petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar

PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar

Automatically deters annoying barking with static correctionEasy-to-use electronic bark collar - no manual settings 10 levels of light-touch correctionNot to be confused with a shock collar -- this collar uses gradual static correctionWaterproof and durableTwo-color LED for good/low batteryModel: PBC00-12726
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
16
39 out of 63(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Review 1 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK collar

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
bborndal
from Hibbing, MN
We've had this collar for about a week. We have a 1 year old very barky corgi with thick fur around his neck. The only way that this collar really seems to work is if we put it on VERY snug, much tighter than a normal collar. It would be nice if it had longer probs that could be changed out for dogs with thicker fur.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS MIRACLES

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
EskieRuth
from Holly Hill, FL
We got a 2 yr. old rescue American Eskimo on Jan. 10, 2014. We could hardly stand his nuisance barking. He barked at everything and at nothing constantly in the daytime. We got this collar and really didn't expect it to work. A lot of reviews were negative but we had it on him the first evening for 5 hours and the next morning we put it on him for about 2 hours and that's the last we've had to use it. We may still have to use it at other times and in other situations as he gets used to us and our life here but it was an excellent investment. I would and have recommended it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a difference

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
staceyc03
from North Dakota
We have tried multiple collars for our dogs, and this has worked the best. It has nearly eliminated the barking for both of our dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Well Kept Secret

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
BernicesMom
from Boise, ID
My name is Jessica and I am a Min-Pinaholic. I love my six pound terror through and through...except her barking. All day, all night, uncontrollable. Just under five days of having purchased this device my Petite Miniature Pinscher has been quiet and controllable. With this collar and vocal commands ("no barking" or "hush" are effective for us, a command that doesn't sound like regular speak seems to work) our older and more obstinate blue heeler is following suit without having the collar on. They have both learned that no barking at inappropriate times reaps great treat benefits! :) I highly recommend this collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best money I ever spent!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maim
from Ontario, Canada
I was very hesitant and quite honestly guilt ridden about buying bark collars but I was out of options. I had tried everything to have my 2 mini daschunds not act like complete lunatics when they encountered a big dog. I had booked a couple of weeks camping at a local State Park and was stressing about taking them and not being able to bring them out of the RV. I purchased the collars and tested them for about a week before leaving. It took some trial and error before I got the size right so that they would be affected by it but once we got it and I reset the mechanism to 0 life became a dream! They are darling angels with these collars on and were the best dogs in the entire Park during our time camping! I'm so happy with these and would highly recommend. I'm going to try wearing them around the house but not turned on and see how that works. I know that my female doesn't let the collar go above the warning but the male tries to bark once but not again. I love the fact that they are escalating strength.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome product

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
dagcgls
from buffalo ny
I was very hesitant about getting a bark collard, but knew that I had to do something. I have a 11 pound, chihuahua/yorkie mix. I was always hesitant having to walk her because I knew that if another dog came by, she would just lose it by barking so ob-noxiously, that I would have to scurry another way. I hated it!! long story short, I bought this collar, and I don't regret it...one bit. I can now walk her and she just walks up to the other dogs, without barking at all. It really is amazing to see this completely transformed dog. You will not be disappointed with this purchase. Buy it now and enjoy your walks again!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good...

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
qrick
I've only had this product for a few weeks and have tried it for a few hours. So far it seems to do the job. I have two 10-12 lb. mini Dachshunds and the collar fits pretty well on both. When the barking started, it seemed like there was a gentle correction and as the dog continued, it escalated until the dog stopped. The dog was surprised but it didn't appear that the collar was causing any pain. This seems to be one of the few bark collars targeted at small dogs, so I highly recommend it for that reason. The collar is nylon, about 1/2" and adjustable. The control unit can tend to slide around if the dog paws at it but it still appears to work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

no effect on barking

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from seattle
I have a fluffy Bichon. With the collor tight, still no effect on barking. Paying extra doesn't translate into an effective device. I got a cheap bark arrestor and it works great.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This collar is miraculous!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
BichPooMom
from Flemington, NJ
We have a 10 lb Bichon Poo (Mochi) who is absolutely adorable and friendly. However, he had a barking problem when it came to passing trucks, the vacuum cleaner, and separation anxiety when my son or husband left in the morning. His bark was loud, shrill, and relentless. I asked my vet what she would recommend, and we went through a battery of unsuccessful behavior modification attempts. She finally recommended a static bark collar like the PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar. We were reluctant, because we thought the collar might hurt such a small dog, but the problem got worse and worse and so we decided to try it out.
Let me first say that it worked from the moment we put it on Mochi. He barked twice, and after the second bark reacted as though a bug had hit him in the chest. He was instantly distracted, looking for the insect. It broke the cycle of barking immediately (usually lasts 30 minutes or so.) Over the next two weeks he would bark once or twice, receive the correction, and stop barking. He gradually learned that he could signal us with low barks or grumbles, and we positively rewarded him for this behavior.
He’s used it now for two weeks. We have found that we can turn it off during the day now, and only have to turn it on when there might be a big temptation to bark, like when vacuuming.
I want to stress that he does not react in any sort of pain to the correction, but more of a distracted response. I would recommend this to anyone who is having a barking issue with their dog. It worked miracles for us, and Mochi seems more calm and relaxed now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It is very inconsistent

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shanny1
from boise id
The collar works great when it sprays, but that only seems to happen occasionally. My dog could bark for several minutes sometimes before the collar would finally do a correction. When it sprayed, he would stop barking, at least that time, but there was no consistency to when it would correct, so it definitely didn't solve our barking problem.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-30points
1of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It does the job

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
RegCustomer
from NY
I bought the collar in October 2012 and I absolutely love it. Even though it does not completely eliminate the barking, it changes how they bark now. For instance, instead of a full out bark, my dog will do a weird little bark. I no longer have a headache trying to deal with her nonstop barking b/c the collar does what it's supposed to do and stop her after the first few barks (more or less).
The static increases the more they bark until they completely stop. Then it goes back to level 1.
I must warn you though (and the instruction says this too): some dogs will just react by yelping the first time. It surprised my dog so much that she yelped a few times, but after that, she stopped.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for Miniature Dachshunds - PBC00-12726

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
DoxieLover2
from Iowa
I have two miniature dachshunds, one 12 pounds and the other 14 pounds, and the collar works great. I didn't know how it would fit on their necks since they are little but it fits tight and the collar could even go tighter (I have the one with the nylon collar - PBC00-12726). The actual square bark mechanism is approximately 2" left to right and 1" top to bottom (possibly a bit smaller). I make sure I put the same collar on the same dog. Most times I will take the collar off when they are in the house but if they are wearing them inside they don't seem to mind it, they eat, nap and play with it on.
I have the collar lose enough where I can get my fingers in-between the collar and their throats but the 2 prongs are touching their throats. The first time my 14-lb long haired was shocked - she kind of jumped but then proceeded to be fine. My short-haired 12-lb. yipped the first time and took a bit longer to get used to. By the second time however of being shocked they were used to it. They can growl with it on and make these weird happy noises and not get shocked. It did, however, stop the constant barking when outside. When I put it on them they know not to bark.
The shock starts at 1 and goes up to 10. My friend and I tried it out by holding it to our throats and barking (I know this sounds crazy but I wanted to see what it felt like before putting it on my dachshund). It gave a pretty good shock but we barked really loud and it was right next to skin (not fur).
The first battery we got with the collar, we used a screw driver to turn it off when it was not on my dog. But, it is easy to mess up the grove where you turn the battery on/off. Because we turned it off when not in use the battery lasted about 4/5 months. This time I am leaving the battery on all the time and I will see how long it lasts. It has only been 3 weeks but I'm keeping track. I go to Petco and purchase the battery but it can be ordered on-line.
Overall, I think this is a great collar for little dogs. So far they are smart enough to know not to bark when it is on them but they can still growl and make their happy play noises so I feel they can still express themselves.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!!!!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
DoxieLover22
from New York
I have 3 mini dachshunds. One of them (8lb) used to love to go outside and sing to the neighborhood! Once I put this on her the singing stopped and my neighbors are loving me. I have had it on her about a month and the battery light is still blinking green, but as I said she stopped barking as soon as it was put on her. Now that she's not barking I realize my other guy barks a bit to much. He's next!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's peaceful around here!

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
ShilohsMommy
Almost instantly the bark collar controlled my dachshunds barking. He thinks he is the protector of the world and would bark incestantly with a high pitched bark. Now...he just runs around excited but comes back in the house with a look on his face....like to say...please, can I.
Best purchase I have made from Petco
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wow! Sleep here I come!!

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
MinniemouSh
from San Diego
My new puppy of 12 weeks is adorable. That is until 5 in the morning when he wants to wander the house and play even when he is not fully litter box trained. When i leave him in his Room He barks. When I put him In the crate he barks. My bf was at his wits end. We tried Rocks in a can, spraying water to No avail. being impatient my bf probably reenforced the barking by picking the fella up.
He's a tiny Pom mix that won't get any bigger than 5 lbs. The collar was still way too big for his neck but with a little improv it was snug. Yap yap yap no more. Within 20 minutes he got the point after a little frenzy of confusion. I cannot wait to get more than 2 hours of sleep tonight. He can finally learn to stay in his room at night near his toilet and food and not bother mommy at 5 in the morning with his loud monstrous barking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-12points
9of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
muddness
from colorado springs, co
i have a red heeler (austrailian cattle dog) who would bark constantly and super high pitched. it was so annoying i swear that even my other dog who never barks unless its needed to let us know strangers are around was getting annoyed too. it worked instantly. i like that it starts of with a low static (which still means shock) and if the barking continues then it gets harsher so the punishment matches the crime so to speak. however, my dog went from constant bark bark bark! to almost instantly quiet. we have only heard a much more quiet bark once in a while. no more annoying loud high pitch, and crazy barking fits for no reason. also i purchased the medium size and its so small and lightweight. i had my doubts it would do its job. but its awesome! i have seen others which are four times as large and other owners say they dont stop incessant barkers. so glad this worked and again is so small and lightweight. my mom when she saw my dog didnt even notice he had a bark collar on him. she complimented me on my dog training! he he. very pricey, but so far worth the money if it holds up. i have only had it less than a week. however, my petco store is so good about returns and exchanges i am not worried if it goes out within a short amount of time. i honestly would exchange it for another one before i would give up on this product completely it works so well. my petco store works with it customers really well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jumpbackjack
from Bakersfield, Ca.
I bought this for my Border colilie who doesn't bark a lot, but when she does it's a high pitch annoying bark, usually at 5:00 am. I put it on and adjusted it to the manufactures specs, she barked a few times but learned really quick not to, been working ever since. Thanks PetSafe.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

huge disapointment

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
motherofleo
from sag harbor, ny
ithis is my first review of anything and i'm sorry it has to be such a negative one but: i purchased this collar along with an extra battery and when i turned it on, it blinked green for about 5 minutes before dying completely. i put in the second battery which didn't work at all. I called Innotek, who were very compliant and sent me a new collar, which also doesn't work. Either this collar suddenly has a major manufacturing defect or Innotek is shipping them with defective batteries. Either way I am left with two useless devices and one very smug yorkshire terrier.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
6of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good!

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenkat857
from Northwest IN
So far this collar works well. I have a stubborn coonhound though and she barked thru the static zap just the other day for the 1st time. I could tell that it shut off as the description states, but then it had to be reset by shutting it off for a bit then back on. It still has quieted her nonstop barking "at the air" a lot (easily 90%). We only need to use it on her outside in afternoon, but the battery has held up great so far (one reason we chose this one).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peace and Quiet! Are neighbors are also happy :)

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
schizo
from NYC
Not a believer in shock collars, and wanting to train our dog we had put off purchasing this collar. We tried working with him, ultrasonic corrections, and a vibration collar. Nothing began to work.
Put this collar on. He barked twice and got a small shock. Bark, bark, beek! was all I heard. He may have been shocked one other time in the 3 weeks we have used it.
As a small terrier (15 lbs) he was annoying. Barked at anything that moved. Squirrels, turkeys, leaves, cars, trucks, people. Constantly, all day he barked.
Now he spends all day outside. Doesn't even bother most of the time if one of his old stimulants goes by. He sits and watches. No running, no pacing, and best of all no barking!.
The only negative I have (so far) is that the collar slips on his neck, and we have it quite tight, so that the prongs are not always where they need to be to pick up the vibrations.
Batteries are cheaper elsewhere on line, but after 3 weeks we have not had to replace one. Just bought a back up in case.
Just gooogle rfa-188
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>