petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates

Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates

Safe, secure, and affordableCollapsible dog crates that are easy to set up and break downSlide out plastic pan for easy cleaningPet crates offered in a variety of sizes to accommodate breeds of every sizeImproved wire dog crates- now with a baked powder coat finish!Can be used with a variety of crate pads and blankets for an added layer of comfort and warmthAll sizes except x-small include a divider panel
Average Customer Rating:
4.639 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(640 Reviews) 640
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 640 reviews
5 stars
504
4 stars
92
3 stars
17
2 stars
3
1 star
24
605 out of 640(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
75 Questions | 93 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Review 1 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Dog Crate

PostedMay 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Lodi, CA
This crate is easy to set up. My dogs just love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Third time a charm?

PostedJune 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Shrewsbury, MA
We are on our third crate and our puppy isn't even 1 year old! This is not the crate for a labrador or any other dog that chews. The plastic bottom literally falls apart as the weight of the dog bends the plastic over the metal wire and the plastic begins to buckle. Our dog plays with buckled plastic and then once he creates a small hole, forget it. The most disturbing part of this product is that it is potentially unsafe. You are suppossed to be able to leave your dog in the crate when you can't keep a close eye on him, but how can I when he could swallow a sharp piece of plastic? Don't waste your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dog Ate the Crate

PostedJune 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh
My puppy broke out by eating the wire! I would not recommend this crate for someone with a larger breed puppy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS CRATE IS GREAT!

PostedJuly 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Rochester,NY
I have a Black Lab/Husky mix who is 3 years old, and ABSOLUTLY loves it. It was very easy to set up and has been moved around several times and still is working good. My dog adores it and when i tell him time for bed he runs right to it. This is a wonderful product and I would defenitly recomend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Folding cage

PostedSeptember 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
from ohio
The folding cage is a wish come true! NO assembly, just pull up on the top and it folds open!! I have used the cage for cats and rabbits and it has worked very well. The tray slides out for easy cleaning. The smaller sizes are relatively portable with top carrying handle. As for rabbits, I wish it had some side guards to keep litter from flying, but this IS a dog cage, not a rabbit cage.
The cage is pretty sturdy, at one time I even stacked a small on a medium cage and it worked with rabbits. It is not quite as sturdy as an assembled cage, so I am not sure how it would work with a dog. Cats and rabbits are not problems. The folding is a dream come true. It folds back down to a small size and goes back in the box!! I highly recommend this cage for cats and rabbits.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for visiting relatives

PostedSeptember 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Sioux Falls, SD
this is a good travel device - I use it whenever I visit the parents or other relatives that are not used to having dogs around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

XL pet crate

PostedOctober 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Chicagoland
I've used three of these for my large (55-90#) foster dogs. The set up is really easy -- couldn't ask for a better balance between transportability, durability, ease of cleaning and storage. My experience is that this isn't the best product for large neurotic dogs who hate being crated or owners who haven't the time and/or knowledge to properly create-train their pet; a non-portable heavy-duty model may be needed to contain the high-adrenaline canines. This is a very nice crate, especially for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedNovember 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Woodridge, IL
I bought the crate sized for up to a 25 lb dog. My Rat Terrier is full grown at 12 lb and has been crate trained since he was a pup. I have had this crate for 3 weeks and I came home yesterday and found the crate, which is metal in pieces. I know Rat Terriers are strong but to break metal as if it were plastic is unreal. The quality of this cage is poor for dogs that like to chew. I have to say though the Petco store I bought it from is great! They said I could return it for a full refund since I was not satisfied with the quality.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a value

PostedJanuary 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
from mid atlantic
I bought this crate because of the price, and I have been happily surprised. We adopted a Lab/German Shep mix puppy, and was happy to have a divider included (we didn't know how big she would get). She was very tough to crate train (in fact we gave up and did it the old fashion way). She hated the crate, chewed it, peed on it from the outside, etc... Well, she has the worst of both breeds, and still couldn't destroy it. We have used it in the car, house, and my sister's house, portability for a large crate is great. She now loves it (tolerates it), and am really happy with the durability (my 4 year old boy couldn't even break it)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little dog - good...Big dog - bad.

PostedJanuary 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
I bought this for my chihuahua. I bought the 25 pounder, even though he only weighs 5, but its great for him. He hearts it. I don't have to fight him to "go to bed". He sleeps and plays in it very good. I wouldn't recommend if for any large breed dog, we just got a alaskan malamute pup, while she's only 7 weeks old, it'll work ok for her for now, but another 3 weeks and it'll be too weak to hold her. So for a little dog, awesome, a big dog...get a dog house and fence your yard. I wouldn't even waste my money on the big ones, they're to flimsy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

he tore it up !

PostedMarch 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
from bethlehem Pa.
I have a seven month old German Shepard pup. He's been crataed since 8 weeks old and has'nt had a problem being crated. He outgrew his beginner crate and I bought this Giant size crate. I was satisified with the crate until he decided it would be better out of the crate, he broke most of the pieces holding the front together , including bending the door to the point where the crate opened. . I belive an additional two securing points (top and bottom) would have been sufficient to secure him. The ease of assembley was appreciated as well as the service of the local store, which refunded the cost of the crate eventhough it was purchased on line and was used for two months
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Deal

PostedApril 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Kenmore, WA
I purchased the extra large crate for my 83-pound adopted Dobie. We use it occasioanlly at home, but mostly at Flyball tournaments. At first she hated being left in the crate and would whine, howl and furiously dig at the door at 7 Million-dollar-man speed, and bite at it, then shred her bedding. Now after training and rewards, she goes in by herself and only whines occasionally. Point is, the crate handled her attempts at distruction and still looks brand new. We travel with it on my roof rack, lifts easily by 2 women.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's great

PostedApril 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I am a foster for a local animal shelter and have purchased this crate in all sizes. I feel my foster dogs do best and are more comfortable if the crate is lager than the suggested size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Divider did not fit.

PostedApril 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Vermont
If you are looking for a crate to train a large breed puppy, I recommend going to the store and trying out the crates before buying online. I bought this crate when in the planning stages of getting a ridgeback puppy. The day before the puppy came home, we put the crate together, and no matter how hard we tried, rotating, etc, the divider would not fit in the crate - the hooks were too short. We brought the crate back to our local store, and tried putting the dividers in the display model. That did not fit either (as well as many other models). We bought this crate with the idea of the puppy being able to grow with it, but with the divider being too small, there's no point in even using it. This problem was brand new to the associate that was helping us - she has the same crate and loves it, but uses it for an adult dog and never used the divider. However, if you are looking to train a large breed puppy, I would get a different crate. We ended up with a different Precision crate and love it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good buy

PostedMay 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
I love this crate because we used it also for just a place for our dog to sleep. She loved it as much as we do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cage

PostedMay 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
This crate is easy to set up as well as easy to clean. Heavy duty and the divider panel is great for your puppy's potty training!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedAugust 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
i have had this crate through 8 dogs and it still works we are taking are lab (85lbs) camping and this crate is what he sleeps in he dose'nt mind being in it at all great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

finally have crate

PostedAugust 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
After an order that never left the factory for a week, we finally got our large crate one day after calling to ask where it is. It had not been shipped. The next day it arrived, thanks for the extra fast service. We have a collie 7 mos old, 47 lbs now, going to be about 80 lbs. He loves all the room in this crate (for 100 lb dog). He goes in overnight and for two naps a day. I love it, he loves it. It seems very durable #938939 and the sale price only $84 with no shipping charge. So far so good, and thanks for the one day service after you learned of the mistake in shipping the first order.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Crate

PostedSeptember 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
I bought this crate for my 2 beagle puppies to share and they have been very comfortable and happy in it. I bought the 42x28x30 size for the 2 of them to have enough room to grow and move around. They are now 4 months old and about 13 lbs. each. They sleep in there at night and take 3 naps a day as well. There is plenty of room for them to play and they go straight in their "hideaway" when too many children are around, for sanctuary! LOL! They have been teething and biting on the crate for 3 months now and still there is no damage or paint removed from that area. The bottom pan is very easily removed for cleaning, and overall, it has been a life saver. I would recommend this product to anyone who has a need for a crate, especially for "potty training"! It is a very sturdy product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great

PostedSeptember 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
I got the crate fast and it was easy to put together. I've had it for a few months now and the training went great! Zues goes to his cage on command with the word "cage". I have read other reviews where their dogs have torn through the cage. This can happen with any crate if the dog is not trained properly! If you have a dog who is not yet trained for a crate I would recommend buying a crate training guide. Otherwise you will have a very tempermental and unhappy dog to deal with. I would recommend this low-cost and efficient crate to any one of my friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 32 next>>