petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

Soft, comfy inflatable collar for injuries, rashes or post surgeryWill not mark or scrape furnitureDurable canvas jacket protects air bladder completely from scratches and bitesDoes not block your pet's visionMachine washable
Average Customer Rating:
3.561 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(212 Reviews) 212
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 212 reviews
5 stars
109
4 stars
27
3 stars
7
2 stars
12
1 star
57
140 out of 212(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Review 1 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item!

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
f155hurler
from Klamath Falls, OR
Brought our boy home from surgery with lamp shade. He was so scared. Quickly ran down and found the ProCollar. His change was immediate. He could see. He could hear. And he wasn't running in to everything around the house. Will definitely hold on to this great product. Who knows...my wife might make me wear it after a future surgery :-). Your dog will love you for getting one of these!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great for cats!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
catzzz
from Kirkland, WA
Previous reviews have commented on the lack of resilience of this product but I purchased the small for my larger male cat and it works great! I think this product works best for smaller/weaker animals as it is inflatable and can definitely tear or pop with enough pressure. My cat is comfortable and doesn't seem to notice it anymore. As a bonus, it look ridiculous on him. (see picture).
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy.

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gugaman
from Georgia
I bought two of these. Both will not hold air. Even if they did, they would not keep my dog from chewing on himself. Do not waste your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked until it didn't

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Liquid81
This was a great solution in the first few days after my dog's crucial ligament surgery. But by day 7 (with another 7 to go before staple removal), she felt well enough to attempt to lick her incision. The ProCollar wasn't an obstacle so much as a minor inconvenience. She had no trouble reaching her knee, so it's back to the e-collar (sorry, pup).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Interesting idea but didn't work for us

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
MrMastiff
from Central North Carolina
My 100-pound, 2.5-year-old Cane Corso had surgery to repair a cranial cruciate ligament (that's an injury to the stifle or knee). He has a roughly 6" incision on his hind leg. I found this collar in the store and thought it was a great idea, particularly because the dog really hated the plastic E-collar provided by the vet. Now on day 3, I'm calling it a fail. The stitching tore out on two of the loops that retain a conventional dog collar to secure the collar to the dog's neck. I re-sewed those with heavy-duty materials, but the design is flawed to begin with irrespective of the manufacturing quality.
The only way to inflate the valve on the X-large collar is with an air compressor. Otherwise you may pass out. It's about like blowing up a trailer tire.
Bottom line, the dog can get at his incision while wearing this collar, which is the whole point of the product. I very much wanted it to work. For a collar of this type to work as intended on a large, flexible dog, the collar would probably have to be three feet in diameter. That would make it impossible for the dog to get through doors or into a crate.
I don't know what the solution is, but this is sadly not it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Collar - the Best

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
pennyjo611
from Spokane, WA
Hi - I bought this to replace the one I had, which unfortunately got a hole in it, and the straps wore out, BUT, I have told all my clients about it (I train Bird Dogs for folks). I think the ProCollar is Super! It is more comfortable for the dog (& certainly for you, if you have the dog in the house - ouch! those Elizabethan collars hurt when the dog runs into you!) I had the other one on my dog who had an operation to stitch up a 15" cut on his side. He would use it as a pillow when he laid down. He could move around in the crate at night, could go in and out of the swinging doors to the outside runs. A GREAT idea. Get one, to have, just "in case".
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Be careful leaving them alone with it.

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angela12549
from Montgomery, NY
Great collar, great alternative to the "lampshade". HOWEVER, be very careful leaving a dog alone in the crate with it on. I have a 3 month old doberman puppy who required surgery and had to wear something to keep her from disturbing the site. She slept overnight fine with it. I crated her for 3 hours during the day to come home and find it chewed up, the inner tube was chewed thru and it was torn up all over the crate. So, she only got 1 day use out of a $30 collar....I am going to buy her another one but when she is in the crate, she is wearing the lampshade.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work for my dog.

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
BonnieFromCa
This product did not work for my dog. My dog has been chewing and licking herself constantly. I purchased this product because I hate the standard plastic cone. It did not prevent her from reaching almost any spot on her body and she developed a rash under her chin from its use.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Didn't work on our dog

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
mayhemsmom
from Oregon
This product seems well made and could be very good. However, my long necked chocolate lab could reach virtually everywhere on her body while wearing the collar. It wasn't bulky enough for her. It seems that your dog's body type will determine if this is a good product for you or not. And yes, we did get the appropriate size!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wish it had worked

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
WildcatAdvocate
from Lutz, FL
Several people recommended this for my dog about to be neutered. It really was so comfortable for him to wear, he barely noticed. But, it also didn't prevent him from reaching his "private parts" and us waking up to a belly full of red spots from his licking all night. I had to rush to the store the next morning to find a traditional cone. How I hate those but vets use them for a reason - they work!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Where has this been all my life?

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
housecharmer
from CT
My dog has had numerous surgeries in his life and the last one almost did both of us in! He became so obsessed with trying to get at the surgical site that he developed OCD. I know how ridiculous that sounds but it was true. The E. cone should be banned back to the Elizabethan days and replaced by this inflatable collar. It works great! My dog can sniff, drink, sleep, and heal. You can inflate or deflate it according to you needs.You need to be sure there is no leak in the tube as someone mentioned, but we had no problem. Patch it and you'd be good! I wish I'd thought of this thing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great at first

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
nycnumbercruncher
from New York, NY
We got the extra small size for our kitten who had just been spayed. She hated the hard cone she had been sent home with as she wasn't able to eat, drink or use her litter box without a lot of mess and frustration. When she had this collar on, she seemed very pleased. She could interact with things more normally and though it had more give than the hard cone, she couldn't reach her incision while bathing herself. Several hours later I noticed she was licking the end of her incision because the collar had started to deflate. I kept re-inflating it but the air leaks out too quickly now and she was able to kick it off during the night (the collar it was attached to stayed in place but the inflatable one was bunched up in front of her chest like a bib). I think we may try the flexible fabric cone next but if that doesn't work we're stuck with the plastic one for the next 10 days.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Poodlelover7
from Roswell, NM
Keep buying this collar (I have 7 poodles), although the plastic inner tube gets damaged easily. Can be very hard to inflate fully. Love the clothe fabric plastic tube comes with. Would like to see a stronger plastic material used, replaceable inner tubes offered, as well as patches to repair holes. Have tried other products but keep coming back to this one. Dogs have great visibility with collar. Consider buying a size larger as it provides better inaccessibility to area you are trying to keep dog from licking
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfy Collar

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
ikelerda85
from Harrisburg, PA
I bought this because my cat has been obsessively chewing on her fur. She didn't have any issues when I first put it on and acts as if nothing is different. I can tell its working because her fur is starting to grow back!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a Relief!

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
DebbieDo
from Troy, MI
This collar was a Godsend. After our lab was bitten or stung by something that caused a raging infection necessitating surgery, our pup had the classic Elizabethan collar, which quickly proved a nuisance. After many bruised shins and marred walls, and I'm sure a sore neck for the poor dog, we ordered this inflatable collar at the recommendation of the vet. Overnight shipped, it was on our dog the next day. What a relief to all of us!! The rest of doggy's recovery was easy thanks to this product that kept him from licking or biting his wounds, drains and sutures, and kept our legs and walls bruise free! The covering is washable and it folds back into its box after use for easy storage. A must for all dog owners! You won't be disappointed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

3 fails

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
3Fails
from Seattle
Used product sold as new (disgusting as it requires inflating the collar by mouth) RETURNED
Replacement 1) Poor manufacture (zipper was split) RETURNED.
Replacement 2) Poor design (valve pops open with minimal pressure releasing air) RETURNED
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my shih-tzus recovery

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
NosyRosie
from NJ
My shih tzu was spayed 2 weeks ago and the vet gave me one of the generic plastic cones and she got it off the next day. A neighbor suggested this collar and its perfect! She can still eat and see around her with it and she isn't trying to get it off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Schtickwldr
from San Diego, CA
Before I start I just want to say that I love the idea of this and it could really be beneficial with a design change.
BUT... my puppy that was just neutered can reach his stitches. That's what it was made to prevent and it doesn't. IF it had a design change that made the tire stick out further, not thicker, but a larger outer circle that is small enough at the throat for comfort, sort of fanned out, it would keep them from reaching where they're not supposed to reach. That said, it's comfortable for him and he doesn't get it off, however he scratches at it a lot.
I would really like it if it worked!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BAD PRODUCT!

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Guinnes
from IL
I have an american bulldog that keeps biting open his hind quarters. I got this product April 9th, 2013 and by April 20th, 2013 it is broken and he is bleeding again. The craftmanship of this product is garbage!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inflatable collar

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
phantomcreek
This is the second one I've had and they work very well. I use several times a day on my escape artist. It has totally solved the problem of sliding thru or under our fence.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>