise I wouldn't even mind the barking. We leave him in crate for about four hours, then I come home to walk him then another four hours in crate til i'm home again for the night. We only use collar when we are not home with him,
With this collar, he barked/screeched a few times at first but stopped quickly. It's been about three days of using it that way and he hasn't tried to bark again since.
Also, he doesn't seem scared of me or of the collar...just still isn't a fan on the crate though!
Very happy with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Missouri City, TX
Perfect for our two tiny Maltese! This has reduced the barking to a minimum. It doesn't stop the barking, but minimizes it to one or two barks at most. The correction mechanism works as advertised and I love that the corrections are graduated based on the level that the dog responds to. Also of note, our dogs tends to "huff" and/or growl more now which, if anything, is cute. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I purchased this collar for our little dog who is a constant barker. Put the collar on, she barked once and it immediately worked. I would recommend this collar to anyone who has a dog that is a persistent barker. It's nice to have her outside now and not have to worry about our neighbors being disturbed by her barking. Very easy to use and not huge like some collars. It will work great both indoors and outdoors!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK collar

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hibbing, MN
We've had this collar for about a week. We have a 1 year old very barky corgi with thick fur around his neck. The only way that this collar really seems to work is if we put it on VERY snug, much tighter than a normal collar. It would be nice if it had longer probs that could be changed out for dogs with thicker fur.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS MIRACLES

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Holly Hill, FL
We got a 2 yr. old rescue American Eskimo on Jan. 10, 2014. We could hardly stand his nuisance barking. He barked at everything and at nothing constantly in the daytime. We got this collar and really didn't expect it to work. A lot of reviews were negative but we had it on him the first evening for 5 hours and the next morning we put it on him for about 2 hours and that's the last we've had to use it. We may still have to use it at other times and in other situations as he gets used to us and our life here but it was an excellent investment. I would and have recommended it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a difference

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Dakota
We have tried multiple collars for our dogs, and this has worked the best. It has nearly eliminated the barking for both of our dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Well Kept Secret

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boise, ID
My name is Jessica and I am a Min-Pinaholic. I love my six pound terror through and through...except her barking. All day, all night, uncontrollable. Just under five days of having purchased this device my Petite Miniature Pinscher has been quiet and controllable. With this collar and vocal commands ("no barking" or "hush" are effective for us, a command that doesn't sound like regular speak seems to work) our older and more obstinate blue heeler is following suit without having the collar on. They have both learned that no barking at inappropriate times reaps great treat benefits! :) I highly recommend this collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best money I ever spent!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ontario, Canada
I was very hesitant and quite honestly guilt ridden about buying bark collars but I was out of options. I had tried everything to have my 2 mini daschunds not act like complete lunatics when they encountered a big dog. I had booked a couple of weeks camping at a local State Park and was stressing about taking them and not being able to bring them out of the RV. I purchased the collars and tested them for about a week before leaving. It took some trial and error before I got the size right so that they would be affected by it but once we got it and I reset the mechanism to 0 life became a dream! They are darling angels with these collars on and were the best dogs in the entire Park during our time camping! I'm so happy with these and would highly recommend. I'm going to try wearing them around the house but not turned on and see how that works. I know that my female doesn't let the collar go above the warning but the male tries to bark once but not again. I love the fact that they are escalating strength.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome product

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from buffalo ny
I was very hesitant about getting a bark collard, but knew that I had to do something. I have a 11 pound, chihuahua/yorkie mix. I was always hesitant having to walk her because I knew that if another dog came by, she would just lose it by barking so ob-noxiously, that I would have to scurry another way. I hated it!! long story short, I bought this collar, and I don't regret it...one bit. I can now walk her and she just walks up to the other dogs, without barking at all. It really is amazing to see this completely transformed dog. You will not be disappointed with this purchase. Buy it now and enjoy your walks again!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good...

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
I've only had this product for a few weeks and have tried it for a few hours. So far it seems to do the job. I have two 10-12 lb. mini Dachshunds and the collar fits pretty well on both. When the barking started, it seemed like there was a gentle correction and as the dog continued, it escalated until the dog stopped. The dog was surprised but it didn't appear that the collar was causing any pain. This seems to be one of the few bark collars targeted at small dogs, so I highly recommend it for that reason. The collar is nylon, about 1/2" and adjustable. The control unit can tend to slide around if the dog paws at it but it still appears to work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

no effect on barking

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from seattle
I have a fluffy Bichon. With the collor tight, still no effect on barking. Paying extra doesn't translate into an effective device. I got a cheap bark arrestor and it works great.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This collar is miraculous!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Flemington, NJ
We have a 10 lb Bichon Poo (Mochi) who is absolutely adorable and friendly. However, he had a barking problem when it came to passing trucks, the vacuum cleaner, and separation anxiety when my son or husband left in the morning. His bark was loud, shrill, and relentless. I asked my vet what she would recommend, and we went through a battery of unsuccessful behavior modification attempts. She finally recommended a static bark collar like the PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar. We were reluctant, because we thought the collar might hurt such a small dog, but the problem got worse and worse and so we decided to try it out.
Let me first say that it worked from the moment we put it on Mochi. He barked twice, and after the second bark reacted as though a bug had hit him in the chest. He was instantly distracted, looking for the insect. It broke the cycle of barking immediately (usually lasts 30 minutes or so.) Over the next two weeks he would bark once or twice, receive the correction, and stop barking. He gradually learned that he could signal us with low barks or grumbles, and we positively rewarded him for this behavior.
He’s used it now for two weeks. We have found that we can turn it off during the day now, and only have to turn it on when there might be a big temptation to bark, like when vacuuming.
I want to stress that he does not react in any sort of pain to the correction, but more of a distracted response. I would recommend this to anyone who is having a barking issue with their dog. It worked miracles for us, and Mochi seems more calm and relaxed now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>