petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

Soft, comfy inflatable collar for injuries, rashes or post surgeryWill not mark or scrape furnitureDurable canvas jacket protects air bladder completely from scratches and bitesDoes not block your pet's visionMachine washable
Average Customer Rating:
3.432 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(250 Reviews) 250
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 250 reviews
5 stars
120
4 stars
31
3 stars
9
2 stars
17
1 star
73
158 out of 250(63%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Review 1 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not what I expected

PostedAugust 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NJ
I bought this to use after my dog had knee surgery while his staples were still in. First of all, I could not inflate it fully and second of all my dog was still able to reach his knee so I returned it to the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This has saved my dog and my conscience

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
My dog was spayed on Friday. By Sunday, watching her in the extra large cone of shame was barbaric. I couldn't go to work Monday knowing she'd be in that all day, went to Petco to get this collar even though the majority of the reviews said it wouldn't stay inflated or their dog managed to chew it up. Maybe I got lucky? Today is Tuesday and it has not deflated in the least. She wasn't a happy camper but way better than the alternative and she is better now. She wears it at night, has it off for maybe an hour in the morning while I get ready, it goes back on and I take it off when I get home until I go to bed. It really has been a huge help with her and my conscience while at work. She couldn't even lay down with the cone, with the collar, she can get to water and food. If I find any pinholes like others have mentioned, i do have Gorilla Tape to slap on it. I do recommend it on my behalf. My dog is a Husky/German Shepherd mix at 65 pounds and I got the extra large. Your dog's collar that you thread inside the inflatable collar keeps it on your dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great concept but couldn't keep inflated

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wamego, KS
I purchased this for my terrier mix who was chewing on both knees. I fully inflated it and made sure the valve was completely plugged. It seemed great at first but 15 minutes later I caught her chewing on her knees. I removed the collar and checked it for holes. I could hear air leaking through the valve but couldn't fix it. Hopefully I can exchange it for another one that works better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dog got the coolar off and destroyed it!!

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Attleboro, MA
Given that my dog, 7 mo old 75 lbs mix of great Pyrenees and Lab destroyed two plastic collars to protect her incision from being spayed, I bought the inflatable one. It was the right size and I put the dog to bed with the collar very snug. However, the next morning, the collar was taken off by the dog and it was torn up. I will return it today with hopes of getting a full refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Brockton, MA
After a week of working with the vet issued e-collar and trying to manage his level of comfort while recovering from major surgery with an incision from butt to ankle, I discovered ZenPet Collar - total life saver.
Within 10 mins of having this on he fell fast asleep - something he hadn't done at all in day wearing the standard collar.
He can see with it, move with it, it's soft and comfy for resting.
Thank You!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No bumping into objects

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Brooksville, fl
I have tried every surgery collar and this one is by far the best! I will only use this type. The other cones are uncomterble & dogs can not see. They bump into everything. Sleeping is nearly impossible. This collar is easy to put on & off. Doesnt bother my shepherd at all. Ive been using for over a week and i absolutely love it. Has not deflated at all. She can eat and drink with no problem. Its like its not on her. Great product. I highlly reccomend! Dont waste your money on those cheap plasic cones. This one is the best!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Won't hold air? No problem.

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Birmingham, AL
Mine got a hole in it also. Tried to fix it but nothing worked. I finally stuffed it with artificial snow blanket for Christmas decorations. Works perfectly. Pillow stuffing would work too. Hope this helps someone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not last long

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Northern Jersey
Bought this protective ring about 2:30 this afternoon and by 7:00 my Golden Retriever had gotten it off because one of the black pieces of fabric that you string your pet's collar though separated from the ring. Unless you own a sewing machine I would not recommend this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Palm Springs, CA
This collar is great! My golden had has it on since his surgery yesterday and adjusted well immediately. He can do all of his normal activities and is a happy camper with it. He loves his "pillow" that he's wearing. I had much anxiety about having him wear the traditional Elizabethan collar and am so glad I found this inflatable collar. It's simply the best!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCollar is Awesome

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from honolulu
These collars are so much better than those plastic cones the vet makes your pet wear. This collar allows them to eat, rest, and basically live their live almost normal compared to that plastic stuff.
I bought one of my cats 3 of the collars so I can change them out and give her a different look now and then. :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work

PostedJune 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from VA
Sorry, but our Lab could still reach her paws and her tail and within 20 minutes of putting it on her, after taking the cone off (which she had worn out, by bending it, to reach spots) she had made her paws literally bloody. We had such high hopes for this, as it looks much more comfortable and less restrictive from the cone (vision, etc.) , but it just does not work for our dog. I am now having to treat her paws with antibiotic ointment and will be returning the collar today and replace it with yet another cone. (Just for the record she IS under a Vet's care, but her allergies are particularly bad in the summer, so we have to keep something on her.)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pro-collar

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from East Greenwich, RI
Tried to replace the cone of shame, which was too big for my 6 mo. old yellow lab puppy, who was just spayed. This collar lasted 1 1/2 hrs. and she had bitten a hole in it. It looked so much more comfortable, and did not interfere with her peripheral vision.
So don't waste you time and or money.
I have to say the store was great. I showed them the receipt which was 2 hrs old and they credited my credit card.
For a more mellow dog maybe but I can't endorse this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would Recommend

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Albuquerque, NM
My golden retriever has generalized anxiety and literally could not function with a cone. She would become immobile and was terrified when it would scrape against the wall and make noise. I bought this collar and she had no hesitation as I put it on her. Now she is acting completely normal and can eat, drink and walk down the stairs. It has made us both feel better. Worth every penny. (ps... they price matched their website).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product did not work

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Paradise, CA
I found this protective collar to be totally ineffective for my dog. My dog was able to get the collar off within seconds of putting it on him by using his paws to pull it over his head.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed in the quality

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Marysville wa
Upon taking this collar out of the package, it seemed like the perfect solution to keep my dog from scratching his ears. I was looking for something that was less restrictive then the big plastic " e collar " that the vet gives you. Unfortunately the inner plastic part is of very poor quality, and did not last 24 hours. If it was made with better quality materials, it would be great. All and all, I would not make this purchase again, or suggest that anyone waste any money on this particular item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT WORTH IT!!!

PostedApril 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
NOT WORTH IT!!!! I paid alot of money for this collar since the cone collar that we were sent home with by the vet was causing my puppy anxiety. I wanted something that was going to be durable, yet comfortable for my dog since he was going to have to wear it for long periods of time. This collar seemed to fit much better than that the one that the vet sent us home with but did not do a very good job of blocking my puppy from reaching his surgery wound (neuter). Additionally, within 48 hours of purchasing and putting the collar on, my 5 month old puppy had managed to pop the inflatable part AND remove the collar entirely. Unfortunately, this one was just a waste of our money and since I paid quite a bit of money for the best one I could find, I'm VERY disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT waste your money

PostedApril 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from illinois
My gsd was fixed yesterday, i spent about 35 dollars on one of these collars, before he even had it on for 4 hours yesterday he managed to deflate it by pulling the plastic tab off. After reflating it to make sure it was still good i set it off to the side. I out him back in his kennel with the cone on so i could go to sleep, not even ten minutes later i could hear him chewing something. Go down there and not only did he chew off the inflatable collar which allowed him to chew threw his actual collar but he tore both to little tiny shreds. I bought this so i wouldnt have to watch him 24/7 and this thing doesnt even last 12 hours. DO NOT waste your money. Get a cheaper plastic one, itll probably last a lot longer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor quality

PostedApril 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from illinois
This item barely lasted a day before deflating and could not find leak. We had one that lasted for several years and we were only replacing it because the tabs that attach to his regular collar were coming loose. We ended up returning this and fixed the tabs on our old one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Attleboro MA
My 38 lb vizsla chewed two holes in it and popped it while it was still on her. I don't need a collar that requires me to monitor her 24/7, I need a collar that I can put on her at nighttime. I would advise not getting this for alone time or overnights. They must be watched the entire time wearing it! Not durable at all. Took her <10 minutes to chew a hole and pop it. Waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works well till it deflates

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Maine
When inflated, this was a great product for my dog whose paw was operated on and leg placed in sling. But after a couple of days, it seemed the tube had sprung a leak, which I could not find. So I had to reinflate numerous times. I bought a second one and same thing happened.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>