petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light

biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light

Form and function come together in this easy-to-set-up, stylish biOrb aquarium kitbiOrb fish tank kit comes with a patented 5-stage filtration system with easy maintenanceMade of crystal-clear acrylic, ten times stronger than glassLower maintenance than most aquariumsIncludes comprehensive instruction manual
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Review 1 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fishielover463738
from nj
i made the mistake of buying one of these tanks. what a huge waste of money. ive had it for not even a year and a lot of parts need to be replaced. i wish i had read bad reviews before good ones.
negatives- light gets hot very quickly, all replacement parts can only be found online since they are specialty, they are expensive as well, reef one could care less that they sell a terrible product with inadequate filtration and did i mention the porous rocks collect so much debris its disgusting?? i had to switch to flat marbles so my tank would say clean. if u buy any of their 'accessories' it will cost u an arm and a leg, just buy whatever decorations u want. this was seriously the biggest waste of time and money. just get a regular tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love our BiOrb!

PostedApril 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
IndyDog
from Cincinnati, OH
I was hesitant to purchase this because of mixed reviews, but I LOVE IT! It was exactly what I wanted: a smaller aquarium for my daughter's room. I've had everything from 5 to 55 gallon tanks and this was perfect for our current needs. If you want a lot of fish (or larger fish) then this is NOT the tank for you, but it's perfect for a few neon tetras, an African Dwarf Frog and a couple of snails. Everyone seems quite happy!
PROS:
-Super easy set up
-Looks amazing, everyone comments on how "cool" it looks
-Quiet filter (I was expecting it to be louder based on reviews, but mine is very quiet sitting on carpet)
-Filter seems to work well, keeping my tank clean and they are easy to replace
CONS:
-There's a slight "line" in the tank going from top to bottom, but I turned it to the back so it isn't noticeable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Buffyboo
from Lamar, PA
Easy aquarium to take care of - easy to clean. Filters are hard to find but I have been able to wash and reuse the filter that comes with it. It makes small fish look huge and a few fish make it look full and alive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
13of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool Design

PostedJune 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
NewFishLover
I love my new BiOrb. I purchased the 8 gallon unit and it is sitting on my Breakfast Bar. I love everything about it and the fish seem extremely happy and active. The only caution I would give is I thought everything in the picture would arrive minus the fish. I had to go out and purchase the plants and accent rocks. It was still worth it to me, but you may think the added expense to be a little too much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
18of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing all-in-one purchase

PostedApril 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
krey
I am really enjoying my new biorb aquarium! It is bright, my plants and ADF's love it, and it is a beautiful addition to any room. The shape of the aquarium magnifies the froggies and they are more active than I've ever seen them. Very satisfied with my purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks nice

PostedApril 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Staccato
from Long Beach, CA
I would love to buy one but I'm afraid it's too expensive considering the size...
I'd MUCH rather spend that money on a 20gal tank and accessories.
I already own some tanks, but MAN do I want this one as a single betta only tank for my mom.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
1of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cool tank

PostedFebruary 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
nosilla
i bought this tank a few years ago as my first one. It was really easy to set up and came with everything. It is a beautiful and interesting piece and is very low maitinance. After about a year the air pump got weak and it became noisy so i replaced it with a different kind. This tank is so easy to take care of and i would recommend it to anyone!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A complete golfish bowl

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
prjenn
from Clio, MI
The 8 gal. biorb comes with literally everything you need, but the fish and water. It's a great tank and the size is perfect for my living room!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

every thing is good but

PostedNovember 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
firsttimebuyer
the noisy air pump
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy

PostedApril 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
FlowerPedal
The biOrb Aquarium is and looks great and very easy to install.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recommended to all!

PostedMarch 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
FashionFreak5894
I use this tank to hold my many guppies and it is fabulous! Easy to clean and I only have to clean it 1 time a year instead of 2 times a year! My guppies are happy and healthy in it and I am very pleased! If you are looking for a simple fishtank, get this one!!! Great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fish tank!

PostedJanuary 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
JennyLA
from Los Angeles, CA
I have to admit, I'm not a fan of fish or fish tanks. That is, until I found this one! I grew up with a tank that was hard to take care of. My daughter got one of these in her class room and wanted one for herself, so I gave in. I'm so glad I did! This tank is so easy to take care of! The filter is easy to remove and replace! It's such a unique design that it is easy to put anywhere in the house and it feels like part of the decor. Just watch out that you don't scratch it! It's not glass and can scratch easily if you aren't careful. You can order a scratch remove pad from the website, but I don't think it works that well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

maintains itself

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
paroon83
from California
The Biorb is great for the beginner or the advanced aquarium lover. It is simple to maintain and comes in three sizes to suit your needs. I have two and I'm always tempted to buy more because they are such a unique aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Biorb 60

PostedOctober 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
psychicseer
I purchased this, love it, filter working beautiful. crystal clear and no problems.
I am using for oranda goldfish for good luck,
it is a beautiful piece in my home a point of interest and beauty
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love

PostedOctober 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
epark
I just bought a second one. if you can not find the filters then rinse yours out. you can ALSO buy the black and white chips at petco and save a buck as well. But hopefully the filters will be carried where you buy your tank. But in a pinch you can do above. other then that i really enjoy my biorb .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i love it.

PostedSeptember 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
echo
I have had mine almost a year and it has been great.
my pump is quiet and i really love it.
the filter thing is a drag. you can find them online at the other pet place.
The filter is not the best in the world but if you keep up with your part(vacuum and water change)then it is fine. I really enjoy mine and so do my fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for biOrb Silver Aquarium Kit with Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sorry, but I cannot recommend.

PostedJuly 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
KittyKit
This really wouldn't be a bad tank, except for the included filter motor!
It is UNBELIEVEABLY LOUD. I've owned many fishtanks in my life, and I've never had a problem like this before. It got to the point that I just turned it off, but then, it isn't much use if you plan on using the filtration system. There are other reviews on other sites that say the same thing.
Also know that when putting things inside, they look much larger... but that might be ok if you want a better view of the fish. From certain angles, you won't be able to see the fish at all.
I ended up taking my Biorb back to Petco. A much more simple set up is better for the fish anyway. I guess I was silly to try and place aesthetics over the actual life inside.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.