petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System

PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System

The PetSafe(R) Simply Clean(TM) Self Cleaning Litter Box System is the only automatic cat litter system that cleans and removes waste continuously and automatically without disturbing your catQuiet and simple to use, the ingenious Simply Clean(TM) system removes waste from the cat litter box to a built-in waste container via a quiet, slow-moving Conveyor SystemEconomically and environmentally safe, it uses recycled plastic shopping bagsEasy to clean and reduces odor and odor-causing bacteriaFor cats up to 12 lbs.Model PAL17-10786
Average Customer Rating:
3.297 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(128 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 128 reviews
5 stars
51
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
39
78 out of 128(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Review 1 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This thing is great

PostedJanuary 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Lebanon, Ohio
I am an engineer. I understand a good device when I see it. I have been using Simply Clean for my two cats for weeks now. This thing is great. I was a little concerned at first due to the litter pan size but the cats don't mind a bit. The beauty of the device is that is slowly and quietly always working. It does not have sensors, timers or a micro processor that are troublesome. There is no moving rake to scare or catch a cat. The soiled litter slowly revolves around in the pan to where it is conveyed up a ramp by this cool little conveyor and dropped into a waist container. Best of all there are no expensive cartridges or trays to buy. It uses regular grocery bags. I never tried the others because frankly, I did not hear good things about them. I am totally satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+116points
121of 126voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The very best litter system!

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Anaheim, California
This is my second Petsafe automatic cat litter system and it, too, works great, for years!
All I do is pour in the clumping litter, call the cat, and she does the rest. Once a week, or once a month, depending on how many friends she invites, I have to pull out the container with a shopping bag in it, filled with all of the presents, carry it to the garbage, and drop the bag into the garbage! With a new plastic bag in the container it's ready for another cycle. Easy peasy! Just be careful not to block the bottom magnet on the container with the plastic bag, or get the plastic bag near the motor gear as you reinstall the container, and this thing will work for years! It saves on the hassle of a litter box, and my cat is full grown. A small carpet under the whole system can also catch the few litter clays that will occasionally fall off the cat when exiting the bowl. This system is a ten! And no, I don't work for the manufacturer. Don't forget to use quality clumping litter, and it lasts a long time between boxes, so is economical, too. This system takes the presents up a conveyor belt and drops them into the container for easy disposal. That's a ten! ( I hate scooping litter, explaining why this got a high score) Also, this sytem keeps my house smell free!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vicksburg, MS
The design of the litter box caught our cat's interest as soon as we had it put together. He made use of it within the first hour and never went back to his usual litter box again. With the shopping bag lined bin, cleaning takes a matter of second. I've already recommended this to my other friends with cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PetSafe Simply Clean

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Jefferson City Missouri
It is awful. Walls too short, cheaply made, pets do not like it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly made

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Suffolk, VA
It seemed so simple, it had to work, right? Wrong! The conveyor belt cover doesn't "snap into place" as described and I am forced to keep a large heavy rock sitting on top of it to keep it functioning. Otherwise, the longest it kept running was less than 12 hours. Also, the additional skirt that snaps into place around the top to help with tossed/dug up litter in the digging process will not stay in a fixed location and keeps circling around as the base spins, too. Overall, another poor waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome! Works great!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Beaverton, OR
This is an amazing litter box! Never have to worry about changing the cat liners or buy them cause you only have to use plastic grocery bags. And never have to put any kind of liner, cause all you need to put is Pam cooking spray just once and it is do easy and efficient great wonderful product! Great great great!!!!!! P.S. I put 5 out of 5 stars but it keeps only putting 4 out of 5 starts, I rate it 5 out of 5 stars... Just so you know! ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Litter Box!

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I have had a couple of automatic litter boxes throughout the years and eventually went back to the standard litter boxes. I decided one day to research automatic litter boxes and found the reviews on this to be pretty good, however; several people mentioned they had to "tweek" there PetSafe litter box. I decided anyway to get it becasue I had several coupons to bring the price down from Petco..Love petco for giving us coupons all the time, definetly helps the finances! Anyway, I have had this litter box for at least 6 months and I have had no problems with it. VERY easy to use. Love that you can just use regular grocery bags instead of buying any. I did not have to make any litte "fixes" to it at all like some of the other comments stated. It does make a little sound but not enough that you really can hear it. I am very careful when doing a total clean out of the litter and moving the unit just to be on the safe side, but overall it is working amazing. I would definetly consider this litter box when thinking of buying an automatic litter box. Best purchase I have ever made!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I'm impressed

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
We have had this for about a month now, after having a litter maid for many years. I love the litter maid, but it has a couple of notable issues with noise, needing manual repair often for minor jams (yuk), and it took up a lot of room with mechanism. This model is quiet, deeper, needs way less tending to (so far), and is easier and cheaper to clean\refill. On the down side, while it's footprint is about the same as the litter maid, the area that the cat has to use is a bit smaller (but no corners to need cleaning), the sides are a bit lower, so my cat that likes to bury it deep makes a pretty big mess (a mat underneath to "catch and return" solved that), we've used a grocery bag liner for both models and the Simply Clean stinks slightly more before changing but not much. All in all, I like the simply clean better just for not needing to "play in the sandbox" so often. However, both are good. I would recommend either depending on the situation that the box will be in. The litter Maid is better equipped to live out in a garage, whereas the simply clean is more for an apartment. Both are good for multiple cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PetSafe Litter Box

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Casa Grande, AZ
Has a tendency to stop once in a while when gear drive fails to engage correctly on the drum track - have to check once or twice a day to ensure its working properly. Still better than fishing clumps out with a scoop though, and the unclumped litter stays clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It has been working as it should so far...

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
We have have been using this for a couple of weeks now ...It has been working like it should so far...
I do have issues with a lot of the litter not staying inside the device.... We gave up one issue for another.
Maybe if they could put a guard up on that side the cat relieve themselves in, That may be a solution to the issue? Just say-en :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great when it works

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This is a nice and convenient way not to have to scoop litter. You just have to change the bag every day. But unfortunately, there are a lot of things that cause problems and every couple of weeks you have to take it apart and work on it to get it to run again. Now after 4 months, the metal piece on the bottom of the ramp that brings the clumps up and drops it into the bag is broken. I don't know how to get that fixed so I guess this just cost me about $25 a month plus litter. I don't think I will replace it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best automatic litter box I've ever owned!

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wakefield, Ks
I love this litter box and so do my cats. I didn't even have difficulty with the cats using it right away! It's really quiet, just like it says. I don't even know when it's running. I have owned other automatic litter boxes, but they didn't even stand up to what they were suppose to do, they were to loud and didn't clean itself very well, always getting stuck. But not this litter box, I haven't had any problems with it cleaning or getting stuck. I also love that I can use regular shopping bags to hold the waste, no more having to buy special liners! And you can use any clumping litter! You can not smell the litter box! I love this litter box so much I just ordered another one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Round Automatic Litter Box

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This litter box makes it easy on the cat owner, however, in our case we have two Himalayan cats and they wanted nothing to do with this litter box, and I am guessing because it turns slowly and makes a little bit of noise all the time, so I had to buy another litter box like I had before. I am going to return this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe box

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MN
I love this litter box!! Got it home and with some minor assembly had it up and running in minutes. Its so quiet your not even sure its running but it is. Had no problem acclamating my kittens to it at all. I have bought the scented garbage bags that are made for the small bathroom size garbage cans, but a standard plastic shopping bag works just as well. The only thing I would change is I would add a filter of some sort for the waste container.
Before I bought this one I had got another style and brand and didnt like it one bit as pieces of it didnt stay where they were supposed to so I could never leave it running all day.
Would recommend it 100%
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

2 systems in 2 months

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
the customer service is great but the system didn't work for out two cats. First of all the noise of the movement was terrible on the first one and customer service immediately sent me a new one. My cats spread so much litter on the second one that they kept getting it under the rotating pan. Gears clogged and gears stripped. Maybe if the sides were higher the litter wouldn't have gotten out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great idea. Bad R&D.

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Orange County, CA
This is probably the best idea for a self cleaning cat box on the market. It is quiet, operates continuously, uses standard small plastic grocery bags, and for two cats only needs to be emptied every third day. The unit self levels the litter while cleaning/clearing, so you do not need to get into the basin with a scoop. It did take about two days for the cats to get used to this new device that constantly rotates, but after that they would almost not use the previous Litter Maid unit.
All of that being said, I do firmly believe that the designers of this product never assembled and plugged this item in. If they did, they never ran it longer than 15 seconds. This is the second one that I have owned. I had pitched the first one out of frustration when it failed after about a year of operation. I really should have kept it for the parts. The first one had a clearance issue with the armature that governs the "escalator", and would hit the basin on each rotation. I altered this to clear, but in retrospect I think it may have been installed upside down at the factory level. The basin rim on both units will not stay in place when in service, so I needed to attach an L bracket to keep it from sliding around. The reason for this is when it reaches the other side of the unit, it will dislodge the escalator cover, open up a safety switch, and shut off the unit. This cover also fits poorly, which requires a weight to keep it in place. Otherwise, the switch opens up for no reason, and stops all operations. On the first unit, litter accumulated under the basin, which fouled up the main drive gear. It stripped, which caused the basin to stop revolving. This is the "clunk" that you hear other reviewers speaking of. I replaced the gears, and greased it. With this in mind, for the new one I added a few extra drain holes in the lower assembly, and a few brushes to move the litter away from the gear assembly. The armature on the second one did not have a clearance issue, but it was about 1/8 to 3/16 inches too short. This caused a massive binding, and made a few noises every 30 seconds that I am sure would have scared off the cats. After the same basic alterations as the original unit, this issue was fixed.
The original unit had a motor failure, which was where I lost my patience. At this time, I do not know of a replacement for these, and they are rather application specific. They run rather warm for what they are doing. The new one is running properly now, but it has only been two weeks.
This unit is half the price of the competition, and when working, works far better. If the company spent just a little extra in the R&D and tooling, raised the price a little to pay for the better tooling and R&D, as well as a few other minor tweaks, this would be the best thing out there. Currently, this is the best solution out there, but you must be willing to field service this item, as well as reverse engineer a few things along the way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Simply Clean is Simple to Clean!!!!

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Council Bluffs, IA
My husband and I honestly just love the PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System. We had it in the past and it finally broke on us and we tried different type of automatic litter box system and did not like it at all. We went to just using regular kitty litter boxes. Finally after 2 years without the Automatic Litter Box we decided to go back to this system. Since I'm pregnant and not really supposed to clean the litter box this is so useful because I can empty it without worry and my husband can do the extra cleaning if its necessary! Also the fact that it just uses regular clumping litter and your old plastic grocery bags there is really no extra expense! We bought 2 this time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I give this an F

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ma
When I first got this littebox I LOVED IT! However after having it 2 months it doesn't work at all. I've broken it down, I've cleaned it to make sure litter wasn't occluding the gears and still it doesn't work. I paid $85.00 for this product and expect it to last more than 2 months. Petco is allowing me to return it so kudos to them for that.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great box - doesn't last

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Arlington TX
I really love how this box works. You can use any litter and you just use shopping bags to line the litter trap. So I love the convenience and that it is always clean. However, I just had my second one die. Each box lasted about 8 months. The first time I forgot to save the warranty info and the second time I forgot to register it. Although I think it works well I will be trying another style of automatic litter box now to see if they last longer.
If the company could get the motor to stop dying it would be perfect. If you do get it, make sure to register the box asap and save the packaging and receipt.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Noisy Motor

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
Perhaps we received a defective product in the mail, but out of the box this unit had a noisy motor. Unit was perfectly clean, assembled correctly, installed correctly, and showed no mechanical defects. I then plugged it into the wall and the motor sound was awful. Not a low hum or whine, but a garbled crunching sound that came direct from motor.
Problem is no local Petco's have this item stocked. Currently working with manufacturer for replacement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>