petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar

PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar

Automatically deters annoying barking with static correctionEasy-to-use electronic bark collar - no manual settings 10 levels of light-touch correctionNot to be confused with a shock collar -- this collar uses gradual static correctionWaterproof and durableLow-battery indicator and LED indicator when a static correction is being deliveredModel: PBC00-12726
Average Customer Rating:
3.731 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
18
52 out of 78(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Review 1 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The verdict is still out

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
I had purchased one of these for one of my cockers and it does work great to control his barking. I can now put it on him and not even turn it on. It only took a couple of times of single barks for him to get it.
I purchased this second collar for his brother. I need to have them both wear their collar to get them to be trained not to bark when the doorbell rings. I have yet to try the collar on my second cocker so I do not know if it is going to work. I definitely would recommend this as something to give a try. If it works to stop the barking when the doorbell rings, it will be a miracle product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just a littel frustrated this isnt working

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bear DE
I have a little toy labradoodle that is 8lbs and just doesnt shut up. I put this collar on it and it still does not prevent her from barking. I am not sure what to do at this point?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great on my non-stop barkers

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
I purchased 2 of these (1 for my standard dachshund & 1 for my min-pin). They bark at everything and do not stop; even when we are here. I had tried other products such as the one that emits sound with no luck. So with great hesitation I purchased this one because of the good reviews. The non-stop barking has stopped. Both dogs have learned real fast that a bark is ok but the non-stop barking is not. I put the collars on in the morning and sometimes I don not even turn them on as they have learned what the collar mean. I do take them off when i come home from work. Highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
I bought 2 of these collars for my Yorkie/Rat terrier mixes... brother and sister. Their barking had taken over our household. We tried treat training, ultra sonic unit, yelling....nothing would tame these two. Within a few hours of receiving the collars, they each understood what was going on. 2 shocks to each and they are completely different. No more running around the house, barking at every little noise. No more chasing every person, dog, car that went by. They both still maintain their spunky, sweet personalities, just quieter! I would highly recommend this product, especially if you are at the end of your rope with the barking. I'm really happy with the results.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Thing Ever!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
After just a couple of days, the collar corrected my yorkie's high pitched hysterical barking. He no longer goes crazy when he sees the gardener or other dogs. So great to be able to walk him without being publicly humiliated. Initially I just let him watch other dogs from a distance. Over a couple of weeks, I let him walk a little closer to other dogs. He now walks right up to other dogs without making a peep and softly growls at the gardener.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product worked great!

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
This product has great features. After only 2 weeks my 2 year old Lhasa Apso stopped her incessant barking. My neighbors are thrilled!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Worth the $$$

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
My fiancé and I have two dogs: a 12 lb., 4 year old Havanese and an 8 lb., 9 month old Chihuahua/Rat Terrier/Jack Russell rescue mix. The Havanese was the main barking problem (anytime we left, took out the trash, made a noise that could sound like knocking, you name it) and would get our mix excited to bark as well. I tried a traditional shock collar a few years ago on the Havanese, but he became so upset after one use that I never wanted to use it again. In fact, I refused to try any other kind of bark correction collar after that experience. However, we live in an apartment with thin walls and our dogs' barking put us on 30 days lease probation. We hired a trainer and used bitter apple spray to deter the barking, but it wasn't foolproof, especially when they would run out of range and keep barking. After reading the reviews, we decided to give this collar a try. It is truly the best money we have spent on our dogs. Although my Havanese yelped the first couple of corrections, it was mostly because he didn't know what it was. Now if he receives a correction he shakes his head in annoyance and quiets down very quickly. Since using the collar, the difference is night and day - none of his former triggers cause him to bark. He is much more mellow when it comes to sounds and is still his normal, perky, loving self (although he tried to play the "pathetic" card for the first day of use). We still had some trouble with our rescue mix barking when we left the apartment, so we bought him a collar as well. Like the Havanese, he yelped the first few corrections but quickly learned what caused the sensation and adjusted his behavior. Two main features set this collar apart and make it worth the money:
1. Static correction vs. traditional shock collar - after trying a traditional collar I vowed to never use one again. The static correction is more gentle, especially for sensitive dogs like mine.
2. 10 different levels of correction - the collar is not so harsh on the first bark and will adjust the correction based on the amount of consecutive barking. For our dogs, it usually didn't take more than 2 corrections to get the point across, but either way we know that the collar is using the minimum correction possible to get the desired result.
The only thing I would say negatively about the collar is that the fit can be a little tricky, but this is true of any bark correction collar. You have to make sure the fit is snug but not suffocating. Also, if the collar is not placed directly over the voice box, the bark might not register and the correction won't be administered. You might have to play around a little bit with the fit, but once you get it down, this is an excellent collar. Highly recommended!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

petsafe elite little dog bark collar

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
not all that excited about doesnt seem to do much to curb the barking, thinking my money wouldve been much better spent on something else. rather disappointed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lancaster, Pa
We just moved into an apartment. I had to make the collar as small as possible to fit my terrier, but found it worked immediately.. So far, we have heard only two barks, one each of two times. One was followed by one yelp, the other by silence.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Does Its Job

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
I have a miniature dachshund who thinks she's a "big, bad watch dog," so she barks alllll the time. And I have to say that I was so reluctant to get a bark collar. I tried a million other methods and nothing worked, so I finally gave in and bought one. This collar definitely stopped the barking! The first time she barked with the collar on was really hard to watch. She just really did not understand. But after she barked a couple times, she soon calmed down. Now she knows that when the collar is on, she needs to be quiet. I still am not a fan of the concept of bark collars....but this collar does its job, and has really taught my girl the difference between "watch dog time" and quiet time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life-saver!t

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from minneapolis, MN
Our puppy started to bark at strangers around 5 months. It got so bad that we couldn't take our puppy for a walk without him making a scene. We tried for months going to dog training classes for dogs who are fearful/aggressive with people and he was not getting any better. We decided to get the bark control collar and the first night we used it, we could have a stranger come into our home. It was a miracle! He has now had the collar for 3 months and he is doing awesome! He is even friendly with strangers and will let them pet him. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Petsafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vacaville, CA
I was sad when I first put the collar on my dog because she didn't understand at first and it scared her so bad. But once she learned that she couldn't bark, she stopped. We have roommates and I have to kennel her when I leave the house so she howls until I come home. The first 20 minutes were the hardest because it shocked her pretty good, but like the manual says they really do learn. I wouldn't leave this on her a lot, only when I run errands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from charleston, sc
Bought this product for adopted 1-year-old dachshund/corgi mix.
first time trying to crate train a dog. We live in a condo, otherwise I wouldn't even mind the barking. We leave him in crate for about four hours, then I come home to walk him then another four hours in crate til i'm home again for the night. We only use collar when we are not home with him,
With this collar, he barked/screeched a few times at first but stopped quickly. It's been about three days of using it that way and he hasn't tried to bark again since.
Also, he doesn't seem scared of me or of the collar...just still isn't a fan on the crate though!
Very happy with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Missouri City, TX
Perfect for our two tiny Maltese! This has reduced the barking to a minimum. It doesn't stop the barking, but minimizes it to one or two barks at most. The correction mechanism works as advertised and I love that the corrections are graduated based on the level that the dog responds to. Also of note, our dogs tends to "huff" and/or growl more now which, if anything, is cute. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I purchased this collar for our little dog who is a constant barker. Put the collar on, she barked once and it immediately worked. I would recommend this collar to anyone who has a dog that is a persistent barker. It's nice to have her outside now and not have to worry about our neighbors being disturbed by her barking. Very easy to use and not huge like some collars. It will work great both indoors and outdoors!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK collar

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hibbing, MN
We've had this collar for about a week. We have a 1 year old very barky corgi with thick fur around his neck. The only way that this collar really seems to work is if we put it on VERY snug, much tighter than a normal collar. It would be nice if it had longer probs that could be changed out for dogs with thicker fur.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS MIRACLES

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Holly Hill, FL
We got a 2 yr. old rescue American Eskimo on Jan. 10, 2014. We could hardly stand his nuisance barking. He barked at everything and at nothing constantly in the daytime. We got this collar and really didn't expect it to work. A lot of reviews were negative but we had it on him the first evening for 5 hours and the next morning we put it on him for about 2 hours and that's the last we've had to use it. We may still have to use it at other times and in other situations as he gets used to us and our life here but it was an excellent investment. I would and have recommended it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a difference

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Dakota
We have tried multiple collars for our dogs, and this has worked the best. It has nearly eliminated the barking for both of our dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Well Kept Secret

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boise, ID
My name is Jessica and I am a Min-Pinaholic. I love my six pound terror through and through...except her barking. All day, all night, uncontrollable. Just under five days of having purchased this device my Petite Miniature Pinscher has been quiet and controllable. With this collar and vocal commands ("no barking" or "hush" are effective for us, a command that doesn't sound like regular speak seems to work) our older and more obstinate blue heeler is following suit without having the collar on. They have both learned that no barking at inappropriate times reaps great treat benefits! :) I highly recommend this collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Elite Little Dog Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best money I ever spent!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ontario, Canada
I was very hesitant and quite honestly guilt ridden about buying bark collars but I was out of options. I had tried everything to have my 2 mini daschunds not act like complete lunatics when they encountered a big dog. I had booked a couple of weeks camping at a local State Park and was stressing about taking them and not being able to bring them out of the RV. I purchased the collars and tested them for about a week before leaving. It took some trial and error before I got the size right so that they would be affected by it but once we got it and I reset the mechanism to 0 life became a dream! They are darling angels with these collars on and were the best dogs in the entire Park during our time camping! I'm so happy with these and would highly recommend. I'm going to try wearing them around the house but not turned on and see how that works. I know that my female doesn't let the collar go above the warning but the male tries to bark once but not again. I love the fact that they are escalating strength.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
18of 21voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>