petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates

Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates

Safe, secure, and affordableCollapsible dog crates that are easy to set up and break downSlide out plastic pan for easy cleaningPet crates offered in a variety of sizes to accommodate breeds of every sizeImproved wire dog crates- now with a baked powder coat finish!Can be used with a variety of crate pads and blankets for an added layer of comfort and warmthAll sizes except x-small include a divider panel
Average Customer Rating:
4.644 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(615 Reviews) 615
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 615 reviews
5 stars
488
4 stars
85
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 star
24
581 out of 615(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
68 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Review 1 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Basic, Decent

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
PetLoverInCT
The crate is made of a decent gauge of metal wire and each wall is fairly sturdy. Once it's all set up, it's a solid item. The tray for the bottom is heavy plastic and should wear quite well over the long term.
This crate comes with an adjustable divider so that the size can "grow" with your dog. It's pretty easy to move the panel when you need to, but it stays in place where it belongs well.
There are two door latches, and this makes for a solidly closed panel that will keep Fido securely in place. The hinges move smoothly, and nothing binds.
Setting up the crate is pretty easy, but the directions that come with it don't have much information to offer. For example, there are bands on the bottom of the long sides that attach them to the base. These allow the walls to rest inside or outside of the base piece. It's important to have them on the inside so that the divider panel can be installed without bending wires and breaking things.
There is no information on WHERE the handles should be installed. I have found that putting them in approximately the middle of the long sides makes it so that you can both lift and move the crate (two people) when it's set up and one handle is available when it's broken down.
In my opinion, this is a decent product. But, at the full $119.99 price, it is not a great value. I was fortunate enough to have gotten one when PetCo was running a fantastic sale, and that made it worth the money (I actually bought two).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT, LOVE IT! PETCO ProValu 1-Door Dog Crate

PostedOctober 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
RedRockets
Item Number: 938912
Item Name: PETCO ProValu 1-Door Dog Crate (36"L x 23"W x 25"H)
The crate has just arrived. It took me less than one minute to open the carton, extract crate from carton and fully assemble the crate. AWESOME, NO-BRAINER ASSEMBLY.....didn't need the included assembly instructions at all. I bought the "up to 70lb dog" size as I have a 53 lb Vizsla and a new Vizsla puppy; this crate is for the puppy so the divider will be used and adjusted to accommodate the puppy's growth. The construction of this crate is more than adequate for a Vizsla; I couldn't comment on/advise someone with a "destructo-dog". My opinion: impressive design; good-looking as far as crates go; easily assembled; easily folded; and, with the carry handle, easy transported from room-to-room. I'm a petite woman and I have no problem lifting the empty crate (with tray) at all. If I have a problem with the pup sliding open the latches, I'll use small carabiners to stop that - an easy, inexpensive, convenient solution. From date of order placement to day of delivery, time elapse was 5 days. It would have been 4 days except that the carrier had to scan and re-issue the shipping label since the original was damaged. Internet Special price was also attractive and beat the competitions' prices. Coupon for a free crate training DVD was included (customer pays postage). I am VERY pleased with the purchase of this crate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

800 series single door

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
janet214
from Northern California foothills
I purchased this for my dobbermen puppy. It huge and a little heavy, but is sturdy. The door has 2 latches, which makes me feel safe that she will not get out at night. The latches are much easier to deal with then the plastic crates, say for an elderly person. My puppy had used a borrowed plastci crate and loved it, so I am having adjustment issues with the new one. She has pottied and cries, but I think if I buy the crate cover it will feel a little more like a den for her. It is easy clean up for potty mistakes. Just slide the plastic tray out, take outside and clean up. I do recommend that if you are elderly that you do get some help with the set up and placement. Getting the walls to stand up while crawling inside of it to stand up the front or back can be tricky ( for the larger ones only). Also if you decide to set it in a room it does not fit through the door if fully setup. So you have to disassemble and flip it on its side and slide it into the room. But once set up, it works great and does not look bad.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Divider did not fit.

PostedApril 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
mb123
from Vermont
If you are looking for a crate to train a large breed puppy, I recommend going to the store and trying out the crates before buying online. I bought this crate when in the planning stages of getting a ridgeback puppy. The day before the puppy came home, we put the crate together, and no matter how hard we tried, rotating, etc, the divider would not fit in the crate - the hooks were too short. We brought the crate back to our local store, and tried putting the dividers in the display model. That did not fit either (as well as many other models). We bought this crate with the idea of the puppy being able to grow with it, but with the divider being too small, there's no point in even using it. This problem was brand new to the associate that was helping us - she has the same crate and loves it, but uses it for an adult dog and never used the divider. However, if you are looking to train a large breed puppy, I would get a different crate. We ended up with a different Precision crate and love it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy 19x12x14 for dogs under 10 lbs.!!!!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
RachelHJ
from Houston, TX
DO NOT buy for small puppies! I purchased the smallest dog crate for puppies up to 10 lbs (19”L X 12”W” 14”H)
The crate comes with a dividing wall with about 3-4 inches of clearance from the bottom of the plastic pan to the bottom of the dividing wall. I used the dividing wall to make the cage smaller for my 4 month old, 4.5 lb. Maltese puppy (she is about the size of small Chihuahua). I placed a thick bed in the crate that would make the clearance from the bottom of the bed to the bottom of the dividing wall very small. When I came home from lunch today to let me dog out to potty, she was STUCK in the tiny section of the cage!!!! :(
I removed the crate and the plastic pan and coaxed her to crawl through to the other side. She was fine and playful after but I have no idea how long she was trapped. I feel terrible and am upset that they suggest this crate for dogs up to 10 lbs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Training Crate Series 400

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
PALS
from San Antonio, TX
My 10 month old kitten was recently attacked by a dog and was seriously injured. When we were able to bring him home, he had to be secluded from our other pets and confined as he was not able to walk on his own due to a spinal cord injury. This crate was the perfect size for him. He was able to stretch out and scoot himself around. There was even enough room for his food and water dish and it fit nicely beside my bed. It was easy to set up by myself, but it does seem to take two to take it down. The handles that come with it is what sold me, making it easy to carry from room to room. I would recommend this product, but compare the price online with the store price before purchasing. I found the product in the store for $80 and had to hold off. I came home and checked Petco.com and found the exact product for $30 with free shipping. I would highly recommend this crate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

undeniable quality

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
dogsbshoppin
from Sacramento, CA
I walk my upstairs neighbors pups a few times a week, and I noticed that one pup, Bentley, had one of these crates as his training aid. I had recently taken in a pup from the city shelter as a foster, and wanted to get her own crate so, for I'm sure the first time in her young life, she has a place to escape that's her own.
I checked in on the Petco website and noticed that these crates were on sale.....no no......SAAAAALE!!!
The quality of these crates are awesome. Not heavy, but heavy duty, easy opening door, and for the shopper like me that looks for these things....a blingy "PETCO" logo plate on the door. Penny really enjoyes her new crate, and I have security knowing that Penny is safe and secure while I'm away.
Great purchase either way, but if you can purchase one of these on sale, you'll feel like you came out on top more ways than one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Purchase!

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
MeNmyPuppy
from Southern California
700 Series is HUGE! Bought this for my Jack Russell puppy for trips so he isn't trapped in a small crate and for him to stay in during the day since he jumps over the puppy gate. This will work great when he gets bigger too! This crate took me literally 5 seconds to set up. Careful to not PINCH your fingers!! Waiting for my crock to arrive and see how this set up works out! Super excited my puppy has room to play and not feel confined. For some reason he WILL NOT go potty in his original kitchen area. Still working on the crate training part but since he tends to hold his bladder ALL DAY until I get home from work... I figured he wouldnt go in his crate either. We will find out. 5 stars for Design, Durability, Setup, and for being so darn simple! It is kind of heavy but the handles are convenient!
A+++++ Definitely a great item
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for Houdini dogs.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
JuliaBrunosMom
from Berkeley, CA
My pit mix is crate-trained so I figured we'd have no problem with this product.
Day 1 was fine. Day 2 he bent the wires enough to stick his nose through. Day 3 I put him in there for a few minutes with the door half-latched, and he managed to undo the latch and was out and about in no time. Okay, lesson learned.
Day 4 I left him for a few hours. I came home and he was out and about, crafty pup. But this time he didn't unlatch it, he just took down the entire front wall.
As hilarious as it is to witness my dog's Houdini abilities (and to watch him PUT THE WALL BACK UP because his toys are stuck underneath) this is obviously not a way to keep him out of trouble when I'm gone.
If your dog is chill, then this crate is a good purchase. If your dog is an agent of entropy and a master of destruction, look elsewhere.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quite convenient!

PostedFebruary 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
PhilThaRealDeal
from Monroe, LA
I purchased this item a few weeks ago. Arrived fairly quickly...and in the morning as well! I was happy. Allowed me to install it before I went to work. I would say that the hardest thing about this crate.....was getting it out of the box....lol! But after I got it out...one, two, three, done!
I promise you...that simple. My puppy is about 2 months old now (German Shepherd/Rottweiler mix) and he's around 18lbs now. I purchased the 70 lb crate. So I'm sure I may be buying the larger one in a few months. This crate is very convenient, easy to break down if your traveling. The quality is very decent and my pup hasn't tried to chew it up yet.
It is very easy to clean up/out...dust mainly. It has really helped with potty training. Since I purchased this crate, my pup has learned to do his business outside.
I Love It!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

incredibly easy set-up

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NC
I bought 4 crates and dreaded having to put them all together, but was determined. I have a crate that I purchased years ago and it is a tremendous challenge to assemble. Usually I can get the four sides up, and then need to call in my teen son to finish assembly.
I pulled the first crate out of the box, read the instructions, popped it open, locked the front and back panel into place and completed set-up in less than five minutes. Each crate after took less time and I was finished with setting up the crates before I knew it!
The dogs are adjusting well to their crate training, the crates are sturdy, and lightweight. I don't know how well they would handle being moved or picked up frequently, but for my purpose, they are fantastic crates and incredibly value for their cost. Very pleased with this purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just okay

PostedNovember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
dixiefam
from Harrisburg, PA
I loved the size, price and free shipping - I was so excited to receive this crate. Then it came and I have to say I am disappointed in the quality. The wire is not as thick as I would like and this crate is not for a dog that gets agitated while crated as the structure is a little flimsy. Also, when I removed it from the box the top and sides were slightly bowed from having heavy boxes stacked on top of it in the warehouse, so the sides don't fit together that great. The top sags almost to the point that it's not held by the hooks on the end pieces. I fixed it by using zip-ties but that pretty much negates the easy transportability that this crate boasts.
Overall it does the job and the idea of the design is a good one. I just wish the quality was a little better. You get what you pay for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Crate

PostedSeptember 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
myl8ybug
I bought this crate for my 2 beagle puppies to share and they have been very comfortable and happy in it. I bought the 42x28x30 size for the 2 of them to have enough room to grow and move around. They are now 4 months old and about 13 lbs. each. They sleep in there at night and take 3 naps a day as well. There is plenty of room for them to play and they go straight in their "hideaway" when too many children are around, for sanctuary! LOL! They have been teething and biting on the crate for 3 months now and still there is no damage or paint removed from that area. The bottom pan is very easily removed for cleaning, and overall, it has been a life saver. I would recommend this product to anyone who has a need for a crate, especially for "potty training"! It is a very sturdy product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Folding cage

PostedSeptember 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
kimba
from ohio
The folding cage is a wish come true! NO assembly, just pull up on the top and it folds open!! I have used the cage for cats and rabbits and it has worked very well. The tray slides out for easy cleaning. The smaller sizes are relatively portable with top carrying handle. As for rabbits, I wish it had some side guards to keep litter from flying, but this IS a dog cage, not a rabbit cage.
The cage is pretty sturdy, at one time I even stacked a small on a medium cage and it worked with rabbits. It is not quite as sturdy as an assembled cage, so I am not sure how it would work with a dog. Cats and rabbits are not problems. The folding is a dream come true. It folds back down to a small size and goes back in the box!! I highly recommend this cage for cats and rabbits.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
MamaNBabyDogs
from Austin, Texas
I ordered two of these, one for Mama and one for Baby. They arrived as estimated and were packaged properly. My boyfriend had no trouble putting both of them together in less than 10 minutes, including the separator for Baby as she is only 3 months old and if she had all the space in the crate, she would use part of it as a toilet. No accidents so far. After a week, the dogs have no problems getting in and since there is a treat involved when the doors close, they are eager to get tucked in for the night. I otherwise leave the doors open and keep a bowl of water in each so they have their separate space. This is also where they get fed. The hardest part is keeping Baby from going into Mama's crate. The ultimate test will be when we travel with them for the first time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected!

PostedJune 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
ScrltRider
from Saint Louis, MO
After reading all the reviews on this product I felt pretty comfortable ordering it without having seen one and I'm glad I did. This crate is great!
We ordered the 800 series for our 1 year old chocolate lab who is about 45 lbs. It only took about 4 days to ship and the price was right.
This crate is the perfect size. His dog bed fits in just right. He has more than enough room to stand up, move around, lay down and stretch out to his heart's content.
I had debated on the 700 series but I believe that would have been too small. I wanted to err on the side of too large if anything.
I think the 1 door is fine, I don't even see a reason for 2 doors quite honestly.
This is a great purchase for us and our dog Fergus loves his crate as well! ***Highly recommended***
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Series 800 dog crate

PostedNovember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
ryansgirl04
from ridgecrest, ca
I bought the series 700 for my 50 lb pitbull mix and i bought the 800 series for my 90 lb chocolate lab mix. both crates are very sturdy and easy to assemble. the 800 series is a bit heavy (37lbs) it does not say on the review but the 700 comes with one handle to put on top and the 800 series comes with 2 handles to help move it around. this description also doesnt mention that the crate folds, which it does, so we can toss it in the back of a truck for traveling. the 800 series will fit my two dogs and myself inside (yes i tried it) but for the crate training while i'm away at work for 4 hours, each crate is the perfect size for my dogs to stand, turn around, and even lay out flat with their legs sticking outward. best money ive spent on my dogs thus far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not recommended for smart dogs

PostedAugust 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
sukiyaki
I bought this crate at a Petco employee's recommendation (I was buying another kind but he used this one for his adult dog and it was also on sale). It's decent overall, easy to clean and use, very useful puppy divider that's been helpful for crate training.
But it took my 8 week old puppy (lab/blue heeler mix) less than 2 weeks to figure out how to unlock it from inside. And once she figured it out once, it was all over. It's too easy for inquisitive dogs to slide the latches open from the inside. I now have to keep a heavy duty steel keychain hook on the latch to keep her locked in. Also unwieldy to carry up and down stairs, but I'm sure this is an issue for all large wire crates. I need to buy another one to keep upstairs to save my poor back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Good Crate

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
BluePitbull
from Honolulu, HI
I have a 10 week old Bluenose Pitbull and this crate works pretty well for us. The divider is useful as I was able to have her in a smaller part of the cage until her size required more. I read that it shouldn't give her too much space that she thinks it's a play area. The cage is sturdy and easy to build. The pan in the bottom is like any other though higher sides might be useful. Our dog can't hold it that long yet so there have been a couple times urine has gotten over the side and on the carpet. I got this very discounted as a customer service, not sure I would spend more than $70 for it especially since i might need to get a bigger version once she is fully grown in order to not have her scrunched. She will probably be about 60-70 lbs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Crates

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
NekoKauKebin
from Kingston, NY
I ordered these crates to use to acclimatize two new cats into my family, so my review may not be helpful for dog owners, The crates seem quite sturdy (certainly adequate for cats) and are very nicely designed, being extremely easy to assemble and knock down. The bottom tray comes out for easy cleaning. In the collapsed position, each crate fits in a box that is about 3" deep, so they are easy to store. The door latches are secure yet easy to open - all in all, a nicely designed, easy to use product. These crates come in a range of sizes so I was able to pick a size that perfectly suited my needs.
The service was also great - I ordered these over the holidays and was concerned they might take a while to come but they arrived in two days.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 next>>