petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar

Soft, comfy inflatable collar for injuries, rashes or post surgeryWill not mark or scrape furnitureDurable canvas jacket protects air bladder completely from scratches and bitesDoes not block your pet's visionMachine washable
Average Customer Rating:
3.524 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(225 Reviews) 225
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 225 reviews
5 stars
113
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
15
1 star
61
147 out of 225(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Review 1 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommend

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, Texas
We purchased the XXL for my English Mastiff who has a 28 inch neck. Fit beautifully, easy to get on/off, already wearing for 2 weeks and still doing the job! We used an air compressor to inflate, took about 3 seconds! For the other reviews, in regards that this was not like a pillow which they had been told,this is not intended to be a pillow but a device to keep your animal from getting to the area which needs to heal, and this collar does that! My mastiff sleeps soundly with it on! Much better than those plastic cones!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCollar

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
We have a boxer mix that had masses removed on her back and front shoulder. This collar worked like a charm. Easy to put on and remove and still 3 weeks later she doesn't seem to mind having it on. Attaching the ProCollar to her regular collar is key, and so is inflating the collar fully(you may need to add air occasionally).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
My vet recommended this vs. a plastic collar for my dogs nasty ear infection. She said the plastic collars keep the area warm and would breed more bacteria in his ear. Hopped over to PetCo to shell out $25 for this thing (!!!) and when I brought it home, the inner tube like part you inflate was already broken. The valve was completely disconnected from the plastic part. Piece of junk. I'm returning this and I won't buy another.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Eden, NC
The pro collar does NOT support the dog's head while sleeping. If you purchase the pro collar, you really need to make sure your pet"s head (snout) is supported on a pillow. If the head & snout are NOT supported - it's very very uncomfortable for the dog to sleep. God Bless
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lesser cone of shame

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from somewhere up north
Was really excited when my research led to this product! Read through various reviews so was somewhat skeptical; but, decided to buy it anyway since I wanted to avoid the plastic cone if at all possible. Our puppy was neutered and gave the collar to the vet to put on before he came home. It made an inquisitive impression on the doctors and staff, as well as other clients in the waiting room. After 48 hours of use, I'm pleased with how well it serves its purpose. While it deters him from licking/biting, he is still able to get at the area somewhat/little bit, but not enough to cause injury. Now that he's more alert and active, he mouths the front of the cone, chewing on it - so far it's help up; but he does have a gentle bite. One of the biggest positives is how 'normal' his activity can be with this cone. He's not banging into or getting stuck on anything, can still 'kennel up', eats and drinks with ease, still plays with his toys; and he does not appear sad/depressed with this cone as opposed to previous experience with the plastic one. Very pleased I purchased this product - well worth the last minute 45 minute drive each way to get it!:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great buy!

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tulsa, OK
I recently had my 6 month old boxer spayed. Needless to say my boxer like many others have an endless amount of energy and the cone of shame the vet gave us was no match for our dog. She would have it ripped off in minutes and when she couldn't get it off she would stand frozen like she didn't know what to do. She does not seem to mind the pro collar, tried to get it off but there are hooks for her regular collar to go through so she is unable to get it off. She is also able to get in and out of her doggie door. I would highly recommend this. I wish the vet would have given us this in the first place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

didn't last two hours

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
great idea, but made with poorly chosen material. My black lab had bitten a hole through the outside material into the inflatable collar and it deflated within two hours. I was very disappointed because he was clearly happier with this design than any other, but it was not up to the task. The design also allowed for him to get his feet through the gap between the collar and his neck, that's a big flaw as it allowed him to get his teeth on the product and destroy it rather quickly. I returned the inflatable and put him in the comfy collar. He's not as comfortable but at least it beats the heck out of the hard plastic one we got at the vet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wanted this to work

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from No. California
Bogey is a 95 lb Great Pyr mix. The X-large fit on his collar, but, 2 problems. One - not a deal breaker, when the clamshell box was opened, the fabric covering the inflatable part smelled. Very much like insecticide. When I blew up the inflatable part, my lips/skin in contact tingled a bit. I also had to deflate several times since inflatable part had not been pushed to one end and it couldn't be adjusted when inflated. I wasn't thrilled but figured the smell would dissipate over time and it was clearly acceptable to the dog. He didn't panic, he could lie down and this collar gave him the visibility and lack of sharp edges so he didn't bang into unlike the plastic cone I got from the vet. The deal breaker was... it didn't work. Purpose was to keep him from licking his groin area due to a rash. Amazing what a hamburger test shows. He was not slowed in the slightest at getting the hamburger when placed an inch from the rash. I'll try something else. I did want this to work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not very durable

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Harvey, LA
I bought this as an alternative to the big cone. It didn't last one full day, before he ripped it off. I really liked this collar and he rested on it like a pillow and seemed really comfortable with it on, after the initial freak out moments when he tried getting it off. I think it would work great for a less intense type of dog. I have a Belgian Malinois and their is not much they don't destroy. He ripped it off eventually. :( It definitely isn't Malinois proof.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCollar met expectations

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Asheville, NC
I wanted to try ProCollar instead of an Elizabethan as my dogs as anxiety issues. I was afraid she might chew it and deflate it but she did not. It worked very well for her as she had a wound on her shoulder. It might not work for foot injuries, though, as I'm not sure it would be restrictive enough. Very happy with the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

almost worked

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. George, UT
We bought this because our dog had surgery on her ear, and the cone collar from the vet was making her upset because she couldn't see and was running into everything. We bought this and noticed , right a way a change in her behavior. She was more comfortable and not as scared. But after a day she learned that by turning her head she could still reach her ear to scratch it. I wish it would have worked for us because I hate to put that big plastic , one back on her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Strong Enough

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
This product seems more comfortable than the traditional cone, but unfortunately the velcro is not strong enough. It's come undone a few times already, but I was thankfully there to re-attach it. However, in the middle of the night, my 10lb dog was able to completely remove the donut and ripped out all of his stitches as a result. Really wouldn't recommend to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MUST HAVE!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
My baby staffordshire just got spayed and came home with a cone of shame. She looked absolutely miserable and bumped into everything, so I did some research to find something better. I was torn between the ProCollar and the Comfy Cone. I ended up getting the ProCollar because they didn't have the Comfy Cone in the size I needed. I'm SO happy I got the ProCollar because my pup loves it! She doesn't seem bothered by it at all and uses it like a pillow. She can't reach her incision site and the collar has stayed inflated for the 2 days I've had it so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item!

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Klamath Falls, OR
Brought our boy home from surgery with lamp shade. He was so scared. Quickly ran down and found the ProCollar. His change was immediate. He could see. He could hear. And he wasn't running in to everything around the house. Will definitely hold on to this great product. Who knows...my wife might make me wear it after a future surgery :-). Your dog will love you for getting one of these!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great for cats!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kirkland, WA
Previous reviews have commented on the lack of resilience of this product but I purchased the small for my larger male cat and it works great! I think this product works best for smaller/weaker animals as it is inflatable and can definitely tear or pop with enough pressure. My cat is comfortable and doesn't seem to notice it anymore. As a bonus, it look ridiculous on him. (see picture).
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy.

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
I bought two of these. Both will not hold air. Even if they did, they would not keep my dog from chewing on himself. Do not waste your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked until it didn't

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
This was a great solution in the first few days after my dog's crucial ligament surgery. But by day 7 (with another 7 to go before staple removal), she felt well enough to attempt to lick her incision. The ProCollar wasn't an obstacle so much as a minor inconvenience. She had no trouble reaching her knee, so it's back to the e-collar (sorry, pup).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Interesting idea but didn't work for us

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Central North Carolina
My 100-pound, 2.5-year-old Cane Corso had surgery to repair a cranial cruciate ligament (that's an injury to the stifle or knee). He has a roughly 6" incision on his hind leg. I found this collar in the store and thought it was a great idea, particularly because the dog really hated the plastic E-collar provided by the vet. Now on day 3, I'm calling it a fail. The stitching tore out on two of the loops that retain a conventional dog collar to secure the collar to the dog's neck. I re-sewed those with heavy-duty materials, but the design is flawed to begin with irrespective of the manufacturing quality.
The only way to inflate the valve on the X-large collar is with an air compressor. Otherwise you may pass out. It's about like blowing up a trailer tire.
Bottom line, the dog can get at his incision while wearing this collar, which is the whole point of the product. I very much wanted it to work. For a collar of this type to work as intended on a large, flexible dog, the collar would probably have to be three feet in diameter. That would make it impossible for the dog to get through doors or into a crate.
I don't know what the solution is, but this is sadly not it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Collar - the Best

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spokane, WA
Hi - I bought this to replace the one I had, which unfortunately got a hole in it, and the straps wore out, BUT, I have told all my clients about it (I train Bird Dogs for folks). I think the ProCollar is Super! It is more comfortable for the dog (& certainly for you, if you have the dog in the house - ouch! those Elizabethan collars hurt when the dog runs into you!) I had the other one on my dog who had an operation to stitch up a 15" cut on his side. He would use it as a pillow when he laid down. He could move around in the crate at night, could go in and out of the swinging doors to the outside runs. A GREAT idea. Get one, to have, just "in case".
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ProCollar Premium Inflatable Protective Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Be careful leaving them alone with it.

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Montgomery, NY
Great collar, great alternative to the "lampshade". HOWEVER, be very careful leaving a dog alone in the crate with it on. I have a 3 month old doberman puppy who required surgery and had to wear something to keep her from disturbing the site. She slept overnight fine with it. I crated her for 3 hours during the day to come home and find it chewed up, the inner tube was chewed thru and it was torn up all over the crate. So, she only got 1 day use out of a $30 collar....I am going to buy her another one but when she is in the crate, she is wearing the lampshade.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>