petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables

Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables

Large - for dogs up to 85 lbs.Weather resistantVinyl coatedMade with aircraft steel cableSuitable for use with a tie-out stakeAssorted colors
Average Customer Rating:
3.308 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
8 out of 13(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables
Review 1 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If you buy, buy the heaviest one

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoveMyHounds
from West Chester, PA
I purchased two of these for my 50 lb beagle mixes. The one I had was supposed hold a dog 85 lbs or under. Well, it didn't. Very frightening situation as my dog bolted up the road after the UPS truck, with me in bare feet following behind. The cable is NEVER left outside in the weather. It isn't even used daily or weekly for that matter. Shouldn't have snapped. Bought two of the 150 lb model for my two 50 lb dogs. Hope they work!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Garbage product

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
dahautam
from duluth, mn
I bought one of these for my 60lbs Irish Setter. It didn't even last the entire winter and it snapped due to the cable being poor quality, resulting in my dog taking off (luckily found). You shouldn't have to replace these in under 3 months during any time of year, but it looks like I will have to.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Strong and Light

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
NamelessShopper1
from Greenville, SC
My dog is a terrier pit bull mix that weighs about 38 lbs. She is very strong for her size however. She broke her last cable for a dog up to 125 lbs after using it for less than a year and a half. It came from a large variety store not a pet store. I purchased it after she broke a Petco tie out chain for dogs up to 50 lbs. It didn't last but a few months. This cable is light and strong and it seems to be better than the other and it is much lighter and flexible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of money!

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
JayEll
from Kewaskum, WI
I have bought three of these so far this year, and all of them have either broken apart, or the clip ceases to work and rusts shut. these should definitely last for more than a few months! and you'd think cable would last a lot longer than it does. must be the cheapest cable they could find. i won't be buying another, that's for sure. i'd rather spend a little bit more money elsewhere on something that will last longer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cables

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
lunn1221
from Warwick RI
I have purchased 4 cables for my dogs this year. 3 out of the 4 have broke. the cables have snapped apart. They are not worth the buy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Aspen Tie Out

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Discusted65
from Pittsburgh. PA
It stinks. It doesn't go away. It made me feel sick. I had to keep it outside. I threw it away after 2 weeks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog cable

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeha
from Idaho
Love it! It is light weight, yet sturdy and durable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tie-outs cables

PostedMay 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
furrykids
like that these are in red as well as the stake - makes it so much easier to find in the grass when I forget to bring them in. seem lightweight for an 85 lb dog, but they hold fast. 10 feet is also not very long, but I attach a few together end to end to give the dogs more range. would recommend a 20 ft length
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recommended

PostedMay 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mars666
if youve got a chewer and a silly puppy that wants to jump into dangerous canals!!!
very good product. sturdy. trust it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

STURDY tie out

PostedMay 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pippinsays
from Flagstaff, Arizona
I wanted a smaller tie out for a smallish dog but was pleasantly surprised that this is not too heavy. It is well made and I will not hesitate to put my big nephew-dog on it when he visits.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Teather Cable

PostedMarch 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ranger
One snap to base of kennell fenceing the other to my springer spaniel. He gets a good work out. Able to move at will. No tangles, no mess. He's happy and so am I.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value on a Sturdy Product

PostedJanuary 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
HollysMama
from Deltona, FL
I bought this tie out cable for my growing husky/lab mix. I use is for a few hours a day in her backyard exercise area and store it inside when not in use. It doesn't seem to bother her the way a link chain would. So far it has resisted her occasional efforts to chew it, and the hardware has held up well. The price was right, too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Large Dog Tie-Out Cables
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog Tie-Out

PostedMay 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Doggy32
from Anaheim, CA
This is a very excellent cable for small dogs. It does not tangle up your dog and it is very safe. This cable should be used for small areas. If you have a big area in which you would like to place your dog, then it is recommended to buy another size. But the brand is great and I definately recommend this product to other owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.