petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box

LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box

Now an even better automatic cat litter box than beforeSelf-cleaning cat litter box automatically starts after your cat leaves the litter boxRakes the waste into a disposable container, where it and odors are sealed awayNew modern design!
Average Customer Rating:
2.585 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 94 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
14
3 stars
9
2 stars
13
1 star
39
38 out of 94(40%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Review 1 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for owners of multiple cats!

PostedMay 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Laguna Niguel, CA
Okay, I agree that purchasing this product isn't the end of ALL your litter woes, but it SIGNIFICANTLY lowers the time each day you have to deal with the litterbox. I have 2 cats and with a standard litter box I was cleaning the box 2-3 times per day, dealing with the odor of cleaning and the box in general and constantly emptying and cleaning the box to neutralize the odor. This product is not perfect, but now all I do is check the box daily to make sure the receptacle isn't full and clean errant clumps out of the rake. Much better than before. Now the problems I've encountered are 1) even if you use premium litter, little clumps are missed by the rake, so you may want to still scoop occasionally to get the remnants and 2) if you put too much litter in (even to the "fill" level) the rake will just go back and forth if kitty has moved the litter around.
That being said, I think this is a GREAT invention and has made my life less consumed by the litter box. My cats adjusted well to it, but they were about 5 months old when I purchased it. There is no product that will make you never have to deal with a litter box, and this is the best it's going to get in my opinion. I would recommend it to anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedJanuary 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
The disposable waste containers seemed to be fussy and not easily inserted under the lip of the litter pan. I had to loosen the pan from the top or use a thin blade to get the entire edge under the lip (this is to make a seal for no litter leakage).
They recommend "premium" litters (there is a list) - I tried two different kinds, and had dubious results. It needs to be a fast clumping type, and fine grained my be better. You may need to experiment, as your milage may vary. It is also fussy about the amount of litter, as too much will cause the scooping screen to jam.
I also noticed that waste near the edges of the pan are not scooped adequately. It will often miss this and just push it around, and sometimes will actually go behind the screen and be trapped once it comes back to the parked position. My experience is that cats tend to NOT go directly in the middle. And litter will scatter no matter what. There are tents available, but I did not try them.
There is a sensor and a timer, 10 mins after the cat is in the box, it will activate. This may not be enough time for the clumping action to fullly take place, and the clumps can just crumble and be left behind. One solution for this is to turn it off and wait for a while then turn it on, it will automatically scoop. Or experiment with different litters.
It will take batteries, but they will die extremely quickly - use the AC. Also, keep in mind that the dimensions are 50% larger than the actual litter pan size, and that can seem small. If you have a larger cat, you may want to consider the mega size.
It is an interesting product with a lot of potential and promise, if it is working correctly and without glitches and hiccups. My experience is that it has been about as much work as doing it manually. I would not wholeheartedly recommend this product, simply based on my experiences.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My Scaredy Cat!

PostedAugust 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
I had an older model when my cat was a kitten, he and my other cat (now passed) used it fine. Now the model is much more improved except for the sound of the motor. My cat happened to be near when it scooped and now is afraid to use it, even though I have turned off the motor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

still some kinks to work out

PostedJuly 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
I have seven cats and this is my 5th littermaid. It is a necessity with multiple cats. It helps a lot, but many times it gets hung up and it needs to be manually cleaned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product with a few "bugs"

PostedJuly 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
from New Haven, CT
Basically, this is a real boon to catowners. Our cats do like it and use it well, and I have less to do to be sure their box is not disgusting! However, for the price paid it really should have the "kabana" (top) included because if you have meticulous and energetic coverers like we do, there will be litter everywhere. I think that the waste receptacle needs to be somewhat bigger too in order to really accomodate multiple (2) cat households as advertised in the details description of this item.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Overpriced, poor quality, and doesn't work

PostedJuly 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
This item is way overpriced for the poor quality and poor usefulness.
After assembly, the automatic self-cleaner unit lasted exactly one day before it started to malfunction. It will not turn off and now runs continually if the unit is left on. I completely disassembled and cleaned the litter box, cleaned the sensors, and reassembled, and it the problem continues. Now I have to turn it on and off by hand, so it is far from "automatic".
The instructions for fixing this problem are not adequate. I have followed them completely and there is nothing blocking the cleaning unit and there is nothing behind it (like built up litter) preventing it from traveling all the way back. But as soon as it goes to the back, it starts forward again. It refuses to stop.
Another flaw I noticed is that there is a gap between the litter pan and where the Waste Receptacles attach. When the sweeper pushes the waste into the receptacle, there is still a lot of loose litter along with the clumped waste. This loose litter falls down in the gap and is under the litter box. You only notice it when you remove the waste receptacle or the step. To prevent this, I've had to put plastic wrap between the litter pan and the receptacle, so that loose litter has no where to go.
Finally, and this may just be unique to my situation, but I have two cats and they fill the waste receptacle daily. Maybe they just urinate a lot, but the litter clumps are very large and quickly fill the receptacle to the point it will not close anymore when the cleaning unit returns to the back of the box.
If I had to replace the receptacles daily it would be very, very expensive. What I have ended up doing is manually digging out the urine and fecal clumps, then running the self-cleaner to get out the smaller clumps which I have missed. That way I only have to replace the receptacle every week.
For over $150 I now have a litter box which I still have to clean by hand and dispose of 99% of the waste product manually. Something that I doing before with my $20 litter box. WORST purchase I have made in a long, long time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Litter Box

PostedMay 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Chico, CA
This litter box is great. You don't have to replace the litter compartment each time it is full. We empty it and reuse it. It keeps the room smelling fresh, and basically the only thing we need to do is to add fresh litter when it reaches below the add line, and empty the litter compartment. It is large enough for multiple cats because we have two. Great investment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Model is Much Improved

PostedApril 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Laconia, NH
There is almost no odor, just for the 10 min wait for the comb to sweep the waste into the receptical and the brief moment the receptical is open. The cats love to use it and run from other parts of the house to watch the comb sweep. The motor is a little loud and interferes with the TV in the same room. The removable comb and tray are perfect upgrades. Makes this chore so much easier considering we have 4 kittens and 1 cat. I had one of the original LitterMaids years ago when they first came out and I liked it except the motor was very loud and it constantly broke down. I replaced it 3 times. Finally I gave up and went back to the typical litter box. The comb & tray was not removable therefore cleaning it was a huge chore. This one is a lot easier. I also have asthma and this LitterMaid is making me feel much better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Litter Box!!

PostedMarch 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Boelus, NE
We recently purchased this litter box and are very pleased with it. This is the first automatic litter box that we have owned and we have intentions on purchasing another. Our cat's are totally fascinated with it. One uses it and then a few minutes later all three run in to watch it. It's really kind of funny! Anyway, I feel that overall we received an excellent product at a reasonable price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

PostedFebruary 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Port Arthur, TX
We love our Mega kitty box. We purchased the Mega because we have multiple cats (3). It has been great, however I would recommend it for two cats. Any more than that and you need to clean it by the afternoon. My Mother also purchased the Mega and it has been awesome for her. She is blind and this easy to clean box has helped her tremendously.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HUGE Let down!!

PostedFebruary 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
I have had this product about 2 ½ weeks now and have hesitated to write this review with the hopes I would change my mind about it. However, it simply just is not everything I expected!! The first problem: This box is much larger than a typical cat litter box, so it takes up a large amount of room. You need to make sure it is near an outlet to plug it in. The cord is not real long so it created a challenge. Forget the battery option. The batteries lasted about 2 days!! Next problem: It is messy… the litter ends up everywhere!! I’ve been using the “Best Cat Litter” and it tracks everywhere!! The litter also gets down underneath the box where the litter recepticle is located. More mess! Another problem: the automatic scooping litter feature doesn’t get all of the clumps into the litter recepticle. I am hand scooping the box AND changing the old litter recepticle at least every other day and vacuuming daily around it!! Additional problem!: The lid to the litter recepticle doesn't always stay on the lid of the box where it should be, so when the box is automatically scooping it ends up on top of the lid instead of inside the recepticle. BIG let down!! Makes for a real mess and a lot of work!! The good news!: When it works properly it does keep the odor down! Overall: I love the idea of this product, but overall it's a dream that simply isn't going to happen. It isn’t worth the money and the hassle. I am in this box as much as I was in the classic litter box cleaning it up. I am sure it would be better with only one cat, but still more work than it should be, especially for the cost of this product!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product - older to newer model comparisons

PostedFebruary 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
If you are used to the older model, this 1 is a bit more flimsy in terms of being able to pull it out of it's hiding place - pops apart easier since there are so many separate parts - where that didn't happen with the older model -- trade off though, the rake doesn't get "hung up" as often as the older model where if you happened to overfill or CAT got energetic in the kicking up of a mound, the older model would hang and run continuously trying to clear the blockage. This rake assembly is MUCH EASIER to keep clean!!! and the motor runs much more quietly - I don't even need to use the sleep timer feature because I can't hear it in the other room - the older model used to wake me up at times because the motor was so loud. I don't care for the "tabby bits" holding the lid in place as they are too difficult to get the ledge into sometimes. All-in-all, happy with the newer version - the pros and cons between the older and newer model come out about even.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not happy with

PostedFebruary 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
I am not real happy with this litter box. I'm still scooping everyday as the stuff sticks to the bottom. I even sprayed it with no-stick cooking spray like the book said, that didn't work either.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy cats, happy family.

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
We have been using our new litermaid for about 10 days now and it works great. It does just what it says it will do, now, we just simply remove the grocery store bag we placed in the waste receptacle, throw it out, and put in a new one, simple, clean and easy. The one and only thing I could say could use some work, is the charcoal bag they give you to help with the odor in the waste receptacle. It sticks with a sticky backing to the lid of the waste receptacle, and it does not stay, it eventually falls into the used litter area in the waste receptacle, could use a better attachment system, other than that, love this item, wish I could have gotten one years ago, really could have used it. Very glad to have on now though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!

PostedJanuary 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Our 1st on stopped working after 1 week. We called Petco and they shipped us another one and the 2nd one keeps cycling 5-7 times after the cat gets out of the box. The motor is made of plastic and breaks. We now are returning our 2nd one and plan on sticking with the old fashion way of scooping a litter box. The idea of self cleaning sounds nice, except I was mainting this one just as much as a $20 litter box. The only good thing out of this is how nice and understanding Petco was!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

continuous $ investment, poor design, bad instrux

PostedNovember 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Durham, NC
Bought item on out-of-state friend's recommendation - didn't realize I would have to continue buying disposable waste receptacles at $1.50 each. Why not design a permanent receptacle one could line with a couple of those ubiquitous plastic shopping bags? Also, receptacles don't snap snugly into the unit, nor do they tuck under a lip or ledge, so it is easy for grains of litter to spill out. Starter supply of disposable waste receptacles were all bent & unusable. Final slap: instructions on attaching side guards to receptacle unit were inadequate & I had to struggle for 15 minutes to figure out how they snap on. Why isn't the receptacle unit one solid piece instead of six? Also, please realize the ONLY thing this device will save is 75% of your scooping. You will still have to: scoop smaller clumps that the rake misses, change litter periodically, add litter periodically, bring the litter to the trash can, wash out the pan periodically, and clean the rake as needed. For $100 plus ongoing expense, what is this really saving?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

GO BACK TO THE ORIGINAL DESIGN!

PostedNovember 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Stelring Heights, MI
I have 5 cats and work full-time besides competing in bodybuilding, so I have little time for cleaning litterboxes! I have had 6 littermaids and only had ot replace two that I had for 3 years each so it was worth the investment. HOWEVER, I did not realize the new design had a metal rake and had acutally a very small area for litter since the overall size was the same, the raking mechanism and "odor" control (that stopped working after 1 month) takes up most of the inside litterbox space. The rake does not do a very good job, if you have to move the contraption the whole underneath litterbox come out adn the entire overall new design litterally STINKS! I sure hope I can find the older models out there because they work GREAT! Instead of buying the pricey recepticles I just lien them with my plastic grocery bags and pull them out, makes cleanup much easier and cheaper! Find the older models and you'll be very happy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unhappy and Frustrated!

PostedNovember 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Austin, Texas
Ok, we had the original Littermaid Cat Box for 3 years when it recently broke. I recommended it to everyone I knew, as it saved us time, ugly aroma and hassle. But it then broke...and I had to replace it. There was no doubt I wouldn't buy another one...so I did. Sadly I found out REAL quick it was a new design...much to my disappointment. From the get go, it has NOT worked, making me very frustrated and sad my original ever broke!!! The rake is a joke!!! This is one instance where NEW and IMPROVED is so untrue...what a waste of a $100!!! I was so confident it would work (why wouldn't I think so since the last one did beautifully) that I threw away the box on the FIRST day...the NEXT day I realized the piece of junk I got...so I can't even return it for my money back!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Elite is NOT Elite

PostedNovember 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, Ga
To our friends at Littermaid... if this is supposed to be better than the previous models, you missed the mark. Our first Elite lasted us less than a week before it totally stopped functioning. We returned it and the second has lasted but I must admit I am less than happy with the Elite Model. I find it noisier than the old Littermaid Mega and does not do as good of a job. Constant jams and litter falls between the box and waste receptacle, making more mess than just scooping a standard litterbox myself. If this is "improved", please go back to the old model. We used the old model for years trouble-free... the new Elite model should go back to the drawing board.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for LitterMaid Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst product I've ever bought

PostedNovember 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Southern California
HORRIBLE PRODUCT (LME5500). I'd have given it a zero if I could have. I should have listened to all the negative reviews about what went wrong with this product. Because I had the original littermaid automatic litter box, model #LM900, I thought what could possibly be that wrong with the new one. You'd think they would have "improved" it. WRONG! After a little over a month having to hand scoop droppings because the rake gets stuck I figured it was not going to get any better. I would highly recommend you NOT buy this product. It's cheaply made compared to the original. The section where you put the container doesn't even fit well. I thought because the rake was different, it'd be much better. Well, it doesn't rake very well and makes a clicking sound when it gets stuck. It won't even go back once it becomes stuck like the original one does, it just stays in one stop clicking until you clear it's path. It's almost as if we own the non-automatic one as much as we have to scoop the droppings out by hand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>