petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler

Perfect for the stay-at-home or on-the-go hamster or gerbilPlastic hamster cage that has four levels of small animal funComplete hamster home or gerbil cage includes removable traveler for hassle-free transportation and travelingFeatures built-in treat area, bubble-toob elevator, quiet work-out wheel, locking door, feeding dish and water bottle
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(160 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 160 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
32
3 stars
16
2 stars
20
1 star
34
99 out of 160(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Review 1 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful!

PostedMarch 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Gillette, WY
This is a wonderful cage, although it is a bit small - it is still a good size for a mouse, gerbil or dwarf- the traveling case is quite handy, it is a good palce to keep pet when cleaning! My hamster Tim loves the elevator! If you are looking for a cage- this is the one!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+82points
91of 100voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
A long time ago, way back when I was a tiny tween and only wanted a hamster because it was cute and didn't know anything about about hamster care (nor did I really care), I bought this cage for my poor soon-to-be hamster because I thought it looked cool. Big mistake.
First of all, it is not in any way suited to be the living quarters of any small animal. It is small, cramped, and the tray isn't deep enough to put enough bedding for digging. The plastic trays capture urine and make the animal's living quarters VERY unsanitary, and it's near impossible to just take them out for a quick wash without taking the entire cage apart in the process. The provided wheel is also loud and squeaky, though I will praise it if only for the fact that it's solid and doesn't have any holes that a small animal might get its toes or tail caught in. There's also little to no room to put additional toys in, and that plus the lack of space in the cage had my hamster constantly chewing on the bars out of boredom. The cage door is also too small and awkwardly placed for you to be able to interact with your pet effectively.
The cage is also extremely difficult to take apart and clean; even dismantling it is a chore and a half. You're going to have problems if you don't assemble the cage in a specific order.
My experience with this cage was years ago, but I still remember it clearly. Do not bother purchasing it; it's awful.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Might want to look at other cages

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
I got this cage for my Baby Roborovski hamster, at first she was afraid to go on any of the levels. I put her in the top part and she fell down the tube, then about a month later she started going up the tube, and on the other levels. I replaced the wheel the cage came with, with a silent spinner, and let me say it was a lot quieter! at first the water bottle only leaked a little bit, but after a while I replaced it with a different one because it leaked too much. the front door is very small and hard to get both hands in the cage to get my fast robo hamster. This cage is very hard to clean, I have to take it apart every time I clean my hamsters cage and after awhile it gets really hard to get back together. even though this cages bright colors are attracting, you would be better off using a glass fish tank, and decorating it with stickers.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Difficult

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NN, VA
I bought this when I bought a Hamster for my Grandson & myself, I thought it was a cute cage & liked the small removable top cage. However I found it difficult to put together, difficult to clean, tabs that hold wire to base break easily on both the lower unit & the smaller top unit. The wheel is also extremely noisy. I suffered through with this for the better part of a year before replacing it,
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this cage

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from beamuont,tx
this cage wasw difficult to not only put together, but to clean also.i live in a 2 storie home and you could hear the whell rattle down stairs.plus in about 3 months 2 wires broke and the travler hut above broke also.the wires are very easy to bend. i belive that it is safe to say that this prouduct is cheaply made.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pain in the Wheel

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Florida
My child selected this cage in the store. I had reservations even then when the associate showed us how many pieces were in the box. I give it 2 stars only because the little carrying cage on top is handy. The problem with this cage is all the parts that must be fitted together perfectly like a puzzle. Very hard for a 9 y/o child to do alone (takes her an hour to clean cage and reassemble). Even with assistance it is a pain. Always waiting for something to break when we are wrestling with it. Going back to old cage for now (visible in photo), it is small, but really easy to clean.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

So disappointed ...

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chandler, AZ
I bought this cage, despite the poor reviews, for my two dwarf hamsters. Unfortunately, the poor reviewers were proved right.
The pieces didn't fit together easily, and the levels would pop out of their moorings because they weren't made to a correct fit.
Also, it became impossible to interact with the hamsters, because the door was so small that my hand had trouble reaching in.
I returned this and got a CritterTrail Extreme Challenge, and I'm extremely happy with it. So, go CritterTrail instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Definitely not the greatest

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
I originally got this cage for two male robo hamsters [do NOT cage two robo hamsters together, I learned that the hard way..]. At first I thought it would be a nice starter cage for my new pets. Turns out I was wrong. My hamsters got out multiple times, they were able to bend the bars. The different levels don't fit in there correctly, they're too small so they don't reach each side properly. Because of this it takes me about ten minutes to reassemble each layer of the cage. The clips that hold down the 'on the go' portable top break really easily. DO NOT use the handle not he portable carrier to hold the cage. It unlocks some how and the whole cage will fall off. I'd recommend holding it by the bottom of the cage instead of the side because the bottom isn't secured too well. The wheel is really noisy. Overall, I would only get this if it's a temporary cage. It's very flimsy, the plastic breaks really easy, it's hard to take apart and put back together, etc. I'm sure there's better choices out there. It's a waste of money.
Also it's rather difficult to take your pet out of here. I have tiny hands and I even have a difficult time. There's really only enough room for the parts this set comes with. I bought a mini igloo hide-away for the four mice I currently have in this cage and it doesn't fit.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a very good product

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Greencove, FL
I bought this when I first bought my hamster and immediatly found it to be too small and a pain to put together. Also the door dosen't stay on. I found my hamster escaping multiple times. I would not reccomend this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's okay.

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York
My hamster escaped from this cage after finding multiple ways of opening the top carrier. It's very hard to clean. The best about it is the water bottle. It's the best, been using it for four years and it still hasn't leaked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hamster<3

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
This product is not the best I have ever worked with. I would not encourage first time buyers this cage, even I had a difficult time putting it together. I needed to use duck tape to hold the levels in place. When I got the cage the wheel was already cracked also the first time I cleaned the cage the bottom of the cage cracked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good review

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from kenner la
the cage is so awsome.if i had a animal store i would put this cage in my store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
this cage is the best cage I have ever gotten in my life my robo hamster absolutly LOVES IT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This Cage

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
I would not recomend this cage to anybody it might be expensive but the material that the tube on the back of it is made of is very cheep. it broke and i have only had it for not even half a year.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
2of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nightmare

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from PA
Although the mouse loves it-we don't. It was a nightmare trying to put it together. My 5 year old wanted a pet and she chose a mouse. She also chose this cage because she could take her mouse with her. We had to take the first one back because of bent wires and ability to escape from the carrier. The second one was a nightmare to put together but we had to re-enforce the sides by using cable ties to hold the sides together as the mouse can push the sides apart. It is a really nice cage just not too mouse friendly. It is easy to clean but it is a nightmare to put back together afterwards. I wouldn't recommend this unless you have a lot of patience and time to fuss with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible cage!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
This is the cage my daughter wanted, so I bought it for our second hamster. It was a nightmare to put together. I have had it less than two weeks and am taking it back to the store today. A wire has already broke because it is cheaply made. Also, attaching the top of the cage has bent the wires so now it is hard to attach the top at all. The lid to the carrier on top doesn't fully clasp either so it is impossible to carry it because the wire will come off. At first glance it looks neat, but that is the only good feature I have found about this cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok cage

PostedJune 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York
The cage was pretty hard to get together but at the end my hamster (dalilah) absalutly loves it she loves going up and down the tube's and running around in the cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage, great value

PostedMay 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I'm not sure why so many reviewers had so much trouble putting this cage together. I was able to assemble it in less than 15min, while chasing after 2 kids and dog that wanted to eat the hamster. I like that this set came with so many accessories: the water bottle, food bowl, wheel, and carrying case is all included. As another reviewer noted, the travel case is really convenient when cleaning the cage, because the hamster can stay contained while you are cleaning. My only issue at the moment is that the water bottle leaks, but that is a pretty cheap fix. I would recommend this cage to anyone, and I would also suggest buying a small igloo for the hamster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Difficult

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pa
This cage is difficult to put together, difficult to clean, and does not seem to be very sturdy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Penn Plax SAM Here & There Home & Traveler
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedApril 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Alexandria, VA
I bought this cage yesterday for my dwarf hamster and I didn't even let her in it. It took me 1 hour just to put it together just to find out the pieces didn't fit right and it wasn't sturdy at all. Needless to say, I stuffed it back in the box, returned it, and went somewhere else. I would not recommend this to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>