petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

Soft, comfy inflatable collar for injuries, rashes or post surgeryWill not mark or scrape furnitureDurable canvas jacket protects air bladder completely from scratches and bitesDoes not block your pet's visionMachine washable
Average Customer Rating:
3.444 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(239 Reviews) 239
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 239 reviews
5 stars
115
4 stars
30
3 stars
9
2 stars
16
1 star
69
151 out of 239(63%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Review 1 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pro-collar

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from East Greenwich, RI
Tried to replace the cone of shame, which was too big for my 6 mo. old yellow lab puppy, who was just spayed. This collar lasted 1 1/2 hrs. and she had bitten a hole in it. It looked so much more comfortable, and did not interfere with her peripheral vision.
So don't waste you time and or money.
I have to say the store was great. I showed them the receipt which was 2 hrs old and they credited my credit card.
For a more mellow dog maybe but I can't endorse this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would Recommend

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Albuquerque, NM
My golden retriever has generalized anxiety and literally could not function with a cone. She would become immobile and was terrified when it would scrape against the wall and make noise. I bought this collar and she had no hesitation as I put it on her. Now she is acting completely normal and can eat, drink and walk down the stairs. It has made us both feel better. Worth every penny. (ps... they price matched their website).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product did not work

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Paradise, CA
I found this protective collar to be totally ineffective for my dog. My dog was able to get the collar off within seconds of putting it on him by using his paws to pull it over his head.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed in the quality

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Marysville wa
Upon taking this collar out of the package, it seemed like the perfect solution to keep my dog from scratching his ears. I was looking for something that was less restrictive then the big plastic " e collar " that the vet gives you. Unfortunately the inner plastic part is of very poor quality, and did not last 24 hours. If it was made with better quality materials, it would be great. All and all, I would not make this purchase again, or suggest that anyone waste any money on this particular item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT WORTH IT!!!

PostedApril 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
NOT WORTH IT!!!! I paid alot of money for this collar since the cone collar that we were sent home with by the vet was causing my puppy anxiety. I wanted something that was going to be durable, yet comfortable for my dog since he was going to have to wear it for long periods of time. This collar seemed to fit much better than that the one that the vet sent us home with but did not do a very good job of blocking my puppy from reaching his surgery wound (neuter). Additionally, within 48 hours of purchasing and putting the collar on, my 5 month old puppy had managed to pop the inflatable part AND remove the collar entirely. Unfortunately, this one was just a waste of our money and since I paid quite a bit of money for the best one I could find, I'm VERY disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT waste your money

PostedApril 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from illinois
My gsd was fixed yesterday, i spent about 35 dollars on one of these collars, before he even had it on for 4 hours yesterday he managed to deflate it by pulling the plastic tab off. After reflating it to make sure it was still good i set it off to the side. I out him back in his kennel with the cone on so i could go to sleep, not even ten minutes later i could hear him chewing something. Go down there and not only did he chew off the inflatable collar which allowed him to chew threw his actual collar but he tore both to little tiny shreds. I bought this so i wouldnt have to watch him 24/7 and this thing doesnt even last 12 hours. DO NOT waste your money. Get a cheaper plastic one, itll probably last a lot longer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor quality

PostedApril 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from illinois
This item barely lasted a day before deflating and could not find leak. We had one that lasted for several years and we were only replacing it because the tabs that attach to his regular collar were coming loose. We ended up returning this and fixed the tabs on our old one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Attleboro MA
My 38 lb vizsla chewed two holes in it and popped it while it was still on her. I don't need a collar that requires me to monitor her 24/7, I need a collar that I can put on her at nighttime. I would advise not getting this for alone time or overnights. They must be watched the entire time wearing it! Not durable at all. Took her <10 minutes to chew a hole and pop it. Waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works well till it deflates

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Maine
When inflated, this was a great product for my dog whose paw was operated on and leg placed in sling. But after a couple of days, it seemed the tube had sprung a leak, which I could not find. So I had to reinflate numerous times. I bought a second one and same thing happened.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works even better than we hoped.

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Anoka, Minnesota
This product does as advertised and more. It works so well at keeping the dogs away from chewing on themselves or reaching areas that are healing. The fact that it is filled with air allows us to adjust it to fit each dogs need. It has a durable covering that can be removed and washed. It is so easy to put on and off. Apparently the dogs appreciate it as they are even using it as a pillow. So much more comfortable for them than hard cones. Love this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Very Durable

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lakehills, TX
I bought this product for my corgi to keep her from licking while her split hind paw pad healed. After a few days of wear, the collar developed a slow leak, and at times she was able to lick her foot, which prolonged the healing process. I had to keep blowing it up about 2-3 times a day to keep her from licking. Finally after two weeks, the collar went completely flat. So, I gave up and bought a plastic cone. This product was a waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great idea but didn't work on my puppy

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from The Woodlands, TX
I have an 11 pound puppy that was just spayed. So I purchased this to keep her from licking her incision site as she was able to get out of her ecollar and chew it up. What I liked about this pro collar is that her view wasn't obstructed and that she wasn't running in to my walls, furniture etc. she also seemed to be more comfortable in it.
What is unfortunate is that she was still able to reach her incision site to lick if she really tried. I can really see this product working on a larger dog that has longer distance between their mouth and site of incision as not only would I need a larger pro collar and the dog would have to really bend farther to reach the incision. This is why I gave it three stars and not a 1 star. I don't see it working in situations where incisions are on limbs and such.
So for instance, if my long 80 pound lab needed to have surgery on his belly or torso area I would purchase this again because he will have a longer distance to reach than my tiny flexible puppy. Hope this helps!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product.

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
This product was 'recommended by our Pit bulls surgeon so I immediately bought it for her post surgery days. To my surprise she doesn't mind wearing it and the reason is it's not cumbersome at all. She can easily turn her head and most importantly sleep with it on. It's not at all like the big plastic cones. Word up: She has an 18"neck so I purchased the 18"-22" size. It is a little big but what's nice is it has loops on the inside so we inserted a hand towel. Now it's even more cushy for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

diappointed

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from new jersey
I ordered this for my great pyrenees. The shipping was quick and I have no complaints. I had placed the order on the phone, customer service was helpful
After putting the collar through the tabs, and putting the collar on the puppy, it was off in minutes. The tabs had broken right out of the seems. The material it's made of is stiff and not soft.
I was disappointed with this purchase.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommend

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, Texas
We purchased the XXL for my English Mastiff who has a 28 inch neck. Fit beautifully, easy to get on/off, already wearing for 2 weeks and still doing the job! We used an air compressor to inflate, took about 3 seconds! For the other reviews, in regards that this was not like a pillow which they had been told,this is not intended to be a pillow but a device to keep your animal from getting to the area which needs to heal, and this collar does that! My mastiff sleeps soundly with it on! Much better than those plastic cones!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCollar

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
We have a boxer mix that had masses removed on her back and front shoulder. This collar worked like a charm. Easy to put on and remove and still 3 weeks later she doesn't seem to mind having it on. Attaching the ProCollar to her regular collar is key, and so is inflating the collar fully(you may need to add air occasionally).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
My vet recommended this vs. a plastic collar for my dogs nasty ear infection. She said the plastic collars keep the area warm and would breed more bacteria in his ear. Hopped over to PetCo to shell out $25 for this thing (!!!) and when I brought it home, the inner tube like part you inflate was already broken. The valve was completely disconnected from the plastic part. Piece of junk. I'm returning this and I won't buy another.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Eden, NC
The pro collar does NOT support the dog's head while sleeping. If you purchase the pro collar, you really need to make sure your pet"s head (snout) is supported on a pillow. If the head & snout are NOT supported - it's very very uncomfortable for the dog to sleep. God Bless
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lesser cone of shame

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from somewhere up north
Was really excited when my research led to this product! Read through various reviews so was somewhat skeptical; but, decided to buy it anyway since I wanted to avoid the plastic cone if at all possible. Our puppy was neutered and gave the collar to the vet to put on before he came home. It made an inquisitive impression on the doctors and staff, as well as other clients in the waiting room. After 48 hours of use, I'm pleased with how well it serves its purpose. While it deters him from licking/biting, he is still able to get at the area somewhat/little bit, but not enough to cause injury. Now that he's more alert and active, he mouths the front of the cone, chewing on it - so far it's help up; but he does have a gentle bite. One of the biggest positives is how 'normal' his activity can be with this cone. He's not banging into or getting stuck on anything, can still 'kennel up', eats and drinks with ease, still plays with his toys; and he does not appear sad/depressed with this cone as opposed to previous experience with the plastic one. Very pleased I purchased this product - well worth the last minute 45 minute drive each way to get it!:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great buy!

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tulsa, OK
I recently had my 6 month old boxer spayed. Needless to say my boxer like many others have an endless amount of energy and the cone of shame the vet gave us was no match for our dog. She would have it ripped off in minutes and when she couldn't get it off she would stand frozen like she didn't know what to do. She does not seem to mind the pro collar, tried to get it off but there are hooks for her regular collar to go through so she is unable to get it off. She is also able to get in and out of her doggie door. I would highly recommend this. I wish the vet would have given us this in the first place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>