petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate

Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate

Sets up in secondsStrong, lightweight aluminum frameFolds flat for easy storageIncludes crate mat and carry caseLarge accessory pocketRubberized feet stop skiddingFour large zipper doors
Average Customer Rating:
3.617 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
13
41 out of 60(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Review 1 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality!

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bought this create for my cats to travel in. They love it and its extremely easy to assemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Woodside, CA
Bought this canvas crate for my golden puppy who will grow into it real soon. We keep it in the car so she has a safe place when we travel. It is easy to put together and because it is canvas it is breathable. It keeps her cool. Love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Crate

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Sturdy construction, nicely ventilated, comfortable mat. Simply add a blanket, a treat, and your fur baby.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable canvas crate

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from olean ny
What a great travel crate and at home sleep bed
for my schnauzer. Vented and so good looking.
Construction is sturdy and she likes it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wyoming
Bought this product because our dog needed a bigger sized kennel! We have a 30 pound border collie and we purchased the medium size and it was perfect! I love that it is light weight but still sturdy. It is very convienent that it also collapses that way we can take it with us when we travel. Over great product and I would recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong Crate!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
It's a great product. It's very easy to set up, durable and strong with excellent ventillation. I like the fact that there are many zipper openings available; top, sides, front and back. I would recommend it to anyone. I'm sure there will be negative reviews from the owners of their destroyer pets, they probably better off using a metal craft. It also looks great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest crate ever!

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Laurel, MS
I highly recommend this crate. I needed it to be easy to lift as I would be moving it often. It is perfect for that due to it being lightweight. We actually own it in Small and bought another in Medium. We now use the small for traveling. I highly recommend this crate. I added the memory foam pad that I also purchased at Petco. It's not necessary, but thought they deserved it!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Travel Carrier for Car

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu
Works perfectly for my Cocker Spaniel as a travelling car carrier so she isn't jumping & running around in the car. She can see out as well as see us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for us

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NH
We purchase this for our 4 month old lab. She is a really calm pup. We use it on the road when away from home.
It is quick and easy to put together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy I purchased.

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
My dogs love this crate. I originally bought it for my larger dog (he's about 25 lbs) to keep him comfortable while I'm walking the rally course, but my smaller dog (15lbs) loves it too. They like to sleep in it when I'm not home, and even when I'm just watching TV in the room. I'm thinking of purchasing another one when there's a good deal (I got the medium size one for $69.99).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not quality construction

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
Pros: lightweight, nice carrying case, easy to set up and tear down
Cons: low-quality stitching came apart
Out 50-lb aussie shephard/doberman mix has been crate-trained in a wire metal crate for several years now, but after our other dog passed away, we wanted to get a smaller and easy-to-travel crate. We loved how light and easy to transport this was, but the first time we traveled with it, he broke through the stitching. We tried the crate out several times at home before our trip and he was just fine, but he was a little stressed out when we left him in an unfamiliar environment. We felt like if he has broken through the zipper, that wouldn't be the fault of the product, but the entire stictched seam came apart. The thread that was used was flimsy cotton thread that you would use to sew a T-shirt, not a heavy canvas stitching. Petco did give us our money back as a store credit, no questions asked, which was appreciated. But, if you have a pet that needs to be crated when left alone, a cheaply-made product like this will not contain them!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for travel

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boise, ID
We purchased this soft crate to take our 4 month old Whippet on travel for a week with us. We wanted something that could both be used in the car as well as in hotel rooms and was lightweight and easy to carry.
Pros-
- it is lightweight and very easy to assemble
-it does not require tools
- the fuzzy pad it comes with is an added bonus. We added a towel of our own as well
-there are three different entrances, front, side and top. This is very convenient when in a car and position is tight
-handy storage pockets are once for water bowl, water bottle and leash
Cons- as it is not as sturdy as a metal crate, do not leave your dog unattended in this soft crate unless you are positive he or she won't try to get out of it.
- it is easily chewed through, if the dog desired
- there is no good way to seatbelt it into the car. I ended up with so much luggage that there was no way it could move, but I could see this being a problem on other trips.
Overall- this worked perfectly for our purposes. He travelled well I the car and could see us through the mesh sides. He slept well at tonight. I covered the mesh at night with blankets to help him sleep. Worked perfectly.
Bottom line- good for travel. Probably not the best long term crate solution.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good so far

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Erieville, NY
Just purchased one of these in a large size for our dog Gracie. It was very easy to assemble in the store without any instructions (were missing from the box) or help from staff. It disassembled as easy as it went up. Although it has a thick fuzzy mat in the floor we put Gracie's dog bed inside for a familiar smell. She has been sleeping inside since. It looks durable and suitable for the travel we will be doing. I love the travel case and the light weight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor for Dogs

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Harrisburg, PA
After 3 weeks my dog dug a hole in the mesh by the zipper. Going to try to exchange it for a metal. Bed in it is very nice and easy to put together. $127.00 and of no use to us now.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LIGHT TRAVEL KENNEL

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from S. California
Bought my second one this week! The first was STOLEN out of my vehicle! This if for an OLDER, trained dog. I use in my brand new car, so the Jack Russels don't ruin the leather, windows, door panels if I have to leave them in the car ( cold weather ONLY) for a few minutes. They travel in it when I drive for safety, no wandering into my lap.
Young dogs WILL be able to chew/tear it up. I don't want a huge bulky plastic or metal crate scraping up my vehicle. This one has little plastic frame that unscrews in seconds, so it folds up for needed space or setting up in a hotel, etc. PERFECT!!! Zippers on two sides and top. Can see thru with mesh...attractive, light, portable and worth every penny. LOCK car if you leave it in the vehicle!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like this one best

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boston MA
This is the best soft crate! I've had a bunch of the other brand crates that get lots of reviews on other big sites, but this Petco one is the best, here's why:
- All the sides zip open so your dog can use it as a comfy doggy cave but still feel a part of what's going on
- One of the zip down sides is mesh and the other is solid so you can get more privacy that's adjustable than crates that have mesh on all sides
- The frame assembly/disassembly uses a screw in place mechanism that doesn't pinch your fingers off or require hand strength, much easier more portable.. This point probably should have gone first since it's the major reason I take this crate everywhere and not the others
- Carrying bag with multiple shoulder strap options, can also fit a couple toys in with crate for a complete doggy diaper bag
We really love this crate. Cats, dogs, pet parents, everybody!
Now, obviously (as some negative reviews mention) a soft crate isn't exactly going to contain your pet while you're away. Especially if they're scratchers and chewers while locked in. Soft crates are meant to be containment while you're around at most, and otherwise just a hangout spot for the animals to feel comfortable. Use a wire crate for crate training!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes a crate feel like home

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Laguna Beach, California
I bought the medium size for my Golden Retriever puppy and came back for the large one now that he is getting bigger. Great for night time. Soft and cozy. Not as harsh and and hard to deal with as metal crates. Zippers all around make it very accessible and easy to comfort a new puppy. My dog loved it from the beginning and it made bed time hassle free! Unfortunately I had to return the second one because a stabilizer bar was bent on delivery but immediately ordered a replacement of the same one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore
This crate is a great concept. Light weight, easy to put together, great for traveling. It is also extremely poorly made. The zipper broke within 2 weeks of buying it and if you have a dog who digs/scratches they could easily destroy the material.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mostly great!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Irvine, CA
I’m pleased with this crate. We take our terrier as many places as we are allowed and we wanted something that would provide a triple function of home den, car crate, and home away from home on outings. This has been doing a pretty good job with only a few minor complaints. (The frame isn’t aluminum, it’s a strong plastic, but I actually like that much better.)
Cons:
*Not easy to carry: When it’s open, the handles are pretty small and can only be carried with two hands because they are so far apart. If you’re carrying your dog in the crate, it’s rather cumbersome. (I hope to jerry-rig some better handles onto it that will solve that, but we’ll see.)
*Collapsing: It collapses easy enough, but I can never seem to get it folded into its nice flat state very easily, if at all.
*I'd like to see more loops/handles to make securing it in the car simpler and safer.
Pros:
*Zippers on four sides make access simple!
*Pouch and bottle holder on back are perfect for standard travel gear like a collapsible water bowl, waste bags, a chew, etc.
*Front mesh flap can be secured up or left hanging down for a dog door effect when it’s used as a den so you can decide if you want more visibility inside, or if you want to give your dog more privacy.
*I haven’t thrown this in the machine wash yet, but I think it will stand up alright. In the mean time it holds up to wiping down and lint rolling just fine.
*I have washed the inside mat and that’s very simple. You just unzip the outer slip and pull out the foam interior. You can throw the cover slip in the wash, and the plasticy foam inside can be wiped down with cleaner and left in the sun. The cover goes back on without a struggle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Home and Travel Portable Canvas Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect!

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rushville IN
I absolutely love this crate! Just brought home an 8 week old cavapoo, only had him one week, he loves it! Its soft but durable, cozy and easy to move from room to room and travel with! I don't have to completely tear it down to put it in the car, all his toys and bedding can stay inside when I put it in the car. Fits in the back seat, or the trunk.
We leave one little door open and put him in our bathroom when we leave, with piddle pads down and he's already doing great, doesn't cry or whine or bark. It's his happy place.
It's made really well, great for a smaller dog, not sure how it would be for a lab or larger (we have labs also).
Highly recommend- this product is quality!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>