petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Premier Pet Aromatic Red Cedar Bedding

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Premier Pet Aromatic Red Cedar Bedding

Absorbent heartwood cedar features a strong, woodsy aroma, excellent odor control and insect repellant propertiesBiodegradable for natural compost and mulch except when used as cat litterPETCO does not recommend Cedar Bedding for small animals
Average Customer Rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
4 out of 8(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Premier Pet Aromatic Red Cedar Bedding
Review 1 for Premier Pet Aromatic Red Cedar Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedNovember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
PetLover19
This stuff is great if you just want to mix it with other bedding that has no smell and thats how it is suposed to be used people say that it is toxic but if used right and in small amount just to keep the cage smelling clean it is fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Premier Pet Aromatic Red Cedar Bedding
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good Enough

PostedMarch 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pippers1
I have an 18 week old Teddy Bear hamster and he seems comfortable enough, but I have to constantly clean him because it gets tangaled in his hair. I would recomend the Care Fresh bedding.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Premier Pet Aromatic Red Cedar Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!

PostedMarch 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
SueCA
from CA
I started using cedar shavings in my dog run in 1989. A few years later, after a final attempt at growing grass in my back yard, I covered it with cedar shavings. During the years, I have had as few as 2 dogs and as many as 13 (litter of 8 puppies and 2 rescues included in this #). Bottom line, though, I have never had a flea in the yard the entire time! I swear by the cedar shavings; and my dogs sure seem to like them, too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Premier Pet Aromatic Red Cedar Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedOctober 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
boxerstwo
i have 2 boxers & we have a prt of the backyard just for them ...no grass will grow there so when it rains it's very muddy,,, i tried other products to cover this area & found that these cedar chips work great...regular mulch is very sharp on their feet & straw blows around...the cedar chips are soft, don't blow around, last a long time & smell great...they also make picking up after the dogs very easy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Premier Pet Aromatic Red Cedar Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not bad

PostedApril 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
nikki3
from tucson, az
i know, i'm the only one with a good review. this bedding does have some problems, i admit. but i have 20 rats, 3 guinea pigs, and 2 hamsters. they all are fine with it. the only problem i can see with this bedding is hat when it gets wet, it is very hard to clean. So, overall, i WOULD recomend this product if you have rats, mice, hamsters, ect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Premier Pet Aromatic Red Cedar Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Toxic for your pet

PostedNovember 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
lemurlou
from Granbury, TX
The fumes from cedar shavings have been proven to be toxic to small mammals, and may be toxic to other animals as well. If you want to use wood shavings, please use aspen. Otherwise, I recommend a paper-based bedding material, such as Carefresh.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Premier Pet Aromatic Red Cedar Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cedar Shavings Made My Pet Sick!

PostedAugust 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kasbers
from Las Vegas, NV
Cedar shavings should not be used for caged animals! Cedar wood shavings have been tested and are harmful to animals, especially small animals in cages or aquariums! There are other bedding options sold by Petco please consider one of these!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Premier Pet Aromatic Red Cedar Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NEVER USE CEDAR BEDDING!!!

PostedJuly 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
krista
from mountain view, ar
there are so many toxic oils in cedar bedding. hamsters, guinea pigs, rats, mice, or other small animals should NEVER be kept in these conditions. the only good thing about it is that it's cheap! but really, you can buy kiln-dried pine bedding for just a buck or so more. USE KILN-DRIED PINE, ASPEN, OR CAREFRESH BEDDING!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.