petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System

PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System

The PetSafe(R) Simply Clean(TM) Self Cleaning Litter Box System is the only automatic cat litter system that cleans and removes waste continuously and automatically without disturbing your catQuiet and simple to use, the ingenious Simply Clean(TM) system removes waste from the cat litter box to a built-in waste container via a quiet, slow-moving Conveyor SystemEconomically and environmentally safe, it uses recycled plastic shopping bagsEasy to clean and reduces odor and odor-causing bacteriaFor cats up to 12 lbs.Model PAL17-10786
Average Customer Rating:
3.259 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(135 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 135 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
43
81 out of 135(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Review 1 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This thing is great

PostedJanuary 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Lebanon, Ohio
I am an engineer. I understand a good device when I see it. I have been using Simply Clean for my two cats for weeks now. This thing is great. I was a little concerned at first due to the litter pan size but the cats don't mind a bit. The beauty of the device is that is slowly and quietly always working. It does not have sensors, timers or a micro processor that are troublesome. There is no moving rake to scare or catch a cat. The soiled litter slowly revolves around in the pan to where it is conveyed up a ramp by this cool little conveyor and dropped into a waist container. Best of all there are no expensive cartridges or trays to buy. It uses regular grocery bags. I never tried the others because frankly, I did not hear good things about them. I am totally satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+124points
129of 134voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cat box mail order

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
The box was not sealed & open when it arrived at my house, it smelled burnt also. Sure enough the thing did not work, wires were sticking out and if was not packed right. They actually sent me a returned item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not buy

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Houston TX
The motor broke in 6 weeks, the manufacturer shipped the motor. The unit broke again in 3 weeks. Going back to standard litter box, easier to clean than this poorly designed unit.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, better company!

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, IN
I have had this product for over two years now and I'm surprised at the negative reviews. I have two cats, one 6 lb and one 14 lb and they both fit in this just fine. The only issue I had was the motor stopped working because I left it plugged in 24-7. I called the company directly and they were extremely friendly. They sent me a replacement part overnight and it was a simple swap. I've never had issues with the clumps being "broken apart further" by the rake. I would venture to guess that is a litter issue and someone needs to buy a different kind. I can't say anything better about the product or the company. I recommend this to every cat owner I know!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Huge Disappointment!

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville, FL
I purchased this product with the right intentions of a more regular removal of cat waste and this product made the removal process even worse. The cycle process was good, however when in came to the removal part it broke up the feces and urine clumps into pieces so that half of the waste was being removed and the rest was broken into smaller pieces which was extremely difficult to take out with a regular scooper. I have since returned to using my trusty old litter box.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

12lb cat is not a good rule and

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Germantown Maryland
It depends on the height and width of your pet as well. My 10lb cat is smaller and was squished in there! I would say the size of a 4-6month old kitten at most. Also even with good litter it missed some and got clogged.
Most people have more then one cat, this is designed for one very smell cat and there is a lot of wasted space that has litter in it, but no cat can fit.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect if you fix the glitches

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Des Moines
This is an excellent product if you fix the glitches:1- Buy a great clumping litter - I use Fresh Steps (the best that I have tried so far), 2- Buy a timer so you make it work just 2-3 times a day for several hours, thus increasing the life of the motor and saving energy, 3-Secure (glue) a stick in the sensor of the top cover so it doesn't stop the motor every time your cat touches the lid, 4- I had a small exagonal portable pet play pen that I bought very cheaply in another website that I use to put the litter box inside thus is hidden from viewers, giving my cat the privacy that she needs and protecting my carpet from some normal small litter spills that might result from my cat scratching the litter to hide the "goods". I found all those recommendations in Amazon and that was the best. I have 1 medium size cat and I can be up to 10 days without changing the receptacle and it doesn't stink. If you want something better than that you will have to pay at least $100 more to get it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FL
Love this product!
The reduction in the amount of litter I go through, after starting to use this box is amazing.
With a couple minor adjustments, this box will be perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The very best litter system!

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Anaheim, California
This is my second Petsafe automatic cat litter system and it, too, works great, for years!
All I do is pour in the clumping litter, call the cat, and she does the rest. Once a week, or once a month, depending on how many friends she invites, I have to pull out the container with a shopping bag in it, filled with all of the presents, carry it to the garbage, and drop the bag into the garbage! With a new plastic bag in the container it's ready for another cycle. Easy peasy! Just be careful not to block the bottom magnet on the container with the plastic bag, or get the plastic bag near the motor gear as you reinstall the container, and this thing will work for years! It saves on the hassle of a litter box, and my cat is full grown. A small carpet under the whole system can also catch the few litter clays that will occasionally fall off the cat when exiting the bowl. This system is a ten! And no, I don't work for the manufacturer. Don't forget to use quality clumping litter, and it lasts a long time between boxes, so is economical, too. This system takes the presents up a conveyor belt and drops them into the container for easy disposal. That's a ten! ( I hate scooping litter, explaining why this got a high score) Also, this sytem keeps my house smell free!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vicksburg, MS
The design of the litter box caught our cat's interest as soon as we had it put together. He made use of it within the first hour and never went back to his usual litter box again. With the shopping bag lined bin, cleaning takes a matter of second. I've already recommended this to my other friends with cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PetSafe Simply Clean

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Jefferson City Missouri
It is awful. Walls too short, cheaply made, pets do not like it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly made

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Suffolk, VA
It seemed so simple, it had to work, right? Wrong! The conveyor belt cover doesn't "snap into place" as described and I am forced to keep a large heavy rock sitting on top of it to keep it functioning. Otherwise, the longest it kept running was less than 12 hours. Also, the additional skirt that snaps into place around the top to help with tossed/dug up litter in the digging process will not stay in a fixed location and keeps circling around as the base spins, too. Overall, another poor waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome! Works great!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Beaverton, OR
This is an amazing litter box! Never have to worry about changing the cat liners or buy them cause you only have to use plastic grocery bags. And never have to put any kind of liner, cause all you need to put is Pam cooking spray just once and it is do easy and efficient great wonderful product! Great great great!!!!!! P.S. I put 5 out of 5 stars but it keeps only putting 4 out of 5 starts, I rate it 5 out of 5 stars... Just so you know! ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Litter Box!

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I have had a couple of automatic litter boxes throughout the years and eventually went back to the standard litter boxes. I decided one day to research automatic litter boxes and found the reviews on this to be pretty good, however; several people mentioned they had to "tweek" there PetSafe litter box. I decided anyway to get it becasue I had several coupons to bring the price down from Petco..Love petco for giving us coupons all the time, definetly helps the finances! Anyway, I have had this litter box for at least 6 months and I have had no problems with it. VERY easy to use. Love that you can just use regular grocery bags instead of buying any. I did not have to make any litte "fixes" to it at all like some of the other comments stated. It does make a little sound but not enough that you really can hear it. I am very careful when doing a total clean out of the litter and moving the unit just to be on the safe side, but overall it is working amazing. I would definetly consider this litter box when thinking of buying an automatic litter box. Best purchase I have ever made!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I'm impressed

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
We have had this for about a month now, after having a litter maid for many years. I love the litter maid, but it has a couple of notable issues with noise, needing manual repair often for minor jams (yuk), and it took up a lot of room with mechanism. This model is quiet, deeper, needs way less tending to (so far), and is easier and cheaper to clean\refill. On the down side, while it's footprint is about the same as the litter maid, the area that the cat has to use is a bit smaller (but no corners to need cleaning), the sides are a bit lower, so my cat that likes to bury it deep makes a pretty big mess (a mat underneath to "catch and return" solved that), we've used a grocery bag liner for both models and the Simply Clean stinks slightly more before changing but not much. All in all, I like the simply clean better just for not needing to "play in the sandbox" so often. However, both are good. I would recommend either depending on the situation that the box will be in. The litter Maid is better equipped to live out in a garage, whereas the simply clean is more for an apartment. Both are good for multiple cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PetSafe Litter Box

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Casa Grande, AZ
Has a tendency to stop once in a while when gear drive fails to engage correctly on the drum track - have to check once or twice a day to ensure its working properly. Still better than fishing clumps out with a scoop though, and the unclumped litter stays clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It has been working as it should so far...

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
We have have been using this for a couple of weeks now ...It has been working like it should so far...
I do have issues with a lot of the litter not staying inside the device.... We gave up one issue for another.
Maybe if they could put a guard up on that side the cat relieve themselves in, That may be a solution to the issue? Just say-en :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great when it works

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This is a nice and convenient way not to have to scoop litter. You just have to change the bag every day. But unfortunately, there are a lot of things that cause problems and every couple of weeks you have to take it apart and work on it to get it to run again. Now after 4 months, the metal piece on the bottom of the ramp that brings the clumps up and drops it into the bag is broken. I don't know how to get that fixed so I guess this just cost me about $25 a month plus litter. I don't think I will replace it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best automatic litter box I've ever owned!

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wakefield, Ks
I love this litter box and so do my cats. I didn't even have difficulty with the cats using it right away! It's really quiet, just like it says. I don't even know when it's running. I have owned other automatic litter boxes, but they didn't even stand up to what they were suppose to do, they were to loud and didn't clean itself very well, always getting stuck. But not this litter box, I haven't had any problems with it cleaning or getting stuck. I also love that I can use regular shopping bags to hold the waste, no more having to buy special liners! And you can use any clumping litter! You can not smell the litter box! I love this litter box so much I just ordered another one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Simply Clean Automatic Litter Box System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Round Automatic Litter Box

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This litter box makes it easy on the cat owner, however, in our case we have two Himalayan cats and they wanted nothing to do with this litter box, and I am guessing because it turns slowly and makes a little bit of noise all the time, so I had to buy another litter box like I had before. I am going to return this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>