petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro

EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro

For quick and thorough removal of sludge and dirt layers on the gravelPowerful and maintenance-free suction pumpComplete with batteries
Average Customer Rating:
3.958 / 5
4
 / 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
9
37 out of 48(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Review 1 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

don't buy it

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
JackThePetGuy
from NJ
not very good, don't buy it.
not very good, don't buy it.
not very good, don't buy it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Freaking Awesome!!!

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
PastMaster09
from Candler, NC
I never, ever, review anything...
I purchased the Eheim Quick-Vac Pro yesterday. I was looking for an easier way to clean un-eaten food particles and waste from my 25 gallon Fluval Accent tank. A regular siphon vac empties too much water from my tank before I've cleaned everything off the surface of the substrate.
This thing works fantastic! Period.
This is a must-have for every aquarium!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a time saving convenience!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
sl23
from Kona,HI
The Quick-Vac is easy to assemble and use in both a 10 gallon tank and my 2 gallon mini-tank. It makes the job so easy and quick that the necessary cleaning can be done in moments and with minimal water sloshing. Once a dreaded chore, frequently postponed, is now a simple matter. Of course, I continue to do periodic heavy duty cleaning and partial water changes.
And my fish seem to enjoy it when I "play" in their tank with this tool!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good to have

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
cichlids007
from Reading, PA
this product is good,cleans your fish tank gravel,the only thing leaves your water clowdy,I mean cloudy,I would recomend adding extra charcol bags to your filter,this will make your water clear faster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent gravel cleaner

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
NolaNick
from New Orleans
I have a 55 gal community tank and this product is excellent for weekly cleanings of waste and detritus of gravel. I used to clean the gravel using a siphon and during water changes but this is 100% better and more convenient. Firstly, the length is perfect for a 55 gal tank so your hand stays out of the water. The suction is excellent. I have medium to small gravel and it only lifts gravel just enough to agitate it and help vacuum sub surface waste. It is rather quiet and it does not bother the fish. Most fish actually follow it around and wait to pick up an morsels stirred up by the cleaning action. You do have to be weary not to accidentally trap any small curious fish while you are cleaning, but the on / off switch is very conveniently located just in case. It takes me less than 15 min to clean the whole tank.
Cleaning is a breeze. The unit comes apart very easily and rinses under your faucet. Once you remove the screen section, best to remove both end-caps and then rinse the screen both inside and outside.
NOTE:1, Material that is too fine for the screen to filter will be returned into your water so your tank will get a little cloudy for a bit, but depending on your main filter, most of this material will be filtered out or settle down within an hour. Thus, do not clean just before you have company or want to show off your aquarium.
NOTE: 2, when lifting cleaner out of your tank, keep it vertical as it retains water due to suction, until the end is out of the water, at which point the water is released. If you are leaning it outward when you remove it, it may splash some water outside the tank (minimal).
NOTE:3, When rinsing screen, do not push your fingers on the screen itself as this can detach the screen from its frame.
NOTE:4, When removing the clear end suction unit from the motor unit for rinsing, do not twist too hard as the attachment tabs could be broken.
Overall this is a great product for me and makes cleaning, fast, quiet and convenient with next to no mess and complete control of the process. The unit appears very robust and is very easy to use. Hopefully the motor will last for a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got to have it!!!!!!

PostedJune 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
pet1crazy
from Pensacola Fl
If you have a large deep or any size Tank. You have to have this it is easy to use and clean. I vaccumed my entire 56 gal tank gravel in less than 15 min. super suction and no mess GET IT!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not For Salt water

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
RFoxy
from Port Charlotte, fl
This is not a product for salt water! It broke after one use. I would not recommed this product ever!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Simple, and so Effective!

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Catfishfiend
from Wichita, KS
We love this, it helps clean out our catfish tanks without having to drain out a ton of water to do it. It really filters the gravel and gets the deeply buried food and waste. A MUST HAVE in my book.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

awesome vacuum for aquaruim

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
worcester
from worcester. ma
I was bought that month ago. i love it that clean out dirt and food too. see how clean is gravel! I'm continue use that every a monthly. seen worth it. my tank is 14 gallon. see that my gallery of tank OK.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad

PostedMay 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
GlendaleSpider
from New York
It does stir up and collect larger particles from the gravel, but the smaller particles go right through the mesh and into your tank making a big mess of your water. When this happens its kind of useless. I would not reccommend this product
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

BIG HELP!

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
annlv
from las vegas,nv
this item is good for gravel cleaning...a must for aquariums...u can find it cheaper though at the PETCO store than on line. the aquarium does become cloudy afterwards but it is only temporary...it does not look very durable but at least it helps keep the aquarium clean ...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

doesn't pick up small products

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
JADzilla
from Long Beach, Ca
YES it does clean and it works very easily. however the holes of the net-canister which catches what is filtered are still to large.
i was only able to clean large waste products and not the small particles. it will not pick up any "sludge" smaller then the hole of the net since well it just passes right through and actually making the water look more dirty being no longer bedded within the sand
i figured i might be able to put a layer of fine mesh inside, but you can not open up the canister-net. so not being able to fix the problem i was left with a still very "sludgy" tank.
this product is good for left over food, dead plants, and other large products
not very good for fish waste products that have been settled under the gravel
pros:
easy to use
vacuum suction good
cleans large waste products
cons:
holes to large in net-canister
can not open net-canister
can not clean small waste particles
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Eheim Gravel Vac

PostedNovember 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
MsTerry
from Southern Colorado
What an awesome tool! This tool does need to be used in a 10 gal. or larger tank and is fully submersible and actually works better when submersed up to top of filter with water. The batteries do need to be a better battery such as Duracell Ultra and then it runs great! The filter needs to be washed out well after each use, but both ends come off of filter cartridge for ease of cleaning. The filter cartridge can be replaced through Eheim if you damage it. I just can't believe how easy it has made my cleaning of the gravel. You stick it down on that area and watch it suck up the grunge until the water turns clear in the bottom tube and you move on to next area of gravel. (It is my experience that you should clean only half of your tank's gravel at a time to maintain your biological filter.) You will need to stop and remove the filter several times to clean it if you have a dirty tank. Regardless the cost, if you maintain this well, you can't buy a better and more useful tool for the hobby aquarist. Buy it, buy good batteries, maintain it, be a happy fishkeeper!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A MUST HAVE !

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
SMKB
from Houston
I have 3 fancy barebottom goldfish tanks(two 40g breeder and one 75g). I use this every other day. Saw it online and went to my local Petco and bought it because of the reviews, I figured if it doesn't do what I need it to do I would return it. Very easy to use. I LOVE IT. I wouldn't be without it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
BettaLover1
from Birmingham, Alabama
This product seems to be a good one, but it needs to say not for small aquariums. I can not use this product and will need to return it. It is actually quite a very large unit. I have no PETCO near me, so I am uncertain on how to return. Would recommend it to someone with a 10 gallon aquarium or larger.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Vac

PostedApril 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
EZPEDS1
from Pembroke Pines
So far so good. Anything to help manage a 120 gallon tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unit Died after 9 months

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
theknabs
Worked great for cleaning the gravel. Although we did not use it as often as we "should" have, it ate through the batteries and died after about 9 months. Very disappointed that it cost so much and didn't last longer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

it's ok

PostedNovember 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
plastickevin
Lasted a few years with light use. Cap breaks easly.I thought for the price it would last at least twice that. Going to purchase another brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedJuly 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Turtkeeper
this is the best vac!! ever great 5 paws!!:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for EHEIM Quick-Vac Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

yesir...

PostedApril 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
DAHNIC
from 56ACE
the price is a bit steep and wish it were a bit stronger...but helps a load in cleaning my bare bottom 34gal solana with the help of a kent sea aquirt to blow thing in its direction...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>