petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for KONG Zoom Groom Brush

KONG Zoom Groom Brush

A great grooming brush for long and short hairEasy to hold gripRemoves loose hair like a magnetStimulates skin to promote natural oil productionEffective for all dogs
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
45 out of 50(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Review 1 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

better hair pick up after washing brush

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
Washing the brush with a few drops of dish soap drastically improved the hair pickup/removal of the zoom groom. I wasn't impressed with the brush at all when I first got the zoom groom so it sat unused collecting dust. After a wash and air-dry some time later I tried it again and couldn't believe how much loose hair was being brushed out or how much my dog seemed to enjoy being brushed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dry or Wet

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pleasant Prairie, WI
Have used brushing outside and have used during bath time. Mia will sit till your arm gets tired from brushing, she loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The texture of the rubber is the key

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from SLC, Utah
I got this in anticipation of getting our new puppy. I couldn't wait to try it out so I used it on my cat. I have never seen a brush work so well. It got out so much hair that I could have made myself a whole other cat. The cat didn't seem to mind it either. The texture of the rubber has just enough "pull" to it that it will even get the hair that isn't quite lose yet. Static keeps the hair clumped up so it isn't flying everywhere, but it also pulls away from the brush easily, leaving it clean like it was when it was brand new. The cat seemed to like the "bristles," which are more like massaging rubber cones. I can't imagine that it wouldn't work just as well on my dog when he gets here, but even if he hates it, it was completely worth it for my cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Haven't tried it in the tub yet

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Colorado Springs, CO
But I use this brush on my 1 yr old cattle dog mix, Moxxi. She loves this brush because when I try to stop she nudges my hand until I keep brushing. Moxxi has a really short coat and it doesn't seem like she sheds much but this brush picked up a lot of hair. I'm hoping I won't have as much of her hair everywhere in my apartment. Moxxi doesn't need to be washed often so I don't know how it'd work during bath time. Still I definitely recommend this brush.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Alabama
We use this on our Golden Retriever in the shower and he loves it. It gets the shampoo in his thick coat and removes dry skin and sheading fur.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great help!

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I love this brush so much! Great for when my dogs "blow out" their coat. It picks out the clumps I'd normally pluck out by hand and it picks fur from their undercoat. I love how when the brush if *full, for lack of better word, you can easily pull the fur off. Similar to peeling a sticker off. Then you go on brushing! My dogs love it too! When they see the brush in hand and wag their tails and sit right in front of me ready to be brushed and 'plucked'!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Holden, LA
I added a 4th dog this past yr and come summer the hair was out of control. I purchased the zoom groom after reading reviews. I am VERY pleased with the product. It removes lots of hair. It was laying in piles around the dogs. For the newest dog he liked it much more than the shedding blade I had been using. Before he would try not to be brushed now he comes and pushes to get his turn in. I would highly recommend this product for dogs like mine...short coated. I have not tried on long coated breeds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dog I got for doesn't like it

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Canterbury CT
Too Rough won't let me brush her with it. Will use on other dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST BRUSH EVER! great for sensitive dogs!

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Columbia, SC
Great value for great brush. Read especially if you have a dog with skin issues!!!! I have 2 Jack Russells and a boxer. The brush is great for all of them. The older Jack Russell is large, blind, and has always had extreme skin sensitivity. She is highly allergic to flea bites and other environmental factors. She requires extreme measures to avoid fleas & requires weekly baths with a particular shampoo. She sheds year around - but even heavier in the spring and when nervous. She often requires additional shots and pills for itching.
All that said, she loves brushing but brushing would only redden her skin and often made itching worse.... and THEN I FOUND THIS RUBBER BRUSH!!!! It is perfect. I always brush in the direction of the hair (please remember that when drying after bath, too)...and now I can brush and brush and brush without irritating her skin..... She LOVES it!!! The boxer is always cutting in and I have to always drag my hand behind the brush because so much hair is released by BOTH dogs! House so much cleaner. Dogs so much happier. I am so much happier. Great value for a great brush that does NOT irritate the skin. I cannot say enough good things about this brush. Sometimes I wish for a handle, but it is easily controlled as it is - and maybe that helps keep the cost down....so good with that.
If you have a dog with sensitive skin & lotta shed, then you OWE it to your furry friend to get one of these brushes.... Or one for the front porch, one for the car, one for the shower, one for ........ lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Actually Works

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
My dog is half beagle & half pug and has short hair. I comb her from front to back & all her legs, then when I'm done I just sweep my hand over her to take the excess hair off. I only wish the hair would stay on the comb. I do it in the bathtub (here you can really see what comes off) so that when I'm done I just sweep it with a paper towel. I noticed a difference in the house, I no longer have to sweep everyday.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

mounds of excess hair

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from fresh meadows, ny
I read other reviews and afterr trying it out I could see how this brush might not work for all hair types but my boyfriend has a french bulldog and it worked great!!! TONS of excess hair came off in no time and he enjoyed the brushing session!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for shedding dogs!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
Since this brush is rubber, it really gets into the coat and grips the loose hair. I brushed my dog last night with this brush for about 20 minutes and got a ball of hair about the size of a newborn! It really works!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this brush!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from richmond, va
Easily some of the best money I have spent on my dog. This brush is more gentle on her coat than the Furminator & removes just as much hair. When I give her a bath, I use this to really scrub her down. It makes her coat soft & shiny. And the price is great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this brush

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Salt Lake City, UT
I use this on my chocolate lab and I love it. It's great for removing loose hair, and the loose hair sticks to the brush so it's very easy to clean up. My dog loves it too. When we bought it, the salesman explained that the rubber bristles massage the dog so they enjoy it, and my dog definitely likes it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Recommendation with Reservations!

PostedMay 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Left coast
This is a good product in theory. However, it USED to be better!!! When the concept for a palm held rubber brush first came to light, they were offered in three different varieties... one for each of three different types of coat so you could choose the appropriate type to suit YOUR dog's coat, be it long like a collie, short and wiry like a poodle, or short and straight like a doberman. The design of the "teeth" of the brush (length, thickness, shape, and hardness of rubber material used) was created to suit the particular type of coat the brush was designed for. We got the one recommended for our dog's type of coat, and it worked great and she loved it. Now they only offer one style fits all, which is a degradation in product quality :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big fan!

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
I'm a big fan of KONG products. This brush works wonders and my dog loves when I brush him with it! I highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best grooming tool for heavy shedders.

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn,NY
I have a 9 months old Shiba Inu puppy, who tends to blow his double coat twice a year, it's really heavy in winters especially as they completely change their coat. Any of you who are familiar with this breed, knows the shedding chaos I am talking about,lol. I have so far used furminator (which is a tool I really don't recommend as it irritates and actually shears the undeveloped undercoat), and several other top of the line bristle brushes and rakes which used to be really hard to clean, and totally hard on hands for longer periods of brushing, I must say I bought this product on a whim, and it totally blew me away, it took off the whole undercoat in just few minutes without the fur flying everywhere, my puppy loved how it felt and stayed calmly in one place, it did not tire my hands out, and the cleaning was a breeze . The best thing that it keeps the excessive hair that are coming out on top of your dogs coat, instead of them falling and flying all over the place and then you can just sweep them off with your hand.Needless to say it was cheaper then furminator and other expensive rakes and bristle brushes. I loved this product and would recommend it to all doggy parents who have heavy shedders.Wish I had bought this earlier instead of wasting all my money on other products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it works, and my dog loves it

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Ohio, USA
My boxer loves grooming time with this brush. It is like a doggie massage. She stands still when I'm brushing her, and she will even nudge the brush with her nose sometimes to get me to continue! As if this were not good enough, the brush does a great job of removing loose hairs and dirt. Most everything clings to the brush, which can then be rinsed off easily. i would recommend the zoom groom brush for any dog with a short, tight coat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs LOVE it!!! I love it!!!

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
I bought this brush as a last attempt to tame my shedders. I have two mixes. One is a black lab/coonhound walker mix and my other is a black lab/doberman mix. They are amazing dogs who have a shedding problem. So, I purchased the Shed-X which does work and I wanted to try out this brush. I was super amazed when I tried it out. It worked wonders on Raja who is part Dobie and does not shed a lot. It worked even better on Lucky, who is our shedder. The brush got ALL the dead hair on him and then some. Combined with the Shed-X and the Kong brush, we should minimize our excess animal hair in two weeks tops!!!!! I highly recommend this brush for all types of dogs. They love the feel of it; my dogs fought over who got brushed next!!! Win Win for us!!! BUY IT!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KONG Zoom Groom Brush
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must Have!

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
The zoom groom was the best investment I ever made to my "grooming kit". I initially purchased it to use to bathe my dogs with but I quickly found that this simple tool is the most versatile and useful item you could have when owning a dog. It is a great brush for a dog with any type of coat, it not only pulls out amazing amounts of dead hair from my stock coated german shepherd, but it also gets unbelievable amounts of hair from my boxer. I brush them daily and they LOVE to see me holding it, they think of it as a daily massage. I brush them thoroughly with the zoom groom then finish it off with a boar bristle brush to smooth out the coat and brush away the dead hair. One word of caution is to ONLY use this outside, hair WILL fly everywhere. I can definitely say this is one item that adds to their shiny soft coats and I will always own one of these.
If you want great de-shed tool and don't want something that will "cut" the hair like a furminator, then you want this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>