petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold

Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold

Next best thing to momPuppies grow healthiest and best on mother's milkK9 Puppy Gold recreates canine milk to promote immunity, stronger joints and lean growthSutiable for weaning and growing puppies and pregnant and nursing mothers
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Review 1 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
sheltie1
from Minnesota
I was mixing this with plain goat milk and my runt-size puppy was doing ok. The last two days I was out of the goat milk and tried it just with water instead, he didn't gain weight at all in fact he lost some today. He spits out the nipple and crinkles his nose like he doesn't like the taste of it by itself. I tried it and agree it tastes like powdery nothing, no milky or pleasant taste. It is very difficult to mix in small quantities and doesn't seem convenient for me to make up 2 ounces at a time in a blender. Lots of sticky, gluey chunks on the sides even in warm water stirred or shaken well. I just made a batch and watched it separate in the bottle. If you read the ingredients that must be the beef tallow. I had better luck with a goat's milk based formula to feed puppies in the past and will probably go back to that brand when I run out of this junk.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product minus cost

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
k9puppy
Great product. Think they should offer coupons on this product or free shipping when you buy it in bulk
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

k9 puppy

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
TJsToki
from Whippany NJ
we use every time our dogs mate breed and nursing our dogs grow to 150lb male and 120 female pit-bull fawn use every time dogs love taste
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

K-9 Puppy Gold

PostedMay 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
dragonflydoxies
from Michigan/Ontario
Best product on market for Superior quality puppies
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic stuff

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
aday
from Yuba City
My Pomeranian had a litter of nine puppies. Huge litter!....at about 10 days momma started having tremors. Luckily I caught it in time, called the vet and my concern was possible hypocalcemia or low blood sugar. The vet shared my thoughts and suggested I try Nutri-cal first. I ran out to local feed store and the girl there suggested K-9 puppy gold as well. I was already supplementing her diet big time but switched to K-9 puppy gold 3 times a day by adding to her wet puppy food meals. She perked up within 20 mins. of eating this stuff. It was amazing. I also noticed she hasnt started to "blow her coat" as bad this time. Normally Poms look really awful after a litter and she looks great especially considering the size of the litter. I highly reccomend this product, in our case it truly is a lifesaver. I also give it to her by itself mixed with warm water as it is important to keep her drinking lots of fluids and she gobbles this stuff down and is excited when I bring the bowl in and licks it clean. I also dry feed her with "wellness puppy brand" Excellent product for breeders and I will use it to wean the pups in the next week or so. Thank you K-9 puppy gold
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

K-9 Puppy Gold Rocks!

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
dogrescue
from California
Great prodcuct for boosting immune systems in puppies. I do a lot of rescue work w/dogs and I get a lot of puppies that are malnurished from the pounds...so sad. Within a week with proper puppy food and K-9 Puppy Gold in their food they are completely renewed! Coats become shinier, energy is increased (as puppies should be acting) and for my rescue puppies, it has helped them (along w/prescribed antibiotics) overcome their kennel cough from the pounds. Love this product and feed it to my Senior dogs as well - provides great vitamins for all dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a WONDERFUL product!

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
RubyStar
from Kentucky
I use this stuff on my tiny chihuahua puppies when they start on solids...before they make it to dog food I mix a scoop in with a jar of chicken baby food (human baby food) added enough hot water to stir smooth & OMG what healthy babies I have! and the smallest one is 9 oz at almost 6 wks of age..This stuff I swear by!! recommend it to any breeder!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

k9 puppy gold

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Toki
here is the proof at 6 week old we found homes for 4 of 8 puppies and suggested k9 puppy only 1 brought it her puppy is 17 lbs the others are 11 lbs a difference of 6 lbs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedApril 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
TheMiniZoo
from Las Vegas, NV
This works great both for the pups, and the mother. I mix a little in with her food, and supplement the runt with a bottle because the other pups are pushing him out of the way, so he wasn't getting enough milk. He was fine the first couple days, but as the other ones started getting bigger, they pushed him out of the way more, so I bought this, and I have been feeding him with it for about 3 days, and he is growing just as fast as the other pups now.
Mother is doing great as well. She was looking a little drained from feeding the pups, and now she looks a lot better, and it has also helped to increase her milk flow, so there is more milk to go around for the pups.
They are 11 days old now, and doing GREAT!
The only reason I gave this product 4 stars instead of 5 is because it is a little difficult to mix. Using warmer water helps though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

100% Satisfied with Purchased

PostedOctober 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kaiser
from Worcester, Ma
The product is very good, and is the best one I supplement that I have bought for a puppy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Stuff!

PostedOctober 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
GoldenPuppyMom
My dog recently had 12 puppies and was unable to nurse their second week because of mastitis. I search every label for the best ingredients for my champion babies. This stuff was easy to feed, but for my pups it needed to be diluted a little more because of constipation. Make sure to mix it with warm water, and I used a blender because I was mixing it so often. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Commercial product

PostedJanuary 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
frontierrots
from NH
The best commercial puppy milk replacer product I have experienced in 23 years "in" dogs.
The only caveat I have is that the water must be fairly warm or the product does not mix well, otherwise it is flawless (and no wheat gluten!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedSeptember 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
EllieB
We started using this on the last litter of puppies when they were weaned. They took to it, quickly and we saw great changes. The runt had developmental problems (ie, her head was growing faster than her body) but after being on this for a few weeks, she started becoming more proportional and catching up to the others (quite a milestone because she was born a good inch shorter than her brother who was the second smallest, and 2 inches shorter than her sister who was the largest). Before using this product on the puppies, Bijou (the runt) was given less than a month to live. She ended up living till she was 5 months old, and the cause of death had nothing to do with her health.
I would STRONGLY recommend this. We are going to use this again for sure with the next litter.
But as another reviewer said, you shouldn't use this as their first milk, that is true. The can even says to keep them feeding from their mother as long as possible. However, if your puppy isn't getting enough food because the mother gets tired, there are too many puppies, or whatever the reason, this is a great supplement. We just wish we had found this earlier, so we could have used it during the weaning process.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Puppy Loves it!

PostedSeptember 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
MarinMom
I have English Bulldog pup and he love, love, loves this stuff. I mix it into his premium kibble as directed along with hot water. it not only softens his dry food, but makes a milky gravy that he loves.
This breed requires a lot of good protein to ensure they grow to thier full potential and this product is loaded with other great nutrients. My little guy is gaining weight, but not getting fat, just what my Vet recommeds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Animal Naturals K9 Puppy Gold
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

animal naturals k9 puppy gold

PostedAugust 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
leeA
from sacramento,ca
this product work great for my new puppy she was the runt of the litter. she is now twice as big as she was when i got her. she a little dog so this product is not only for big dogs
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.