petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

Soft, comfy inflatable collar for injuries, rashes or post surgeryWill not mark or scrape furnitureDurable canvas jacket protects air bladder completely from scratches and bitesDoes not block your pet's visionMachine washable
Average Customer Rating:
3.518 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(224 Reviews) 224
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 224 reviews
5 stars
112
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
15
1 star
61
146 out of 224(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Review 21 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Didn't work on our dog

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
This product seems well made and could be very good. However, my long necked chocolate lab could reach virtually everywhere on her body while wearing the collar. It wasn't bulky enough for her. It seems that your dog's body type will determine if this is a good product for you or not. And yes, we did get the appropriate size!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wish it had worked

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lutz, FL
Several people recommended this for my dog about to be neutered. It really was so comfortable for him to wear, he barely noticed. But, it also didn't prevent him from reaching his "private parts" and us waking up to a belly full of red spots from his licking all night. I had to rush to the store the next morning to find a traditional cone. How I hate those but vets use them for a reason - they work!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Where has this been all my life?

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from CT
My dog has had numerous surgeries in his life and the last one almost did both of us in! He became so obsessed with trying to get at the surgical site that he developed OCD. I know how ridiculous that sounds but it was true. The E. cone should be banned back to the Elizabethan days and replaced by this inflatable collar. It works great! My dog can sniff, drink, sleep, and heal. You can inflate or deflate it according to you needs.You need to be sure there is no leak in the tube as someone mentioned, but we had no problem. Patch it and you'd be good! I wish I'd thought of this thing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great at first

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
We got the extra small size for our kitten who had just been spayed. She hated the hard cone she had been sent home with as she wasn't able to eat, drink or use her litter box without a lot of mess and frustration. When she had this collar on, she seemed very pleased. She could interact with things more normally and though it had more give than the hard cone, she couldn't reach her incision while bathing herself. Several hours later I noticed she was licking the end of her incision because the collar had started to deflate. I kept re-inflating it but the air leaks out too quickly now and she was able to kick it off during the night (the collar it was attached to stayed in place but the inflatable one was bunched up in front of her chest like a bib). I think we may try the flexible fabric cone next but if that doesn't work we're stuck with the plastic one for the next 10 days.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Roswell, NM
Keep buying this collar (I have 7 poodles), although the plastic inner tube gets damaged easily. Can be very hard to inflate fully. Love the clothe fabric plastic tube comes with. Would like to see a stronger plastic material used, replaceable inner tubes offered, as well as patches to repair holes. Have tried other products but keep coming back to this one. Dogs have great visibility with collar. Consider buying a size larger as it provides better inaccessibility to area you are trying to keep dog from licking
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfy Collar

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Harrisburg, PA
I bought this because my cat has been obsessively chewing on her fur. She didn't have any issues when I first put it on and acts as if nothing is different. I can tell its working because her fur is starting to grow back!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a Relief!

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Troy, MI
This collar was a Godsend. After our lab was bitten or stung by something that caused a raging infection necessitating surgery, our pup had the classic Elizabethan collar, which quickly proved a nuisance. After many bruised shins and marred walls, and I'm sure a sore neck for the poor dog, we ordered this inflatable collar at the recommendation of the vet. Overnight shipped, it was on our dog the next day. What a relief to all of us!! The rest of doggy's recovery was easy thanks to this product that kept him from licking or biting his wounds, drains and sutures, and kept our legs and walls bruise free! The covering is washable and it folds back into its box after use for easy storage. A must for all dog owners! You won't be disappointed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

3 fails

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
Used product sold as new (disgusting as it requires inflating the collar by mouth) RETURNED
Replacement 1) Poor manufacture (zipper was split) RETURNED.
Replacement 2) Poor design (valve pops open with minimal pressure releasing air) RETURNED
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my shih-tzus recovery

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NJ
My shih tzu was spayed 2 weeks ago and the vet gave me one of the generic plastic cones and she got it off the next day. A neighbor suggested this collar and its perfect! She can still eat and see around her with it and she isn't trying to get it off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
Before I start I just want to say that I love the idea of this and it could really be beneficial with a design change.
BUT... my puppy that was just neutered can reach his stitches. That's what it was made to prevent and it doesn't. IF it had a design change that made the tire stick out further, not thicker, but a larger outer circle that is small enough at the throat for comfort, sort of fanned out, it would keep them from reaching where they're not supposed to reach. That said, it's comfortable for him and he doesn't get it off, however he scratches at it a lot.
I would really like it if it worked!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BAD PRODUCT!

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from IL
I have an american bulldog that keeps biting open his hind quarters. I got this product April 9th, 2013 and by April 20th, 2013 it is broken and he is bleeding again. The craftmanship of this product is garbage!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inflatable collar

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
This is the second one I've had and they work very well. I use several times a day on my escape artist. It has totally solved the problem of sliding thru or under our fence.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

buy one before you need one

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Gilbert, AZ
This worked great. I was not sure after reading some reviews but Petco had a 90 day return policy so why not try it. My Old English Sheepdog puppy had laparoscopic surgery to have a gastropexy (stomach attached to ribcage to prevent bloat) & get spayed at same time. She had small incisions on her side and around her belly button. The vet wanted to give me a cone but they beat up your walls, aggravate your dog & are unsanitary after a couple days. We went home with a neck brace instead but she couldn't turn her head properly & was miserable. I went to Petco, after measuring her neck, & purchased the large ProCollar. We blew it up & put it on her. She didn't pitch a fit and within a few minutes, she had adjusted to it & figured out a comfortable way to rest with it on. She is the most active dog we have ever had & she really put this to the test! We only had to refresh the air in the tube once in 10 days! When it came off permanently yesterday, she wanted it back on. HOWEVER, on the negative side, if we wanted her not to reach her legs or private areas, this would not be the item to get unless you tried 2 of them at the same time (but then, some mobility would be lost). Like I said in the title, get one before you need it....it's cheaper online!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Muskegon, MI
The only thing this ring did was annoy my cat. She was still able to bite her hot spot. It just made her more likely to do so because she was so angry at having it on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver!!

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sarasota, FL
My 1 year old Dachshund mix had his back dew claws removed. This collar is WONDERFUL! The vet tech recommended I try this when I picked the dog after surgery. I measured his neck - 14". Took him to our local Petco where a very helpful representative suggested we try the Medium (10"-13"). It fitted perfectly as the opening goes under the chin. He can eat, drink, sleep and move around with ease. I would highly recommend this collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Ft Myers, FLSo f
Bought this inflatable collar so that our dog would stop licking a raw spot on her hindquarters. Don't like the hard cones which she hates and are uncomfortable. Thought we'd try this and so far it's working great. She's adjusted to it very well, no complaints and has been able to eat and drink without any trouble. I think this will work great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Broken Arrow,ok
My 8 year old yorkie tore his ACL which required surgical repair. Surgery went well then came the trip home with the e-collar. He hated it. I researched and found the Pro collar. This product was a true blessing. He didn't mind it at all. And it worked perfectly for him. The first time I put it on him he was a little nervous, but within 10 minutes he was snoring!!!!! Never an issue with it losing air. Follow the directions carefully. Make sure you thread your dogs collar thru the pro collar and it should work great. Might not work for all breeds but it was great for my yorkie!!!.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LifeSaver

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati, OH
If you are having issues with the plastic 'cone of shame' that your vet put on your dog, you HAVE to buy this. My 5 month old Great Dane just got spayed and she absolutely hated the cone. She wouldn't eat, drink, go to the bathroom outside or even move with the cone on. I did some research and found the ProCollar and she doesn't even realize that it's on her (even better she can't reach her stitches). She'll eat, drink, sleep, etc. with the ProCollar. Please, do you and your dog a favor and buy this. Money well spent in my opinion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for our Wheaten Terrier

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Malibu, CA
Our 7 month old pup had a hot spot on his neck, which the vet cleaned off. The vet put on a cone, which drove our puppy crazy. Our son then loaned us a ProCollar, which our pup loved, and it worked. But in an hour or so, he figured out how to take it off, and destroyed it. I bought a new one. The directions tell you to use the dog's collar (inserted through the back of the ProCollar) as an integral part of the collar. With that done, Trumpet was very happy, and try as he might, he couldn't scratch the cleaned off area, or remove his collar. Great invention. By the way -- my wife put the collar in our pup's toy box last week, and he destroyed it again. Training time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST EVER!!

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
I hated seeing my cat in a cone. He could not use the litterbox or eat with it on. I purchased the ProCollar at Petco the next morning. IT IS THE GREATEST THING EVER INVENTED!! My cat is comfortable with it on. The best part is that he can eat and use the litter box, no problem!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>