petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System

PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System

The PetSafe(R) Simply Clean(TM) Self Cleaning Litter Box System is the only automatic cat litter system that cleans and removes waste continuously and automatically without disturbing your catQuiet and simple to use, the ingenious Simply Clean(TM) system removes waste from the cat litter box to a built-in waste container via a quiet, slow-moving Conveyor SystemEconomically and environmentally safe, it uses recycled plastic shopping bagsEasy to clean and reduces odor and odor-causing bacteriaFor cats up to 12 lbs.Model PAL17-10786
Average Customer Rating:
3.301 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(123 Reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 123 reviews
5 stars
49
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
37
75 out of 123(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Review 41 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Corpus Christi
Had the LitterBox now even 3 months and the motor went out on it.....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Litter Box ever!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
zing
from san francisco
Really easy to clean. Quiet and the constant sweeping gets everything out of the litter. Best box ever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
catdog22
from Fort Worth, TX
This litter box really works! It picks up most deposits and transfers them to the bag in the receptacle. The small ones sometimes make it through but my time spent cleaning the litter box is now 10% of what it used to be. Very happy customer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Troywe
from San Diwgo
This thing is great. The litter stays perfectly clean! I've tried the other one that rakes the litter and I had to keep cleaning out the little pieces. You won't have to do this with this one. I love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nightmare

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
jdkh
from West Monroe La.
I have already written a review, but apparently it didn't go thru. If I could find the receipt I would take this product back. My cat used this thing for about a week and now WILL NOT get back in it . After cleaning up after her for about two weeks I am now getting out my old litter box and scoop.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it!!!!

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Medic10366
from Lyons,GA
I bOught this cat litter box wanting a easier way to keep my cats box clean while I was at work and short vacations. I've had it over a week now and my two cats love it. Only problem I've seen with it is cat litter around it that the cats sling out but I bought a large petco litter mat and it helped alot. Definately will NOT go back to traditional boxes. Also husband friendly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This Thing Is Junk

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
ryanrf30
from Western, Colorado
We have had this for about 2 months, you couldnt give me another one of these pieces of junk! All it seems to do is slowly turn and pulverize the litter coated " Cat Crunchies" in to itty bitty pieces, I would not recomend this unit to anybody that I like! I am going to try to find a receipt and return this junker for something that actually works.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Clean Auto Litter System by Petco

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
SassysMom63
from Frostproof, FL
Sassy only needed a few days to adjust. Its doing a commendable job. At first we heard a "clicking" but realized the litter guard was not on just right...now we are truly happy pet owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

6 month life span

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
TanknPippa
from Ft. Dix, NJ
I've owned 2 of these litterboxes and the motor became noisy and then failed at the 6 month mark on both units. My cat never had a problem using it however my fiance never got the knack of emptying the waste basket and ensuring the device was closed properly. Because the green "on" light is located on the back we think it is difficult to tell if it is functioning.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This thing is great

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
socrfan
from Cleveland, OH
It's easy to use, stays clean and very inexpensive to use. I've had no problems with the litter clumps breaking up (this may be due to the quality of litter used) and no odor problems. I have absolutely no regrets with my purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth it

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
breaks clumps up into smaller pieces and gets left behind. It barely collected anything just broke it all down. I didn't spend this much money to still have to scoop the litter box. I returned it after one week and got the litterbox you roll to clean it. I love it and its way cheaper. This thing cant even clean up after my one cat. What a worthless device.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
5of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this litter box!

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
debbied31
from binghamton, ny
The first litter box we ordered did not work but Petco was so great in picking up the broken one and leaving me a new one. The new one is awesome! No more nasty cat smells. I come home from work and my home still smells nice and clean as when I left it. It is great that I only have to change the bag once a week for 2 cats and that I can use the plastic grocery bags from the store. Don't have to buy anything special for the litter system.
Thank you Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My 3rd one

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
kiddycats
from TN
This is my third one first 2 motors went out. First one company replaced free the second and third had to pay like 70 for replacement if sent back. Others say scoop do from bottom of the track -correct. No big deal! This last one gave out on me after about 1 1/2 years. You need to take apart and vac and clean unit like every month if you do not the litter gets into the bottom motor causing it to freeze up and make noise. looking for a new brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heaven Sent !!!

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
ViktoriaWTF
from Salt lake city
I bought this because I was going to go out of town and my two cats are very picky about having a clean kitty litter. My cats started using this auto-box hours after i set up (which was so easy and fast) it is quiet and no scary moving parts that can catch a cat off guard. I will never go back to a traditional litter box !!! My cats and I are happier than ever! Best investment I ever made pet wise!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for a young working couple with no dogs

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
SillySiamese
from San Diego
This product has changed my life. As a working couple my wife and I find it difficult to continuously keep our kitties pan clean. This device does it all on it's own and quietly. Sometimes, the conveyor belt makes a squeaky sound but doesn't happen all the time or for very long. I would not recommend getting if you have dogs. Don't expect litter to stay in the device any better than a regular cat box either. Overall, I love this product and has worked wonders for my wife and I.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It's a shame

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
LauraLea
from Lake Havasu City
Was really excited about this product, and it did work great for the first 2-weeks, then it just quit. I figured out that litter was getting under the bowl and jamming the wheel that turns the bowl.
My husband took it all apart and cleaned and vacuumed it out. Less then a week later the same thing happened, plus litter was in piles next to the bowl because it is not deep enough.
Very sad that this product didn't work, felt I wasted my money. Went back to a regular litter box it is actually cleaner because I don't have to sweep and vacuum up all the extra litter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Invention EVER!!

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
miskitty
from drums,pa
This is a must have for a cat owner. I have a 5 y/o cat and a new kitten. Both adjusted quickly to new litter box. Using the same litter they are used to without having to change to a fancy litter which is just an added expense to an already expensive system is great for the cat as well as the owner. It does run non stop so you can hear a hum from it but the noise is definitley not an issue when you know there will be no scooping! Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money, spend more time cleaning it

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
oohgodyeah
from Kansas City
As many others have stated, this was a waste of my $99. The bowl is too shallow and litter is tossed out far beyond the limits of my 4 mats. All liquid waste clumps to the bottom of the bowl and sticks like super glue. I had to use so much effort to dig out the clumps that my metal scooper scratched and damaged the bowl during the first cleaning, making it impossible for me to return this item. The second time I cleaned/refilled, I tried the non-stick spray recommendation in the user guide. It helped so the clumps are easier to remove but liquid waste still clumps to the bottom.
Additionally, the spacing in the conveyor system is too wide so hundreds of small pebbles of are left on the top of the litter. The conveyor system seems to break up solid clumps more then pick them up. While the waste box does fill up so I know the unit is doing some work, I spend so much additional time disassembling and cleaning up this device that I want to switch back to a hooded litter box which requires less effort then the Petsafe. Litter also ends up underneath the bowl in the base that the bowl spins around due to gaps in the center column that holds the bowl in place. My unit also experienced a loud clicking noise after less than a month of operation, but stopped on itself own when I left it powered down overnight. I fear future motor problems as others have described.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Purchase

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Love4Animals4
I had a different litter box that used crystals, and due to the costly need to by the trays, I decided for a more economical approach. The great thing is that this box gives you a use for those plastic grocery bags. The bad thing is that the clumping litter produces one, massive, round clump at the very bottom of the ring. I have to completely dismantle and clean every week...horrible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!!

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Theirslave
from Tucson, AZ
Finally something that works! I have 6 indoor cats & it did not take them long to start using it. I still have 2 other regular litter boxes but I am planning to replace them with this system. No more dust on everything, & no more having to clean trays 3x/day.
Only wish the tray was a little larger, my 3 male cats weigh over 20lbs each, but they manage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>