petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates

Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates

Safe, secure, and affordableCollapsible dog crates that are easy to set up and break downSlide out plastic pan for easy cleaningPet crates offered in a variety of sizes to accommodate breeds of every sizeImproved wire dog crates- now with a baked powder coat finish!Can be used with a variety of crate pads and blankets for an added layer of comfort and warmthAll sizes except x-small include a divider panel
Average Customer Rating:
4.642 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(621 Reviews) 621
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 621 reviews
5 stars
491
4 stars
88
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 star
24
587 out of 621(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
73 Questions | 90 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Review 1 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
WhiskeysMom
from Florida
I did a lot of research online to find the best deal and quality. This crate was shipped very fast!!! Assembly was easy and quick. The metal is not quite as sturdy as the smaller one I had but it does the job without a problem. I got it on sale and you can't beat the price anywhere else! Will definitely recommend this to everyone! Measurements were a huge help to compare to the old one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy set-up

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
dogwhisperer
from Alabama
I have used crates for many years but this is my favorite by far. It is so easy to set up. Other crates have literally taken 30 minutes or more but this one took only a few minutes. Plus I can just fold it down and stand it against the wall or behind the couch when I'm not using it. It is sturdy and holds together very well. I purchased the XXL.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the money!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Penny4URthoughts
from Galax, VA
This crate was larger than I expected. The price was amazing! Very well built and perfect for our minpin.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good crate but...

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
DgDoggs
I do like this crate for my puppies. I needed an extra one since I had one crate already. It does its job. Thw reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is because of two things. The crate pan gets knocked out quite often and when I purchased the crate, I was informed that the crate pan didn't come with it and had to purchase another one. When I opened the box, there was a crate pan in there. So i had an extra pan for nothing. Either way, the crate works beautifully.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Larger Crate

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
BorderBadgerFan
from WI
We had a medium double door crate for our Border Collie puppy, but even though he was within the weight range for that crate, he was too tall and wasn't comfortable in it any more, so we looked for a larger one that would work for us. And luckily we found this one! It is plenty large for our 37 lb, no longer a puppy, puppy. It has a front door only but that works fine for us. We don't need the divider anymore but glad to have it. I like that the door has too latches and there's a lock to keep the tray in place. Price is great for the size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great crate!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Snackpackmom
from Rochester, NY
I had to return a loaner crate and needed a replacement for my 90 lb Lab mix. After researching crates from a number of vendors, I selected this crate. Set-up was easy and my dog has been sleeping in it ever since!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Good Crate

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
BluePitbull
from Honolulu, HI
I have a 10 week old Bluenose Pitbull and this crate works pretty well for us. The divider is useful as I was able to have her in a smaller part of the cage until her size required more. I read that it shouldn't give her too much space that she thinks it's a play area. The cage is sturdy and easy to build. The pan in the bottom is like any other though higher sides might be useful. Our dog can't hold it that long yet so there have been a couple times urine has gotten over the side and on the carpet. I got this very discounted as a customer service, not sure I would spend more than $70 for it especially since i might need to get a bigger version once she is fully grown in order to not have her scrunched. She will probably be about 60-70 lbs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco 1 door crate

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Riley2011
Very good!! We use these in our boarding facility for overflow. They work great
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Latches are difficult

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
MouseDog
from Sacramento
I purchased this to crate train my rescued cattle dog. I don't know his story, but I suspect he's never been crated. This crate works fine with an open door, but latching it is quite difficult and noisy. This made it hard to help my dog feel comfortable in his new environment and I would often end up letting him out before I even got it latched because he's panic. Now that he's crate trained it's fine, I just wanted to share this because it created quite a bit of stress for him during crate training. I have the two door crate for my little dog and like it much better. The latches are easier to use.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crate

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chrismaria
from Naples, FL
Our little Maltipoo loves her crate. Excellent quality,fast shipping!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

700 stores dog training create

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Holley313
from Point Pleasant NJ
Crate is very sturdy and easy to lock. I love the feature of making crate smaller until puppy reaches her adult size by it having adjustable back wall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy 19x12x14 for dogs under 10 lbs.!!!!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
RachelHJ
from Houston, TX
DO NOT buy for small puppies! I purchased the smallest dog crate for puppies up to 10 lbs (19”L X 12”W” 14”H)
The crate comes with a dividing wall with about 3-4 inches of clearance from the bottom of the plastic pan to the bottom of the dividing wall. I used the dividing wall to make the cage smaller for my 4 month old, 4.5 lb. Maltese puppy (she is about the size of small Chihuahua). I placed a thick bed in the crate that would make the clearance from the bottom of the bed to the bottom of the dividing wall very small. When I came home from lunch today to let me dog out to potty, she was STUCK in the tiny section of the cage!!!! :(
I removed the crate and the plastic pan and coaxed her to crawl through to the other side. She was fine and playful after but I have no idea how long she was trapped. I feel terrible and am upset that they suggest this crate for dogs up to 10 lbs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for Houdini dogs.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
JuliaBrunosMom
from Berkeley, CA
My pit mix is crate-trained so I figured we'd have no problem with this product.
Day 1 was fine. Day 2 he bent the wires enough to stick his nose through. Day 3 I put him in there for a few minutes with the door half-latched, and he managed to undo the latch and was out and about in no time. Okay, lesson learned.
Day 4 I left him for a few hours. I came home and he was out and about, crafty pup. But this time he didn't unlatch it, he just took down the entire front wall.
As hilarious as it is to witness my dog's Houdini abilities (and to watch him PUT THE WALL BACK UP because his toys are stuck underneath) this is obviously not a way to keep him out of trouble when I'm gone.
If your dog is chill, then this crate is a good purchase. If your dog is an agent of entropy and a master of destruction, look elsewhere.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product and GREAT price

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvMyPet2012
from Brick, NJ
When we rescued our new addition the people we got her from gave us an old worn crate.....but it worked until I was abe to purchase a new one.....in my search I was shocked to see how much they cost....but when I checked out your website I was very happy to see a great price....good quality product. would definately recommend this product to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

dog crate

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
budhagrama
from Avinger,tx
excellent buy!i loved it so much i bought another one ,a bigger one for other animals.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Difficult to latch

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
MalLvr
from Frederick, MD
aI purchased the 800 series crate for my rescued Alaskan Malamute. I am generally satisfied with the crate, although the panels are somewhat warped and Ellie has figured out how to slide the bottom tray out by herself.
My biggest issue however, is with the latch. It generally takes 4-5 tries to get the door latched. This is quite frustrating when dealing with a large-breed dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Right size, great price

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
JJTexas
from Carrollton, TX
This wire crate arrived very quickly and is exactly as presented on the website, including 2 handles. It was easy to assemble, and the price was great, even with shipping charges added.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal!

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
ricebarbiee
from Laguna Niguel, CA
Excellent kennel for an AWESOME price!!! Only downside is the ones I was sent were dirty...so I had to take them back to the store and exchange them. But in store they were FULL PRICE! I'm so glad I ordered online, got the free shipping AND saved over 60% on them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just right

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cherylynnk
from new york
this dog crate is great. Portable and sturdy. Is exactly as described.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Classic 1-Door Dog Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetCo Classic Dog Crate

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blasko
from Geneva, OH
We're very happy with our purchase of the dog crate. It arrived quickly, the size is good for our dog and it was easy to assemble. Very good price for the value - very sturdy for a larger dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 32 next>>