petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Deluxe Doggy Steps

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Deluxe Doggy Steps

Give your dog a leg up with Deluxe Doggy Steps (TM), the incredible new dog stairs that help your pet get up to its favorite spotWhether your dog is small, older or just plain spoiled, it will love this fun, easy way to climb onto sofas, beds or car seats
Average Customer Rating:
4.065 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(123 Reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 123 reviews
5 stars
75
4 stars
18
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
14
97 out of 123(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Review 21 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedMarch 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
ERIN222222
I was not happy with this product at all. I have a westie and he is too small to jump up and down from the bed so he is constantly barking when he wants to get on or off. When I brought this product home for him to try it out he hated it. It was extremely unsturdy and was wayy too steep. Even if he could climb it I would not feel safe with him doing it. Also it did not even reach half the size of the bed. Maybe this product would work for sofas, but should not be advertised for beds.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

daddysgirl123 and fashionfreak5894

PostedNovember 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
daddysgirl123
from Illinois, IL
my dog katy hates this product!she took one step and pooped on it then ran. after I clean it up she came back and peed on the carpet next to it. so I throw it out.
daddysgirl123 and fashonfreak5894
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

4th step kit

PostedJuly 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
the product comes with a flyer for odering a 4th step. the initial first steps are not really tall enough. The web site for the 4th step does not exist.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Had I known...

PostedNovember 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Snookums
from Chico, CA
I didn't see any information in the product description that told me this was a put-to-gether plastic item. In the photo it looks like a one-piece set of three steps. It is working for my 10 pound mini dachshund but because it is lightweight, the dog is able to move it around. After ordering online, I was in my local Petco and saw they had a one piece sturdy 3 step doggie stairs. I wouldn't put a dog over 15 pounds on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cute, but...

PostedAugust 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Playswithfyre13
from Lake Mary, Florida
I bought these steps for my cats to use, because one in particular has a spine problem and he has quite the wiggly walk. He kept trying to climb onto my bed at night but would fall back into the heavy wooden bed frame. Fearing for his spine, I bought these and put them next to the bed. But because he wiggled so much, he couldn't figure out how to climb them...only slide down them once he was on top of the bed. they weren't really wide enough or tall enough steps for him to get a grip on. Naturally, my other two cats completely ignored the steps =) They only used them to hide behind while playing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Helpful Steps

PostedJuly 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Connie2
These were easy to put together and work just fine, it's just we have to teach the poodledoo's to use them. For the price they are great. I would have preferred them to be all soft, or all foam.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy for little dogs

PostedApril 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Naiad35
These steps are perfect for my 2.5 pound puppy. She can scale them easily. The only negative comments are that they are not quite tall enough to reach the top of my bed and they are very light, so they get knocked over easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay for my bunny

PostedMarch 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
1bunnylover
from Colorado Springs, Colorado
I was very suprized of how short these steps are. I bought the steps so my 5 1/2 lop bunny could get in and out of his hutch. I still had to roll a towel up and put it on the top step to make that "extra step" that is needed. He does fine getting in and out of his hutch, but I can see how it may be difficult for a dog to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not quite right for my dog

PostedJuly 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
MomOfAshley
from from Houston, Texas
My overall rating of 3 paws should be 2-1/2 paws, and my Yes answer to recommend the product is really a Maybe because the answer depends on several factors, such as height of furniture, size and agility of dog, etc. It would be better to rate the recommendation on a scale of 1-5 or 1-10. It's not really a yes/no answer.
In our case, the 3-step set is 12 inches high, which is too short for my dog to get up on the bed. If I buy the 4th Step Kit from the mfg's web site, it costs $14.99 (includes a cover which goes over all four steps) plus $4.95 shipping. So that is about $20.00 to add to the basic purchase price of $29.99, which adds up to a total of about $50.00.
I don't think I want to spend $50.00 on this product. Even with the 4th step, total height is 16 inches, which is still too short and too steep for my dog to easily get onto and off of the bed, which is average height I think. She would rather jump up or down, which is not too good for her. She weighs 25 lbs., is a dachsund mix, short legs, long body, and considered a "medium-sized" dog. In the ads for the product, by comparison, smaller dogs are shown and they don't show a bed at all. The product is okay for my dog to get onto the couch.
I plan to wait a few days to see if she uses the product; if not, I'll return it. By the way, the web site does work. If you enter 4thstepkit with the usual prefix/suffix, it should work.
MomOfAshley
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

While it is a good product it has its limits

PostedMay 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
Labrdogs
from wisconsin
This is great for older and disabled pets and the small dogs. But I found in the small print that it is not for larger dogs. And being a lab lover most of my dogs are at or above the limit. The other thing I didn't like about this was how small it was. We have an oversized king bed and this didn't even get half way up the end of the bed. If used for a sofa for a small dog it would be a great thing, I think but not for the older or disabled large dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog steps

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
pjshoppes
from Indiana
Thses are great for my small dog. We have big beds & she would try to jump, usually missing & landing on the floor. Thought training might be a problem. We used a new toy & she went right up. We practiced a few times, she had it down that day! Easy to snap together, nice washable cover. I bought 2. The only recommendation a four step set.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for small dogs

PostedJune 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
chloezmama
from Honolulu, HI
our little Chloe is only 5 lbs, a puppy but will remain small as she is chi/terrier. would love to have a 4th step already, rather than as an "option" if needed to buy direct from the company. but its great that I can get the extra step and cover. chloe loves it too as she quickly learned to use it and is running up and onto our bed with no assistance. its a great buy for the cost..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for Price

PostedJune 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
MissAshlyn
from Flat Rock, AL
We have a miniature dachshund puppy with very short legs, even for this breed. He struggles sometimes to get up the steps because they are a little steep and not really tall enough to reach a car, sofa, or bed. We had to but a book under the top step so he could reach the bed and sofa. But for the price I paid, it was a good value and has been very useful. I like that it has a washable cover too! Very easy to put together, just snap the pieces in place. It serves the purpose it was made for!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smart Purchase

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
ridimones
My bed isn't that high, but my 3lb Chihuahua couldn't get up without help...this Doggy Step is working out perfectly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase for price

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
animallluver
While I feel these steps are great for the price, our problem was that they weren't tall enough for our dogs to feel secure in taking the last step up to our king size bed. The stairs were only half as tall as our bed and our dogs didn't feel safe taking a big jump up to the bed. We didn't return it as we will find someone who can use the steps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

for small dogs only

PostedSeptember 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
numama
from Lynnwood, Wa,
I purchased for my 12 week old chihuahua & works great for the sofa. not high enough for the bed though. I will prob. buy the add on step kit to make it 4 steps. I might just get the 4 step one so I'll have one for ea. space needed. It is a fast assembly & my dog took to it right away! Very light weight & easy to move, but stays put. My puppy loves it! It looks bigger than it really is. I am happy with it. Love that the cover can mach. washed too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good item

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
MamiMacho
from Newberry, FL
The steps take a little getting used to but they are great if your dog has trouble getting up and down beds and/or sofas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Doggie steps

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Icycoldheart
from Newark, DE
Not a bad product for the price however, you can add an additional step for 14.95. Had I know that I would have just gotten a larger step.
My poor little dog is still having trouble with the height.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to assemble

PostedDecember 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennv
These steps were easy to assemble and are sturdy. Good height for the couch, need another step for my tall bed. Now I just have to teach her how to use them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Deluxe Doggy Steps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Purchase

PostedNovember 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
MsAJ
from Oxnard, Ca
For the price it was a good purchase. But it can only withstand 70 pounds. So dont use it as a step stool. My dog loves this because it feels soft to her feet. Love that it is machine washable. There is actually a kit you can order once you buy this product to add another step to it just in case.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>