petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System

PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System

The PetSafe(R) Simply Clean(TM) Self Cleaning Litter Box System is the only automatic cat litter system that cleans and removes waste continuously and automatically without disturbing your catQuiet and simple to use, the ingenious Simply Clean(TM) system removes waste from the cat litter box to a built-in waste container via a quiet, slow-moving Conveyor SystemEconomically and environmentally safe, it uses recycled plastic shopping bagsEasy to clean and reduces odor and odor-causing bacteriaFor cats up to 12 lbs.Model PAL17-10786
Average Customer Rating:
3.282 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
36
70 out of 117(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Review 1 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This thing is great

PostedJanuary 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Twocatguy
from Lebanon, Ohio
I am an engineer. I understand a good device when I see it. I have been using Simply Clean for my two cats for weeks now. This thing is great. I was a little concerned at first due to the litter pan size but the cats don't mind a bit. The beauty of the device is that is slowly and quietly always working. It does not have sensors, timers or a micro processor that are troublesome. There is no moving rake to scare or catch a cat. The soiled litter slowly revolves around in the pan to where it is conveyed up a ramp by this cool little conveyor and dropped into a waist container. Best of all there are no expensive cartridges or trays to buy. It uses regular grocery bags. I never tried the others because frankly, I did not hear good things about them. I am totally satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+105points
108of 111voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Round Automatic Litter Box

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
AndyCocoa
from Florida
This litter box makes it easy on the cat owner, however, in our case we have two Himalayan cats and they wanted nothing to do with this litter box, and I am guessing because it turns slowly and makes a little bit of noise all the time, so I had to buy another litter box like I had before. I am going to return this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe box

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
gizmom
from MN
I love this litter box!! Got it home and with some minor assembly had it up and running in minutes. Its so quiet your not even sure its running but it is. Had no problem acclamating my kittens to it at all. I have bought the scented garbage bags that are made for the small bathroom size garbage cans, but a standard plastic shopping bag works just as well. The only thing I would change is I would add a filter of some sort for the waste container.
Before I bought this one I had got another style and brand and didnt like it one bit as pieces of it didnt stay where they were supposed to so I could never leave it running all day.
Would recommend it 100%
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

2 systems in 2 months

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
deblyn
from Florida
the customer service is great but the system didn't work for out two cats. First of all the noise of the movement was terrible on the first one and customer service immediately sent me a new one. My cats spread so much litter on the second one that they kept getting it under the rotating pan. Gears clogged and gears stripped. Maybe if the sides were higher the litter wouldn't have gotten out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great idea. Bad R&D.

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
ChrisSoCal07
from Orange County, CA
This is probably the best idea for a self cleaning cat box on the market. It is quiet, operates continuously, uses standard small plastic grocery bags, and for two cats only needs to be emptied every third day. The unit self levels the litter while cleaning/clearing, so you do not need to get into the basin with a scoop. It did take about two days for the cats to get used to this new device that constantly rotates, but after that they would almost not use the previous Litter Maid unit.
All of that being said, I do firmly believe that the designers of this product never assembled and plugged this item in. If they did, they never ran it longer than 15 seconds. This is the second one that I have owned. I had pitched the first one out of frustration when it failed after about a year of operation. I really should have kept it for the parts. The first one had a clearance issue with the armature that governs the "escalator", and would hit the basin on each rotation. I altered this to clear, but in retrospect I think it may have been installed upside down at the factory level. The basin rim on both units will not stay in place when in service, so I needed to attach an L bracket to keep it from sliding around. The reason for this is when it reaches the other side of the unit, it will dislodge the escalator cover, open up a safety switch, and shut off the unit. This cover also fits poorly, which requires a weight to keep it in place. Otherwise, the switch opens up for no reason, and stops all operations. On the first unit, litter accumulated under the basin, which fouled up the main drive gear. It stripped, which caused the basin to stop revolving. This is the "clunk" that you hear other reviewers speaking of. I replaced the gears, and greased it. With this in mind, for the new one I added a few extra drain holes in the lower assembly, and a few brushes to move the litter away from the gear assembly. The armature on the second one did not have a clearance issue, but it was about 1/8 to 3/16 inches too short. This caused a massive binding, and made a few noises every 30 seconds that I am sure would have scared off the cats. After the same basic alterations as the original unit, this issue was fixed.
The original unit had a motor failure, which was where I lost my patience. At this time, I do not know of a replacement for these, and they are rather application specific. They run rather warm for what they are doing. The new one is running properly now, but it has only been two weeks.
This unit is half the price of the competition, and when working, works far better. If the company spent just a little extra in the R&D and tooling, raised the price a little to pay for the better tooling and R&D, as well as a few other minor tweaks, this would be the best thing out there. Currently, this is the best solution out there, but you must be willing to field service this item, as well as reverse engineer a few things along the way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Simply Clean is Simple to Clean!!!!

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
NATATHERTON
from Council Bluffs, IA
My husband and I honestly just love the PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System. We had it in the past and it finally broke on us and we tried different type of automatic litter box system and did not like it at all. We went to just using regular kitty litter boxes. Finally after 2 years without the Automatic Litter Box we decided to go back to this system. Since I'm pregnant and not really supposed to clean the litter box this is so useful because I can empty it without worry and my husband can do the extra cleaning if its necessary! Also the fact that it just uses regular clumping litter and your old plastic grocery bags there is really no extra expense! We bought 2 this time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I give this an F

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nannerss
from Ma
When I first got this littebox I LOVED IT! However after having it 2 months it doesn't work at all. I've broken it down, I've cleaned it to make sure litter wasn't occluding the gears and still it doesn't work. I paid $85.00 for this product and expect it to last more than 2 months. Petco is allowing me to return it so kudos to them for that.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great box - doesn't last

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
hkral11
from Arlington TX
I really love how this box works. You can use any litter and you just use shopping bags to line the litter trap. So I love the convenience and that it is always clean. However, I just had my second one die. Each box lasted about 8 months. The first time I forgot to save the warranty info and the second time I forgot to register it. Although I think it works well I will be trying another style of automatic litter box now to see if they last longer.
If the company could get the motor to stop dying it would be perfect. If you do get it, make sure to register the box asap and save the packaging and receipt.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Noisy Motor

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
MichaelC
from Baltimore, MD
Perhaps we received a defective product in the mail, but out of the box this unit had a noisy motor. Unit was perfectly clean, assembled correctly, installed correctly, and showed no mechanical defects. I then plugged it into the wall and the motor sound was awful. Not a low hum or whine, but a garbled crunching sound that came direct from motor.
Problem is no local Petco's have this item stocked. Currently working with manufacturer for replacement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty cool!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dizzygal
from Minneapolis, MN
I am notoriously BAD at changing the litter box. It is my very least favorite chore of all. This device has made the whole process completely tolerable. It does make a bit of noise sometimes. but so far it is ignorable. My cat took to it right away. I left it unplugged for the first few hours, then plugged it in for the night, and in the morning there were 2 perfect deposits in the collection bag. My favorite part is that is uses regular clumping litter and used bags from the grocery store. I researched different systems before I bought this one, some have fancy crystals and cleaning fluids that you have keep buying, and who knows what's in that stuff?...It did get noisy when I accidentally overfilled it, but that was easily fixed. Thanks for making my life easier!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
TamK1972
from Cheyenne, WY
I love this product. As i have 3 small kittens and one older cat, this is purrfect for them all. Plus with working 40 hours a week and a busy mom, I don't have time to constant ly change the litter box. This makes it perfect for me as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Cat Box!

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
crts
from Atlanta, GA
This type of cat box works much better than the rake style automatics. No special bags to buy, you can use plastic grocery bags. Just keep it maintained, filled with litter and you should be good to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Litter Box System

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
cjmarsh
from Searcy, Ar.
I have two Cats at first I thought I was going to like this Box really well BUT as the cats got use to it they noticed the noise it makes as it rotates and they started looking for it . So as they look for it they disconnect it and it stops working needless to say I am going to have to return it because it never works anymore they keep looking for the noise.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
NatBlaze
from Houston, TX
This is my second PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System. The first one became worn out because my cat had diabetes and urinated non-stop! Years ago, I had another brand (which is no longer made) and it was much messier, and didn't function as well as this brand. When I initially received my first PetSafe, my cats wouldn't use it, because it runs constantly and they could (barely) hear it. I researched the problem and found that leaving it off for a few days could help them get used to it, which it did. They both used it with no problem after that. Now that the new one has arrrived my cat (the diabetic cat is in kitty heaven) won't use it again so I unplugged it this morning hoping she'll get in it. I have noticed that this one does seem to be a little noiser - making a constant clicking nosie - that the other one didn't make but it's still an amazing product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

automatic litter box

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
ocalafl
we love the litter box , but it does make some clicking and popping noises. so i called the manufacture and they are sending me a new one under the warranty.. great company!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simply Clean - Works Great!

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
dogsncatz
from Oregon
I have alot of good things to say about this unit!
It saves me ALOT of time and worry about smell and cleaning out the litter box. It is very efficient in the use of litter. It is fairly quiet (has a light ticking noise). My cats took to it right away - and because of the design I was concerned they would fit! But they did! I have two 12 - 14 pound boys. Also, it is so easy to empty the used litter container.
The only negative comment I have is that the sides are too low and litter is constantly outside of the unit. I had to daily scoop my box previously and the rake type unit before that was constantly jamming and I was having to reset it all up, so cleaning up some litter daily isn't going to stop me from using this box. All in all, I am happy and so are my cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Kitty Repeller

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
kittylvr1001
from Seattle, WA
Although I think the idea of this is great, my 7 month old kitten hates it. Even though the motor is much quieter by comparison, to the automatic rake type box I just got , she just couldn't stop trying to look under it to find out where that clicking sound was coming from. She used it at first when it was turned off, then wouldn't use it again except around the outside edges. I wasn't happy and I returned it to Petco which has a great return policy. I also didn't like the giant P-ball stuck in the conveyor belt. I don't think the extremely slow way that this moves the kitty rockas up the belt is very effective. On a side note, I leave the new box off except when I turn it on to do the cleaning when the kitty is not in the room. I don't want to scare her out of using it. It is really loud and I have to distract her from figuring out where that noise is coming from. Some cats might not be as apprehensive, I've never had a cat that wasn't. Good luck!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Box for the Price

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
protoceratops
from Seminole, Fl
I have owned 2 litter robots and looked at getting other automatic litter boxes. I have 2 cats, 1 15lbs & 1 12lbs. I run the litter box during the day and until I go to bed. Very lite sleeper, so I turn it off at night since it is in my bathroom. This is absolutely the best purchase. Uses grocery bags and I'm now buying less litter because I don't clean the WHOLE box every week. Was great while we were on vacation for 3 weeks and only the bag had to be replaced and litter added while we were gone. Would recommend this to everyone. Others you spend the price of the litter box in less than 4 months with the purchase of the fancy trays and additional items.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't lose that receipt

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
catsupstairs
Overall the product worked pretty poorly. Litter scratches the plastic pan, further inhibiting the function. Then in less that a year, a critical metal rod broke. Lost receipt and no way to buy any replacement parts.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wore out after 2 days

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
CatthinksDog
from Charleston, SC
First, If it worked the way it did for the first 2 days it would get a 5 paw review.
After 2 days it squeeks. Not awful, but loud enough to be annoying. Not all the time either.
Called PetSafe and they ordered us a new motor and said it was a rare problem, but to try to return it if possible.
Unfortunately Petco was out of stock, so I couldn't just re-order. Had to find it somewhere else. When the new one comes in, we'll replace the old and return.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>