petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management

Holistic pet food for the discriminating pet ownerSpecialized nutrition for weight managementNatural Chicken is the #1 ingredientFortified with vitamins, minerals and L-CarnitineWholesome fruits & vegetables you can really seeA nutritionally complete and balanced diet developed with your four-legged best friend's wellness in mind
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Review 1 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

whaT i thinK

PostedJune 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
this is a bad product and i can't feed it to my dog who is a german shepard and he is picky in a way. this is an around poor quality dog food that offers nothing for dogs! plz eat halo! ;)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedFebruary 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
The Castor&Pollux product are excellent.We use both the weight management and Puppy foods..And we are totally happy with the C&P products.Both of our dogs have a bright shinny coat.And the best thing is no fillers...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE!!

PostedJanuary 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
After many attemps at finding a good food for my dog, I have found it! My 8 year old lab has always had weight issues. We switched to this food about 2 months ago and she has already lost 4 1/2 pounds!!! She loves this food and actually takes her time eating it. The food has a low odor and all the stomach issues (gas) my dog has been dealing with with other dog foods are gone. Even the price is better.
I got the biscuits too, not only do they smell great, my dog loves them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good diet brand, but has room for improvement.

PostedOctober 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
I've heavily reasearched premium 'diet' kibble brands. C&P is really the only one that has managed to cut calories significantly while maintaining a high meat and protein content. The fourth ingredient is barley, a good quality grain - oat groats and potatoes are also good quality ingredients. NO corn or wheat, both of which have low digestibility and often cause allergy problems.
On the negative side, the third ingredient and major grain in the food is brewers rice. This is a very low quality grain and a by-product of the brewing industry. Sorghum is a grain with low digestibility. Fermentation solubles are a byproduct and have no nutritive value.
A decent quality food, but would be an excellent one with a few ingredient changes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Dog Food!!!!

PostedMay 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Waverly, TN
I changed my dog's food for better nutrition and to see if we could keep the constant scratching at a minimum. I home cook my 4 dogs' food and decided to supplement with a good dry food. I tried several brands but had a hard time getting a food that was palatable for all 4 dogs, as well as being the healthiest. I came across C&P and decided to give it a shot. All my dogs LOVE it and my lab is not scratching continuously anymore. I LOVE it because it smells good and I can see and identify the dehydrated fruits/veges. We will always get this wonderful dogfood to supplement our cooked diet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible food

PostedNovember 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut Danbury
WOW! I have probably tried every food out there for my rottie, Bowie. He had bloat surgery about five years ago and is now 11 years old. I have tried everything from iams to eukanuba to purina one. Then someone told me Nutro is a great brand and has the best ingredients. So I tried that for a while. Then my dog started vomiting ALL the time. I thought he was sick. So I brought him to the vet. He told me that I should try some boiled beef and white rice. That worked great, but unfortunately cost WAY too much! So I put him back on the Nutro Max Senior. HE STARTED BARFING AGAIN, the next day!! What the heck are they putting in that garbage! I couldn't take it anymore so I tried the Purina one Adult formula. He loved it! BUT, he also gained 17 lbs. in three months!!! WOW! So back to petco!! A great woman there told me that this Castor and Pollux food was about as all natural as you can get, but it was on the expensive side. Before I tried it I read the label. NO FILLERS!! YAY!!! FINALLY!!! This stuff also has Glucosamine, Chondroitin, AND omega 3 and 6 fatty acids added!!! And they don't even advertise that it is in here on the description on this website!!! WHY!! People look for that sort of thing!!! THIS FOOD ROCKS, especially for large breed seniors looking for weight management. I can not be happier, Bowie is too!!! YAY!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
MyYorkie became overweight following two knee surgeries. She is relatively young (6 yrs. old), but I find she is much less active now. She loved this dog food and I felt good giving it to her. I ran out too soon and am ordering again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Just like any other pet parents i am very picky on food that my dogs will eat...I am very impressed with the ingredients of this products and on how it works on my dog...After i started giving it to him he started loosing weight...For those who have an over weight dog this is the food you should try out and mix it with " exercise " and you will see a much healthier and happier dog........
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute Best Dog Food Ever

PostedFebruary 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
I have two chinese pugs that are 8 and 9 years old. Both had gotten overweight in the past few years. This has been the best dog food I have ever found (according to both the dogs, and I) . They both love it and have lost weight. I have truly found the first dog food I will never again switch from.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

favorite food

PostedJanuary 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
from suffern,n.y.
We adopted a shelter dog,22 lbs. She's a fussy eater, but when we put her on this diet ,she has thrived. Keep selling it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loves it

PostedJanuary 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Cape Cod
I have been feeding my slightly overweight 9 yr old dog this food for 3 months now. Not only does he really love the food but he has lost weight and looks amazingly healthy. He used to have a paunchy belly, now he is trim. He is a large dog, a Golden/Shepard mix and over 100 lbs. but very active. My vet suggested I cut down on his food and add in a vegetable. So I now give him 3 cups of this Castor And Pollux Weight Management mixed with 1 can of Salt Free Green Beans and a pinch of garlic powder. He gobbles it up. He absolutely loves it. I feed him once a day at noon and at night he gets a cookie also all natural from Castor and Pollux. I think the one thing missing from this food is what is making the most impact, wheat. The Castor And Pollux is wheat free. Wheat is what was keeping him paunchy. My suggestion to anyone with a pet. Keep them healthy, cut out the wheat. Its the South Beach Diet for dogs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
my dog loves this food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food-dog loves it

PostedJanuary 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
from N. Tonawanda
This is a great food. My dog loves it. You can see the fruits and vegetables because they do not include them in the high heat baking of the kibble where they loose all the value. They mix that Separately and add it after. This is an all natural holistic food. They do not have spolied protiens (meats, chicken , fish) or grease's in the food. They use "human grade" products and no chemicl preservatives. It is smarter to pay a little more money on a quality dog food vs paying vet bills down the road. I would recomend this food to everyone with a dog. You can get a coupon (s) sent to you by visiting the manufacturer's web site.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food -no gimmicks

PostedJanuary 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Buffalo, NY
This food is great. No false claims and they do not try to hide or rename bad ingredients. There are no bad ingredients in this food. It is so hard to find a quality food for our pets with all the hype and false advertising out there. I have done a lot of research on cat and dog food and you would not believe what they actually put in our pet's foods. They say meat and chicken but most of it is spoiled when it goes to processing. Even the so-called "premium" name foods are actually full of ingredients that are bad for our pets. This company does not use a rendering plant (like most of the other big name manufacturers) for the meats. They do not use any discarded restaurant grease to cover the kibble as to entice the pet to eat. This is 100% goodness. I know this information because I also researched the company and have been in contact with the owner. I inform everyone I know with pets about this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedDecember 31, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Levittown, NY
Our Doberman Pincher was severely overweight so we switched to this food in August of 06. Today, Dec 31, 2006, he has lost a total of 24lb. He's skin and coat remained shinny and healthly, which was a big concern. Unlike other foods, he liked this one from the begining. This food is a little bit on the expensive side, but it is well worth the price. You know what they say, you get what you pay for.
I definatelly recomend this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Management
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Castor & Pollux Natural Ultramix Canine Weight Man

PostedJune 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, Mn.
I was so happy to find a Natural dog food in a Weight Management formula. My dogs love this food. While switching over they'd pick out the previous food I was mixing in with this one & drop it on the floor! They rarely finished the whole bowl of food with our old brand. Now they eat it all in one sitting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.