petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

Soft, comfy inflatable collar for injuries, rashes or post surgeryWill not mark or scrape furnitureDurable canvas jacket protects air bladder completely from scratches and bitesDoes not block your pet's visionMachine washable
Average Customer Rating:
3.561 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(212 Reviews) 212
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 212 reviews
5 stars
109
4 stars
27
3 stars
7
2 stars
12
1 star
57
140 out of 212(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Review 21 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

buy one before you need one

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
di4golf
from Gilbert, AZ
This worked great. I was not sure after reading some reviews but Petco had a 90 day return policy so why not try it. My Old English Sheepdog puppy had laparoscopic surgery to have a gastropexy (stomach attached to ribcage to prevent bloat) & get spayed at same time. She had small incisions on her side and around her belly button. The vet wanted to give me a cone but they beat up your walls, aggravate your dog & are unsanitary after a couple days. We went home with a neck brace instead but she couldn't turn her head properly & was miserable. I went to Petco, after measuring her neck, & purchased the large ProCollar. We blew it up & put it on her. She didn't pitch a fit and within a few minutes, she had adjusted to it & figured out a comfortable way to rest with it on. She is the most active dog we have ever had & she really put this to the test! We only had to refresh the air in the tube once in 10 days! When it came off permanently yesterday, she wanted it back on. HOWEVER, on the negative side, if we wanted her not to reach her legs or private areas, this would not be the item to get unless you tried 2 of them at the same time (but then, some mobility would be lost). Like I said in the title, get one before you need it....it's cheaper online!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
iadiedee
from Muskegon, MI
The only thing this ring did was annoy my cat. She was still able to bite her hot spot. It just made her more likely to do so because she was so angry at having it on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver!!

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Minitwo4
from Sarasota, FL
My 1 year old Dachshund mix had his back dew claws removed. This collar is WONDERFUL! The vet tech recommended I try this when I picked the dog after surgery. I measured his neck - 14". Took him to our local Petco where a very helpful representative suggested we try the Medium (10"-13"). It fitted perfectly as the opening goes under the chin. He can eat, drink, sleep and move around with ease. I would highly recommend this collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
dreamjosie
from North Ft Myers, FLSo f
Bought this inflatable collar so that our dog would stop licking a raw spot on her hindquarters. Don't like the hard cones which she hates and are uncomfortable. Thought we'd try this and so far it's working great. She's adjusted to it very well, no complaints and has been able to eat and drink without any trouble. I think this will work great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Yorkie12
from Broken Arrow,ok
My 8 year old yorkie tore his ACL which required surgical repair. Surgery went well then came the trip home with the e-collar. He hated it. I researched and found the Pro collar. This product was a true blessing. He didn't mind it at all. And it worked perfectly for him. The first time I put it on him he was a little nervous, but within 10 minutes he was snoring!!!!! Never an issue with it losing air. Follow the directions carefully. Make sure you thread your dogs collar thru the pro collar and it should work great. Might not work for all breeds but it was great for my yorkie!!!.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LifeSaver

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
GreatDane3
from Cincinnati, OH
If you are having issues with the plastic 'cone of shame' that your vet put on your dog, you HAVE to buy this. My 5 month old Great Dane just got spayed and she absolutely hated the cone. She wouldn't eat, drink, go to the bathroom outside or even move with the cone on. I did some research and found the ProCollar and she doesn't even realize that it's on her (even better she can't reach her stitches). She'll eat, drink, sleep, etc. with the ProCollar. Please, do you and your dog a favor and buy this. Money well spent in my opinion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for our Wheaten Terrier

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rikiatthebeach
from Malibu, CA
Our 7 month old pup had a hot spot on his neck, which the vet cleaned off. The vet put on a cone, which drove our puppy crazy. Our son then loaned us a ProCollar, which our pup loved, and it worked. But in an hour or so, he figured out how to take it off, and destroyed it. I bought a new one. The directions tell you to use the dog's collar (inserted through the back of the ProCollar) as an integral part of the collar. With that done, Trumpet was very happy, and try as he might, he couldn't scratch the cleaned off area, or remove his collar. Great invention. By the way -- my wife put the collar in our pup's toy box last week, and he destroyed it again. Training time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST EVER!!

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kana
from Nebraska
I hated seeing my cat in a cone. He could not use the litterbox or eat with it on. I purchased the ProCollar at Petco the next morning. IT IS THE GREATEST THING EVER INVENTED!! My cat is comfortable with it on. The best part is that he can eat and use the litter box, no problem!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE this collar!

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
WorriedShepherdMom
from Juneau, AK
My poor dog received 2nd and 3rd degree burns over one side of his body after pulling a crab cooker onto himself so the collar is going to be a part of his life for a LONG time. We started with the plastic one and all I heard was "crash", "bang", "scrape". A friend recommended this product and I'm so glad she did! My dog is much happier!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Puppy

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Texansailor
from Arlington, TX
Puppy was neutered yesterday and he hates his e-collar. He would just stand in the same place for hours with it on. I bought the clear plastic one so he could see and wasn't a fan of that either. He actually moves around with the Pro-collar on. This has helped to reduce his stress and he still can't get to the stitches.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

procollar inflatable

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Born
from omaha ne
This collar is wonderful ! So much more comftorable than the standard white shields. Dog can lay comftorably and sleep with it on as if it is a pillow.I would highly recommend this if your dog has had stiches and needs to protect any wounds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny!

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
jojo975
from PA
I did not want to add insult to injury after my chihuahua was spayed by using the "cruel" elizabethan collar. After searching the internet I found the procollar. Thank you, thank you, thank you. What a lifesaver. My dog didnt seem to mind it and it stopped her for licking her stitches. I would of paid three times what I did for this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great alternative for small dogs and puppies

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
DSTPMN
from Saint Paul, MN
This works very well on my Cavalier and would be good on other smaller proportion dogs as it is air-filled and light weight. Dogs with long necks and snouts (ie Afghan, Doberman) this would not work well.
This collar prevents chewing of most areas. The abdominal and groin injuries/surgeries are protected and protects the face/ears from being scratched, however front paws may be able to reach nose depending on nose and leg length. This does not protect oral access to the hind legs and thighs.
Our dog was able to remove it the first time; however, I did not have it tight enough, and it was not fully inflated as I was afraid of strangling him. But, with it fully inflated and as tight as I could get it, he is just fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not boxer-proof

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Howe2knit
from Pittsburight
My dog managed to get this (even when well fitted) off in about 4 minutes. I should have gone with a traditional cone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Collar

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
WinstonWinston
from Tempe, AZ
Our cat had surgery on his tummy and has quite a few stitches! So we initially purchased a regular "cone" from the vet. He did NOT like it at ALL. He just moonwalked (yes, walked backwards) the entire time, hid under the bed, and refused to eat or socialize unless it was removed. We <3 this new inflatable collar. He walks forward, can groom his paws to clean his face, eats and socializes. I believe happy cat happy recovery. Winston's doing great. Would totally recommend. A little pricey but, hey, worth it in my opinion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more lampshades! :-)

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carlarl
from Wisconsin
First, my dog is 5.6lbs. He has previously been neutered and had a cone shaped collar which was very troublesome for him. He now had to have preputal surgery and I am using the inflatable protective collar. He is not able to access his groin area, viola! The device works wonderfully!!
This product restricts the movement of my dog's neck while maintaining his dignity. Low profile look eliminates the nosy neighbors questions. My dog doesn't move through the house as clumsy as he previously did with the typical cone shape. Very creative and wonderful product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful for a Westie

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
JBRWestieOwner
from Jonesboro, AR
Our Westie had surgery on her lower back where a tumor had popped up and the vet had to leave an inch and a half incision close to her tail. We really enjoyed the Procollar because unlike other collars she was able to eat and drink as she pleased and was still able to rest comfortably. As any westie owners know this is a very feisty breed and she can get out of anything however, with the inner loops for her collar to go through it gives us peace of mind we wont wake up in the morning with her stitches ripped out. Hope this helps!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for leggy or flexible dogs

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
NaughtyMonkey
from Los Angeles, Ca
I have a young mini poodle with long legs and a bendable body. I was afraid to let her spend the night with this on, as I could tell that she had full chewing access to her injured rear leg. This might work for very short legged dogs or for a chest area injury. Returning it, and sadly, it's back to the stiff plastic "cone of shame."
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money!!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lovemydobie
from Cleveland,Ohio
I bought this collar because my dobie has hot spots on his back paws and was practically insane with the old fashioned ecollar. He kept the entire house up whining. This collar is NOT a good idea for dogs with long muzzles. Not only was he able to lick his paws he destroyed the collar over night. We woke to pieces of it all over the house. Sadly we're still looking for alternative collars.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tried it for my Kitten

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maxwell87
My kitty got spayed yesterday and I got a cone from the vet but she would not keep it on. Every time she gets the chance she licks. She even licks the cone trying to get to her incision. I saw the inflatible cone online and thought that looks much better so I rushed to petco to get it, but she got that right off as well :( I got the xs and it fits great for a kitten but she got it off not too long after I put it on.She also can reach if she squirms enough to her incision to lick, so it doesnt work :( It says you are supposed to use their collar but she is so tiny she doesnt have one and the kitty collars stretch anyway. So now i went back to the cone and tied the string behind her shoulders so she cant kick it off, but she can still reach her tattoo incision so I have to go to the vet to get a bigger cone tomorrow :( I sure hope I can sleep tonight! She kept me up all night last night trying to lick and get that cone off. And once she finally went to sleep my other cat meowed cuz i had to keep him out of my bedroom and had her with me!! I hope I get sleep tonight, I dont know what else to do!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>