petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Insight Millet Spray Holder

Insight Millet Spray Holder

Designed for a bird's well-beingMillet sprays easily slide into the plastic holder for your bird to snack onEasily attaches to the bars of a cageSuitable for parakeets, canaries, cockatiels and finchesAssorted colors
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
13 out of 20(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Review 1 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for rats (not sure for birds)

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
princessunicorn
from Colorado Springs, CO
I have two really sweet rats and I wanted a more interactive way for them to eat vegetables. These work great! It really gives them a workout when they are trying to grab the carrots or broccoli from the holder. (I take the holder out right after they eat all the veggies to prevent them from chewing on it). These are great for the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
MeOzFerg
from Nashville, MI.
Serves the purpose it was intended for. Keeps millet off the cage floor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
animallove14
from florida
i got it for my cockatiels .i paid $3.00.but i see that some time its hard for them to eat out of it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

what a waste!

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
jlswims
from Los Angeles, CA
This thing is so flimsy, it doesn't even attach to the bars in the cage. It kept falling off. My green cheek conure had no difficulty pulling it down.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect Product

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Animals4500
from Milwaukee, WI
I was at the pet store and purchased this because it was cheap, just to try it out. I put it in my parakeet's cage and they had an easy time getting out the millet spray and it made the cage less messy. The only problem is that it makes a mess when you put the millet spray in the holder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good.

PostedMarch 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Byrd1987
from Waltham Ma
My cockatiel has a harder time reaching seed through narrow holes but overall it is goo b/c now he dosen't finish his millet right after I give it to him... he has to work for it. He seem entertained.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good idea, bad results.

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nelloyello11
I thought this would be great. I have zebra finches who LOVE their millet. I've been looking for an effective way to hang it up so they can get at it. I thought it would be perfect but they showed no interest in eating the millet once I put it in this holder. I'm not sure if they could even tell what it was. Also, my cage has a roof-shaped top, so this only works to hang it dead-center (where it blocks their flight paths) or slid all the way over to one end. I went back to using treat clips.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Millet Spray Holder

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Las Vegas, NV
I haven't had a chance to use it yet as I still need to buy the millet spray to put in it. I am planning on buying another one for my other cage. Great idea & a wonderful way to give my parakeets Camilla & Gonzo a special treat.....Lucky yours is being ordered!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too narrow

PostedApril 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Irvine, CA
This product would be great if millet actually fit inside of it properly. It is too narrow so you have to force the millet in. This makes a huge mess and wastes several seeds. You would be better off with a clothes pin.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mostly Good....

PostedJuly 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
buttonquailaddict
It's good because with Button Quails, they don't perch, so they used to just step on and soil the millet, which doesn't make for a happy owner. So, I got these and they are great! You don't have to always replace soiled millet, and it doesn't break off all over!
The only problems are that it is kind of hard to fit on the wire, and most of the piece doesn't fit in the holder, which makes the pieces fall off.
Other than that, I will still keep using it!
TIP: They may not use it at first, but after they get used to it, they will soon find out that a tasty treat is in there!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BAD. PERIOD.

PostedJanuary 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kelsang
from Richfield,Minnesota
This may seem great and safer then the usual veggy clip. WRONG! This "millet holder" does not work at all! It is too long and my budgies are better off eating millet spray clipped with a veggy clip or laying it on the side of their cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best ever!

PostedMay 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
PiggiesMommy
from Illinois
These are great! I have quite a few of them, I usually keep 2 of them in each cage. They hold onto the millet great and keep it off the floor and away from droppings. I love these and would highly recommend to your millet lovers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Neat answer to a seedy problem

PostedApril 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
4theKeets
Keeps the millet spray from breaking off and falling to the floor of the cage; the birds can cling to the sides and climb up to reach the upper part of the spray, which normally is inaccessible. However, I wouldn't rate it "excellent" because only part of a good-sized spray can fit inside. Also a lot of seeds come off the spray when I try to push it inside the holder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MIllet Spray Holder

PostedFebruary 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
dama
I really liked thi millet holder because I would always put it in the floor, and when I saw it, I thought it was a great idea and it was cheap. My bird really liked it, and I feel better putting it in the millet holder, rather than the floor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't bother!

PostedJanuary 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
SeniorBabies
from Tampa, FL
This is useless. It does not hang right no matter what I tried, or stay hung when I simply gave up and hung it from a clip, then my conure was able to pull the millet spray right out of it and proceeded to chew up this holder. Just weave the millet spray between the bars and you AND your bird are much better off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ehh, Its ok...

PostedAugust 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
cockatielian
from Houston, TX
This product was ok but my birds would just eat the seeds sticking out of the "holes" my cockatiels couldnt reach into the inner part of the seeds...but if the holes were larger i'd give it 4-5 stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

ick

PostedDecember 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
cavylove13
from Pa
I had bought this product today with a cage, some toys, orange cuttlebone, millet spray, food, and my first ever parakeet. I was very disappointed with this product. First it was made of fairly cheap plastic, and it was not easy to install in my cage. since my cage isn't the usual shape it wouldn't hang right (it should have a swivel clip).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Spray holder hanger

PostedSeptember 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
ScorpioII
from Anderson,IN
This
is (overall) a good investment. However some further thought should be
given to the hanger. With a spray inserted it is vertually impossible
to get the holder hung and putting the spray in after the holder is
hung (unless the cage bars are farther apart than mine) only resuts in
balls of the millet getting broken off. I attached a twist tie (from a
loaf of bread) to the hanger which affords a much easier means to hang
this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good product!!

PostedAugust 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
LovebirdFreak85
from MA
My lovebird loves to hang all over this while eating his millet spray!! You can't go wrong with it, and if you don't have the time to feed it to your bird, but want to still give them the millet treat, just put in this and hang! I recommend this very much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Insight Millet Spray Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great idea !

PostedJuly 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
Marg
from OHIO
I bought a couple of these holders to cut down on the seed mess.I'm sorry to say my cockatiel will not eat the millet from the holder.She loves millet so I tried using the holder for a couple months.She ate out of the holder only the first day it was introduced.I did not give her millet in any other way to try to force her to use the holder.It didn't work.I still give it 5 stars because the idea is great and would work great if you don't have a stubborn bird like mine.I really wish she would use it as it would save on a lot of mess for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.