petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

Soft, comfy inflatable collar for injuries, rashes or post surgeryWill not mark or scrape furnitureDurable canvas jacket protects air bladder completely from scratches and bitesDoes not block your pet's visionMachine washable
Average Customer Rating:
3.534 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(221 Reviews) 221
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 221 reviews
5 stars
111
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
15
1 star
59
145 out of 221(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Review 1 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works, with Some Difficulty, for Cat

PostedFebruary 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
GreatKat
from Raleigh, NC
We have a cat which had two major surgeries, one of which was in the left hind leg area. We had to keep the cat from licking and chewing on the area, which is a natural response to a wound. So she was initially wearing an Elizabethan collar (see photo), which was this plastic funnel-like device. The cat could not walk without dragging the plastic down to the ground. She would not eat and would repeatedly walk backwards. Very pathetic.
Then, we called two Petcos for a ProCollar. Neither one of the stores said that they carried any for cats. I physically visited the store, and I found a small one in the dog section. I showed the cashier the Petco Internet price, and they matched it.
Now, you can see that the cat can reasonably walk around with the ProCollar, although her front paws hit the bottom part of the collar. She still cannot lick her wound (which is good), and she can reasonably eat. The ProCollar makes the cat look like she is ready to hit the beaches...
BTW, this is my second ProCollar. The first one had a leak and deflated after about two hours. I took it back to Petco, and after some explanation, I obtained a replacement.
I believe the ProCollar would be good for small dogs or cats. If you have an animal with long necks or bodies and the wound is in the back-hind area, I do not believe the ProCollar would be a good solution. I recommend you try it, and if it does not work, take it back to Petco for a full refund.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCollar works great

PostedMarch 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
gspmom
from Pittsburgh, PA
Just a few days before our German shorthaired pointer had emergency surgery for a bowel obstruction, our 7-year-old daughter pointed out the ProCollar in a pet catalog (because the dog looked funny wearing it). Little did we know at that point we'd be buying one a few days later. We were happy to find we could purchase it at a Petco store rather than wait to have it shipped from the catalog. So far the collar has worked great for her. We haven't had any problems with it deflating or coming off. The traditional E-collars drive her crazy, but she doesn't seem to care that this one is there. She can sleep more comfortably with this too. The ProCollar has prevented her from getting to her incision, which is on her abdomen. We noticed she hasn't tried to lick anywhere else either while she's wearing it. She's a very determined, persistent dog so if there was a way around it she would find it. Overall, so far it's doing it's job, plus she's comfortable wearing it... and our legs, walls and furniture aren't getting all scraped up from a traditional E-collar. It's durable and easy to wipe off. The price is slightly higher in the store than online, but it's worth the $25-30. She's been wearing it for almost a week and we have no complaints.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

buy one before you need one

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
di4golf
from Gilbert, AZ
This worked great. I was not sure after reading some reviews but Petco had a 90 day return policy so why not try it. My Old English Sheepdog puppy had laparoscopic surgery to have a gastropexy (stomach attached to ribcage to prevent bloat) & get spayed at same time. She had small incisions on her side and around her belly button. The vet wanted to give me a cone but they beat up your walls, aggravate your dog & are unsanitary after a couple days. We went home with a neck brace instead but she couldn't turn her head properly & was miserable. I went to Petco, after measuring her neck, & purchased the large ProCollar. We blew it up & put it on her. She didn't pitch a fit and within a few minutes, she had adjusted to it & figured out a comfortable way to rest with it on. She is the most active dog we have ever had & she really put this to the test! We only had to refresh the air in the tube once in 10 days! When it came off permanently yesterday, she wanted it back on. HOWEVER, on the negative side, if we wanted her not to reach her legs or private areas, this would not be the item to get unless you tried 2 of them at the same time (but then, some mobility would be lost). Like I said in the title, get one before you need it....it's cheaper online!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
JEMJEMJEM
from Bay Area, CA
While the rabbit may not be having the time of his life right now, I cannot recommend this product enough. My rabbit was neutered this afternoon and sent home looking completely miserable in an e-collar -- he couldn't eat, drink, groom, or sleep comfortably. Because rabbits can have extremely serious health issues if they don't eat on a regular basis, I knew I needed an alternative as quickly as possible. I ended up getting a ProCollar (x-small) for him within an hour of being home. Not only is it a million times easier to attach than an e-collar, he only seemed bothered for the first few minutes it was on. He's now able to do the things necessary to get him through the first few post-surgery days. For the record, many sources recommend e-collars or the like NOT be used on rabbits in order to avoid undue stress, especially when they're still freaked out from surgery / changes in environment. The vet was insistent that he wear something to keep him away from the incision for the first three days and I am concerned about the approach of a three-day weekend with limited emergency vet services. I'm monitoring him closely for any changes in eating or bathroom habits, as should any rabbit owner whose pet has undergone surgery or experienced stress.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT DEVICE IF YOU DO 2 THINGS!

PostedSeptember 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
MARYGREENTHUMB
I've read all the reviews about this product, and I've
come to the conclusion from putting it on my dog last
night that you can't generalize about whether it can
fit small or large dogs. You have to think "outside the
box." I have a large tall female doberman. When I
first put this device on, I, too, like several other
reviewers, thought it was not very secure and my
dog would have it off in no time. Then I thought about
what needed to be done to make it secure. I did 2
things which did the job. First I took some twine and
connected all the loops to serve as a good fitting collar to slide over my dog's head. Since the loops are a
little flimsey and too tight to insert a proper collar
or choke chain, I used twine instead. I then loosened
the velco adhesive tie and tightened it so there was
no space between the 2 halfs. I put my dog's choke-
chain separately under the device. Then, what a
difference! Nice secure fit. My dog had it on all night
and it did the job with no problem--no tongue or teeth reached my dog's stitches and bandaged areas on her front & back legs. It's like a pillow without the scary effects of the e-collar. Great device. Take the steps I took and you will not be disappointed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but has a major flaw

PostedApril 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
MrBigA
from Southern CA
The collar was perfect for my Wheaten Puppy (I got a Medium for a 14 lb dog). She was spayed and was given an e-collar. The e-collar was too big and made it difficult for her to move around and eat. I purchased this collar and it was great while it lasted, she was happy and could do every thing with minor restrictions. This collar would be perfect if they made a few minor changes. (1) the blow up valve is on the outside of the collar - you can see it in the picture. (2) the valve does not "push-in" and lock like a beach ball - it stays upright and is somewhat difficult to get the plug to stay in and (3) there is an zipper that allows you to access the air tube - This is where the plug should be. If the company used a better valve and hid it inside the zipper it would be perfect. I am to blame for this product failing. I took the collar off to walk my dog late at night. When we got inside, I inadvertantly put the collar on with the valve facing forward. She was able to chew the valve off making the collar useless after 3 days of use. This collar will stay on tightly as long as you thread your dog's collar through the inside loops. I bought an inexpensive clip on collar that was perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best available protective collar

PostedMarch 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
IheartDogs
from Los Angeles, CA
This is a much better option that the old dreadful “lampshade”. My dog didn’t mind at all when I put this on her after her abdominal surgery, and it seems like she doesn't even notice that she has had it on day and night for several days now. That means that she must be perfectly comfortable wearing it. (It reminds me of the travel pillow!) She can see and doesn’t run into the walls, she can eat and drink easily and without making a mess, she can fit through her crate door and other tight spaces… And most importantly, it seems to be doing a good job with keeping my big long-legged puppy from licking and biting herself.
I would definitely recommend this product. Just make sure to get the right size (for in-between, go for the larger one!) and weave the every-day collar through the loops of the protective collar tightly to make sure it stays on.
My only wish is that the manufacturer would add an "air-stop" - a little too much air gets out between blowing it and trying to get the cap on tightly, so you really have to blow as much air in as you possibly can. (I can imagine that someone with bad fingers may not be able to handle the closing of the cap the way it currently is at all...)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great idea...not the best quality

PostedFebruary 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Leyli
from Nashville, TN
I have a cat with a skin infection on his belly that we have been trying to clear up for months. He had learned to use the cone to scratch the spot on his belly, which was counterproductive. This product has some obvious advantages in the it's not sharp, he can reach his paws and tail so he feel like he's cleaning himself a little. He can get to food, water, and his people much more easily. His ears aren't getting as irritated from being enclosed and he generally seems much happier than in the cone.
Cons: Buy a couple of different sizes off the bat and take back the ones that don't work for your pet. The sizing is a bit tricky. The first day we left him alone with this I came home to find the seams split apart and the little tabs that go through the collar pulled out. Of course, he had licked all day so this meant we started over with healing. I turned the cover inside out and reinforced all of the seam stitching which seems to have done the trick. He has also popped it once, but we patched it with inflatables patches.
This is a great idea and I hope that others improve upon it or this company ups its quality some. Still much happier with this than with a cone. I recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Interesting idea but didn't work for us

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
MrMastiff
from Central North Carolina
My 100-pound, 2.5-year-old Cane Corso had surgery to repair a cranial cruciate ligament (that's an injury to the stifle or knee). He has a roughly 6" incision on his hind leg. I found this collar in the store and thought it was a great idea, particularly because the dog really hated the plastic E-collar provided by the vet. Now on day 3, I'm calling it a fail. The stitching tore out on two of the loops that retain a conventional dog collar to secure the collar to the dog's neck. I re-sewed those with heavy-duty materials, but the design is flawed to begin with irrespective of the manufacturing quality.
The only way to inflate the valve on the X-large collar is with an air compressor. Otherwise you may pass out. It's about like blowing up a trailer tire.
Bottom line, the dog can get at his incision while wearing this collar, which is the whole point of the product. I very much wanted it to work. For a collar of this type to work as intended on a large, flexible dog, the collar would probably have to be three feet in diameter. That would make it impossible for the dog to get through doors or into a crate.
I don't know what the solution is, but this is sadly not it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Godsend!!!!

PostedNovember 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
MacsMom
from San Francisco Bay Area, California
I have almost the same story as everyone else. Mac, my westie, had ligament surgery on his left rear leg. He got sent home with "the cone," which freaked him out! He was panicking and running into walls, yanking his head around and would NOT calm down. I was very afraid he was going to hurt himself and tear the staples out of his leg. After 'sleeping' with one eye open to make sure he didn't chew the staples out, I went online to look for the inflatable collar my friend told me about. THANK GOODNESS!!! Mac has a size medium, which just fits, which I think I lucked out on. I , too made a slight modification by adding velcro on the insides of the split, so they can get stuck together and I don't have to use a collar due to the snug fit because of Mac's size. No panicking, no running into walls, he's able to drink without flipping the bowl over, and he'll even sleep with it on. Yaay!!! Now I can sleep too! This thing saved what sanity I have left. BTW, he can almost reach the bottom of the incision, but only enough to get a little drool on it. In order for this to work for a rear foot, he would need a large size, and he's only 20 pounds, so size accordingly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lesser cone of shame

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
LittleBeauPeep
from somewhere up north
Was really excited when my research led to this product! Read through various reviews so was somewhat skeptical; but, decided to buy it anyway since I wanted to avoid the plastic cone if at all possible. Our puppy was neutered and gave the collar to the vet to put on before he came home. It made an inquisitive impression on the doctors and staff, as well as other clients in the waiting room. After 48 hours of use, I'm pleased with how well it serves its purpose. While it deters him from licking/biting, he is still able to get at the area somewhat/little bit, but not enough to cause injury. Now that he's more alert and active, he mouths the front of the cone, chewing on it - so far it's help up; but he does have a gentle bite. One of the biggest positives is how 'normal' his activity can be with this cone. He's not banging into or getting stuck on anything, can still 'kennel up', eats and drinks with ease, still plays with his toys; and he does not appear sad/depressed with this cone as opposed to previous experience with the plastic one. Very pleased I purchased this product - well worth the last minute 45 minute drive each way to get it!:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lifesaver

PostedJune 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
nichole95620
from Dixon, CA
the procollar made my life and my dog's life so much easier. Chloe had a dual surgery, and we were to keep an E-collar on her for 2+ weeks to avoid licking and infecting her wounds. The E-collar made her miserable, and my family miserable as well. She whined constantly, could not eat and drink on her own, and could not get comfortable. After 1 day, I was looking for other options. My vet recommended the procollar, I immediatly went to my petstore and bought 2. After reading mixed reviews, I feared 1 collar would not be thick enough to prevent her from reaching her wounds. Luckily, I have only had to use one. Chloe is so much more comfortable. She can eat and drink. She can rest on the collar like a pillow. She can bump into things without getting stuck. THe collar is very sturdy and comfortable. 2 weeks with this will be a breeze. If you try this item, and your dog can still reach wounds, I would recommend using 2. It is definately worth it, not to have to use the E-collar. I have had no problems with this item deflating, and my dog has not even attempted to remove it. This product is a lifesaver. Chloe and I are very happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tried it for my Kitten

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maxwell87
My kitty got spayed yesterday and I got a cone from the vet but she would not keep it on. Every time she gets the chance she licks. She even licks the cone trying to get to her incision. I saw the inflatible cone online and thought that looks much better so I rushed to petco to get it, but she got that right off as well :( I got the xs and it fits great for a kitten but she got it off not too long after I put it on.She also can reach if she squirms enough to her incision to lick, so it doesnt work :( It says you are supposed to use their collar but she is so tiny she doesnt have one and the kitty collars stretch anyway. So now i went back to the cone and tied the string behind her shoulders so she cant kick it off, but she can still reach her tattoo incision so I have to go to the vet to get a bigger cone tomorrow :( I sure hope I can sleep tonight! She kept me up all night last night trying to lick and get that cone off. And once she finally went to sleep my other cat meowed cuz i had to keep him out of my bedroom and had her with me!! I hope I get sleep tonight, I dont know what else to do!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best!

PostedJanuary 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
ducklady
from Annapolis, MD
My cat had to wear the Elizabethian collar for 3 weeks following surgery. She was so miserable, and couldn't eat, drink, walk without hitting a wall or bumping into anything. She was still able to get to some of her wounds, and we had a tough time preventing her from licking. She had to remain in a crate and I had to be home every few hours to take the collar off so she could have some freedom from the confines of that collar and the crate. I saw the ProCollar, and even though I thought it wouldn't work, I tried it on my cat after her second week of surgery. What a blessing! She could eat, drink, walk around the house, and sleep with her little head resting on the collar. She has not even tried to take it off, and she cannot get to any of her wounds. We can let her out of her crate and roam the house freely now, because I know she won't lick her wounds, won't take the collar off, and she can have a normal life until we can remove the collar. Wish our vet had told us about this product before the surgery! It would have made all of our lives a lot easier during this time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ProCollar does not work

PostedAugust 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Erin1
from Boulder, CO
I purchased the ProCollar last week for my dog who had just gotten stitches under his right hind leg after running through a barbed wire fence. He also had a drainage tube inserted by the emergency vet clinic which was to stay in for 3-5 days. My dog was not comfortable at all wearing the traditional e-collar so I purchased the ProCollar. I blew up the collar and put it around my dog's neck before going to bed the next night after getting stitches. In the middle of the night I woke up and found that he had somehow gotten his head around the ProCollar and pulled out the drainage tube from his leg. I had to make a call to the emergency vet clinic at 2:30 in the morning and scheduled a follow up appointment with my regular vet the next day. Luckily he didn't do too much damage, but I was extremely disappointed to find that this product did not work as promised. In theory it looks great -- a comfortable pillow-like barrier -- but does not deliver. It caused me several hours of lost sleep and extra vet appointment - not worth it. I immediately returned the product the next day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wanted this to work

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
BogeysHousemate
from No. California
Bogey is a 95 lb Great Pyr mix. The X-large fit on his collar, but, 2 problems. One - not a deal breaker, when the clamshell box was opened, the fabric covering the inflatable part smelled. Very much like insecticide. When I blew up the inflatable part, my lips/skin in contact tingled a bit. I also had to deflate several times since inflatable part had not been pushed to one end and it couldn't be adjusted when inflated. I wasn't thrilled but figured the smell would dissipate over time and it was clearly acceptable to the dog. He didn't panic, he could lie down and this collar gave him the visibility and lack of sharp edges so he didn't bang into unlike the plastic cone I got from the vet. The deal breaker was... it didn't work. Purpose was to keep him from licking his groin area due to a rash. Amazing what a hamburger test shows. He was not slowed in the slightest at getting the hamburger when placed an inch from the rash. I'll try something else. I did want this to work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for a standard poodle

PostedJanuary 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
poodlesrus
With the pro-collar inflated, and a regular dog collar attached, my guy had NO difficulty reaching eight inches of stitching crossways on his butt immediately above his tail. Sigh.
Plus the quality was terrible. When I tried to use the tab on the stopper to remove it in order to inflate the collar the tab tore off. Needle nose pliers got the stopper out. And then the flapper valve on the inside of the filler tube was stuck to itself so I had to use a meat skewer to push through the bottom so the collar could be inflated. And this is not the only instance of low quality with this collar -- the cashier noticed that the one left at the checkout for me (I called ahead) was labelled as defective !! At least the staff is high quality.
IMHO all the e-collars on the market have various (and serious) problems (I have four e-collars as a consequence of this surgery) . . . This collar seems to work for some breeds. But standard poodles have a long nose and long neck.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Maybe works for other dogs but NOT my Boxer

PostedJune 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ceej15
from Orange County, CA
I bought this item because I felt so bad for my dog who was sent home after being neutered with a huge E-Collar. He was constantly bumping into walls, doors, ME- it was noisy and he would wake me up in the middle of the night to let me know how miserable he was. Then, after one day of having this thing on, he figured out how to get it off and chewed his E-Collar to bits! It was only $2.00 from the clinic I went to, so I went to Petco to get a replacement. I saw this ProCollar as a very comfortable and interesting alternative. My dog was comfortable indeed and didn't seem to mind this at all- however, I woke up in the middle of the night to him licking his wound! I couldn't believe it! This did NOTHING at all to protect his incision as he could easily reach it. I'm returning this today. Perhaps this works for other dogs who have surgery on their leg, neck, face, etc. But if you are getting your dog neutered this will do NOTHING to protect that wound!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
mudpuppy
Our 13 inch beagle had surgery and was wearing a cone shaped e-collar that use to belong to our 15 inch beagle. He had too much trouble with it so my husband cut it back a little only he cut it back to far. I noticed one day that he was able to reach an chew on some stitches on his hind leg. So, I bought another cone e-collar but also thought I check this one out. The cone one I gave up on right away because it was too hard to get all the hooks snapped together. Our old one was much easier. I tried the tube shaped collar and loved it. It was easy to use and no more noisy from the cone scraping on things - we have hardwood floors. Also with the cone sometimes he had trouble climbing the stairs - he's old and has some hind leg stiffness at times.
Now I don't know how it will work on our 15 inch beagle - the cone didn't keep her from reaching her back foot a few years ago. We'll see. So far, I'm extremely pleased with this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
hudson
I bought this for my 5 lb. yorkie puppy, prior to nutering him. I tried the xs on him, and it was too tight AND he pulled it right off with his paws! I exchanged it for a small and it was too big. Don't waste your money on this product. I then purchased the smallest plastic cone, that had black trim around the edge, which provides a little more comfort. It worked great and after a few minutes of not liking it, he got used to it and can sleep, play and eat and drink while wearing it. If you get a cone that's too large (long), they won't be able to get to their food or water, so I would suggest buying the smallest one, if you have a very small dog. I won't take it off and on as some people suggest, because the will make him mad when I put it back on. He's given in to the fact that it's staying on and he's making the best of it. I used masking tape to tape up the edge on the outside, so that it didn't get caught on anything.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>